We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I'm still dreaming about their coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Really Rather Good

Really Rather Good
Ranked #29 of 205 Restaurants in Bury St Edmunds
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$13
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, View, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Really Rather Good is a premium coffee and tea house in Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, England. Our espresso beans are a special blend from 4 countries, and we invested in a grinder and espresso machine which are amongst the best available. Whether you're after an Americano, latte, cappuccino, mocha, cortado, flat white, affogato (ask us!), Espresso or ristretto, we're your first port of call.For tea lovers we have a range of exceptional loose leaf teas including English Breakfast, Earl Grey, Rooibos, Green, 7-fruit, Decaffeinated, Spearmint, Darjeeling, Jasmine or White tea. We also offer milk, ginger or white hot chocolate. To top it all off our homemade cakes (many Gluten Free!!)And light lunches (Gluten Free Wraps available) are interesting and extremely tasty. We also offer tasty breakfasts (Eggs Benedict, Scrambled Egg/Smoked Salmon as a well as porridge and granola). Best of all you can enjoy all of this whilst looking at the best view in Bury through our picture windows - straight out over Angel Square towards the Abbey Gardens and Cathedral.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I'm still dreaming about their coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

I'm so glad we waited for a seat - the best latte I've had in a while. Would probably return to bury st edmunds just for another cup. I'd also recommend the goats cheese and onion chutney sandwiches.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jessica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    72
    21
    19
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellant location and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

First time visit to Bury st edmunds . This cafe is located in a good location not far from the abbey gardens. The americano coffee was very nice and so was a sip of my boyfriends beer.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TCM43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food, friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

This establishment has quickly become my favourite place in Bury St Edmunds to have lunch. Excellent food, very nicely presented along with superb coffee, what more could you ask? Oh yes how about friendly staff and pleasant surroundings? RRG has all of these. Much better than all the chain restaurants in the town, this is well worth a visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank GarryJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast in Bury St Edmunds!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

I recently had a breakfast meeting at Really Rather Good, sitting outside in the sunshine overlooking Angel Hill, enjoying a really tasty coffee and delicious eggs and bacon.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BuryTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“My favorite coffee place ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Every morning that I don't have to be in to work at the normal time, I come here for a coffee. I brought my in-laws here, and they went back every day of their stay! My sister said it was the best latte she had ever had (and she's had a few...). The view of the Abbey Gate and Cathedral is great. Location on Abbeygate street on Angel Hill is always hopping. I find it to be, well, Really Rather Good!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RKAKSanAntonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annette S, Owner at Really Rather Good, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. We do try hard to produce good quality products. The view, as you say, is great. I hope we will see you again in the future, perhaps July 4th!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Really Rather Good also viewed

Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk
Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk
 
Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk
Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk
 
Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk
 

Been to Really Rather Good? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing