We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Crown Place

Crown Place
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bury St Edmunds
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Crown Place
Ranked #32 of 53 Bury St Edmunds B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We booked the hayloft expecing a family room, what we got was in fact more like an apartment (minus kitchen of course) with a separate room for the kids, 2 ensuite bathrooms and a grandiose double room which defied all expectations. The kids loved it - perfect for toddlers as there are lots of lovely toys for them to play with. It really is unbelievable value for money and I can only confirm what the other reviewers have to say about the hostess Wendy who is kind, helpful and welcoming. Cooked breakfast was great, as is the location. Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 19 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2012

I stay a lot in Bury St Edmunds with work, and what disappoints me is that I did not stay here sooner!

The Room was spacious, clean with a fantstic ensuite bathroom and walk in wardobe, perfect views of St Mary's Church, a bed with a perfect matress, high qualoity linen and towels, all at a very high standard in relation to how moderate the price is each night.

Wendy is the perfect hostess, a wonderful breakfast with good fresh ingrediants that most places simply don't even thing about, bread from a bakery, proper tomato's and mushroons (not the tasteless one's from the Supermarket) with a perfectly cooked egg and fantastic coffee

Downside, very few, I would imagine Parking could be a problem at peak times, at 6.00pm it was a bit noisy outside as it is on the one way system, but I was pre-warned about that.

For £75 per night, I challenge anyone to find a better place to stay, well done Wendy!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeyP5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Stayed here last week for work. Wish was for longer as this was a benchmark b&b. Nice house, big but in a good way.Very clean, lovely large room, mine had an interesting gallery entrance with the bed and bathroom lower down. The host Wendy could not have been more lovely and kind. Good breakfast too, nothing fancy, just right and decent coffee too. One minor aspect for couples staying is that the room I stayed in at least has a bathroom curtain rather than a door. No issue if you are alone of course, and I cant wait to take my wife here but others may be a little uncomfortable, check with Wendy as I'm sure other rooms have doors. Car parking is also a little tricky, none on site but you are right in the centre and street parking is fine in the evening as long as you go before 9am.Anyway, this is a fantastic place to stay, thank you Wendy

Room Tip: If it matters to you check with the host if you need a bathroom door or a curtain is ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theposh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Wendy was the perfect hostess for our weekend away in Bury. We had booked the hayloft which is ideal if you have children as it two separate bedrooms, a good sized corridor for a travel cot and a bathroom and ensuite. It was exceptionally clean and well managed and the breakfast was superb. It was very child friendly and Wendy could not do enough for us. I would strongly recommend and would definitely stay again if I was in the area

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rjie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bury St Edmunds hotels
0.1 mi away
The Chantry Hotel
The Chantry Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
221 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
1,222 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Fox Inn
The Fox Inn
#2 of 53 in Bury St Edmunds
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
83 Whiting Street Bed & Breakfas...
#31 of 53 in Bury St Edmunds
13 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Northgate
The Northgate
#4 of 53 in Bury St Edmunds
170 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Dog & Partridge
The Dog & Partridge
#16 of 53 in Bury St Edmunds
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Place

Address: 9 Crown Street, Bury St Edmunds IP33 1QU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bury St Edmunds
Hotel Class:3 star — Crown Place 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Crown Place Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing