We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very sorry to hear it has closed!”
Review of Josef's Vegetarian Cafe - CLOSED

Josef's Vegetarian Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very sorry to hear it has closed!”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

I enjoyed a lovely lunch here with two friends a couple of months ago and have really been looking forward to bringing other friends here. The food was very tasty and the atmosphere cosy and friendly. The décor had character and the prices were reasonable. Neither myself nor my friends are vegetarian but the place looked so nice we felt we had to try it, and were not disappointed. I am sorry and a little surprised to hear that it has had to close due to financial difficulties (according to their website), as they seemed to be doing a very healthy trade the afternoon I was there. I wish them good luck in their future ventures.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sun70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    20
    5
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Family run friendly food”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Looking for a vegetarian restaurant that caters for lactose - intolerant and gluten free palates? Josefs is just the place. It is comfortable and has a family feel. Although not a vegetarian the ambience of the cafe makes a very relaxing experience. Josef is a young amiable well-spoken lad (man) who makes you feel as if you are a guest in his home. The family also abound in good works - they help horses in need and welcome support with that too.I thoroughly enjoyed my break there on Bury's Whitsun Fayre.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gillian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overpriced and Bland - Disappointing”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I visited Josef's on Sunday, the food arrived reasonable promptly and whilst looking presentable lacked any real flavour. A most disappointing meal that was extremely expensive which I had expected at least to be adequate.
The cafe needs to invest to improve the kitchen and seating area which looked tired and more so the loo upstairs.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 555TDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Only Vegetarian Cafe in Bury St Edmunds”
Reviewed 25 May 2013

On arrival at Josef's you know instantly from the name and the bright purple exterior that this place is going to be quirky, not another stale, shop fitted conglomerate & if that's what you want go to one of the tax evading high street chains! Josef's is a fun place, with great food the home made hummus and falafels are delightful, the staff are somewhat eccentric but always smiling and there to please. I love the way you can sit at one end of the café and have a conversation with someone at the other end (on quieter days) everyone chats together, it's like a community café and with the local art all around you it's fits in with the Funky Art Town side of St John's Street in Bury St Edmunds, well worth a visit if you have an open mind.

Not everyone is aware that revenue from Josef's café helps keep afloat Suffolk Horse and Pony Rescue, a charity that the owners run & manage helping vulnerable animals in England & Wales.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Innipooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious food - very amateur service”
Reviewed 13 May 2013

I visited Josef's for lunch on Sunday. The cafe is nicely decorated in a casual, slightly eclectic way downstairs but a trip to the loo proved a bit of a eye-opener as it looks as if they have run out of money to complete the upstairs - very dirty and untidy - not really what you want to see in a restaurant. The staff seem to be a family and are probably very enthusiastic but are a bit lacking in the art of efficient service. There was a bit of confusion over what had run out and what hadn't and although our order was taken quickly and the food arrived in good time, once we had finished eating the young waiter seemed to forget we were there. We were left sitting for a long time with no staff visible at all - and it wasn't busy! We had been tempted to order cake and coffee but waited so long for him to come back to clear our plates (and that took 3 trips!) that we just got the bill and left. If the service was more organised this would be a perfect veggie cafe as the food was all excellent - very generous portions and it all tasted freshly prepared and very tasty.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OrangeJuiceLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Josef's Vegetarian Cafe also viewed

 
Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk
 
Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk
Walsham-le-Willows, Bury St Edmunds
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing