We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crown Place
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Bury St Edmunds
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
The Chantry Hotel(Bury St Edmunds)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Angel Hotel(Bury St Edmunds)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Priory Hotel(Bury St Edmunds)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
All Saints Hotel(Bury St Edmunds)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (19)
Filter reviews
19 results
Traveller rating
18
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
1
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 19 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Really lovely bed and breakfast . Room huge and really comfortable bed. Really convenient location - five minister from town centre. Wendy gave us a very warm welcome . Breakfast was excellent - basically Wendy will provide whatever you want!! Only downside - no parking - you have to be lucky enough to get an on street spot. Parking issue would not put us off staying with Wendy again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 200Carolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Great location, fantastic house. would certainly go again. We stayed in the 'Georgian Room' That has a wonderful view of St Marys church through the window. (Lovely church, worth a visit). Large bathroom with shower and bath and a walk in wardrobe. Really nice breakfast. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Georgian room has a stunning view of St Mary's Church
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dfs2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Looking for a B&B to stay in for an overnight stay in Bury St Edmunds to celebrate our friends' wedding we stumbled across Crown Place online. This place ticks just about all of the boxes that you want for a stay in the centre of an attractive market town. A helpful host, clean and well designed bedrooms and reception rooms and a good cooked breakfast complete with real coffee and the papers. The reception sitting room and breakfast room both had high ceilings and were well proportioned, as befits a Georgian house of course. The kitchen looked enormous. We stayed in the Georgian room which looked onto the lovely church opposite and had possibly the largest double bed I have ever slept in, a large en suite bathroom and massive walk in wardrobe area. Fittings and decoration throughout the house were stylish and clean. This place has been painted and styled with a designer's eye. Our only niggle (and it was a small rather than a large niggle) is something that the owner cannot do anything about - the traffic noise outside. This did quieten down to silence at night time I should say and overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: The Georgian room overlooks the church but also the road. The Courtyard room is smaller but quieter.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonnyGibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Crown Place is in the centre of Bury, within walking distance of the Abbey Gardens, town centre shops, market, pubs and restaurants.

We had the ‘Georgian Room’, which is on the outside corner of the block, with views of St. Mary’s Church. The room was uncluttered, clean, light and spacious, with a fabulous large bathroom (including a bath suitable for sharing) and walk-in closet. It was more a ‘suite’ than a room. The well-chosen fittings and linen were of top quality - and without that horrid ‘cheap hotel bathroom’ smell!

Wendy was the perfect host, being both helpful and discreet.

Breakfast was fantastic. Wendy provided whatever we wanted; including decent bread, eggs, bacon and proper butcher’s sausages (quality sausages are always a measure of a good B&B!).

It is difficult to find a down-side to this B&B. You will be able to hear the traffic outside, but we ‘zoned out’ of the traffic noise quite easily (the other rooms face onto an inner courtyard, so would not have this issue). The lack of coat-hooks in the bedroom is more than made up for by having the walk-in cupboard / dressing room.

Room Tip: The above review refers to the 'Georgian Room'. Particulars of the other available rooms may differ.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimboJangles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We stayed in the Georgian Room, which was a large room with large bathroom, everything was very clean and would highly recommend staying there. Lovely cooked to order breakfast by Wendy a very pleasant lady.

Room Tip: If all the rooms are to the standard of the Georgian room you won't be disappointed.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hoochiecooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews