We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, pity about room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Priory Hotel
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Bury St Edmunds
Peterborough
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, pity about room”
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Stayed a couple of nights, hotel well situated just a short walk into Bury town centre. We were allocated a garden room. ( Two blocks of ground floor rooms opposite each other with courtyard)
Room was spacious and clean however bathroom lacked care and attention in some areas ie chipped bath surround. The biggest fault was the lack of sound proofing with adjoining rooms. We had an end room so only had one adjoining wall but it became obvious that just normal talking and moving about was easily transmitted through the wall.
Breakfast was good & staff helpful & polite. Would visit again but avoid garden room at all cost !!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank camvad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    160
    90
    54
    17
See reviews for
96
176
28
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Needed a hotel to stay as we were going to a wedding. Booked for two nights with breakfast.

Double Room was located outside the main hotel overlooking gardens. It was of a good standard, clean and well equipped. Good sized hard, but comfortable bed, TV, Kettle and assorted hot drinks, hair drier and trouser press. Seperate bathroom with bath/shower.

Breakfast was good quality with a choice of English or Continental.

Polite and professional staff

No complaints, great hotel for short breaks or business.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tbird1600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

The hotel was in nice grounds, we had a good breakfast: the room was spacious and clean and fine.....but the beds were very hard. And we enjoy a firm mattress normally. We found that our 3 nights seemed very long! The position was good for our needs,and the room was quiet even with the window open. Probably we would not stay again though with the super firm beds.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Greenville, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We spent five nights at the Priory. The twin rooms, though small, were clean and comfortable with spotless bathrooms. The food was excellent: interesting, delicious, and gracefully served. I was most impressed with the hard work and friendly manner of all of those on the staff who helped us, from Ray (who was duty manager, bar tender, and meal server as the need presented itself) to Sarah and Tracy and all those whose names I don't remember. The sitting area in the lounge and the dining room are in need of a makeover, but the food and service easily made up for that. For those who needed a bit of exercise, the walk into the center of town was do-able. The grounds of the hotel were pleasantly landscaped. The WiFi was quick and painless to access.

Room Tip: Some of the queen-bed rooms had bay windows--two looking into a small area with trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadeen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Stayed here for 1 night. We had a garden room Room was good, but I would say the bed was very hard. Service from all the staff was excellent - very attentive. Breakfast choice was good, and the food itself was good quality locally sourced. Grounds very nice, but care should be taken to mend some of the loose paving slabs.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CEL67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

I stayed here to attend a wedding and was pleased when I arrived earlier than advertised check-in and was allowed into my room to change by reception. Service was friendly throughout.
Negatives: there were no net curtains in the rooms so you have to draw the curtains if you want privacy during the day. There was no bathroom above the sink and although spacious it felt like it was kitted out for a hospital or care home- very austere.
Other downsides - I stayed in a room which was hard to find and in a kind of bungalow - not very attractive.
Overall I think it is too expensive for what is essentially a glorified B&B not hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scenesteruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

I stayed here on a soggy weekday night halfway through a cycle up East Anglia from Tilbury to Heacham. I arrived dripping wet with a muddy bike, but was made to feel very welcome by the friendly receptionist who stowed my bike in the main part of the hotel. I was staying in the motel style garden area - the room was not characterful but was spacious and well-equipped and, despite the hotel being on the junction of busy roads, very quiet.
Too tired to cycle back into the town for dinner, I ate in the mid-priced and amusingly wannabe-starchy restaurant in the attractive main building. I could have eaten anything, but it was absolutely fine. Then back through the rainy garden to my room for a hot soak in the proper sized bath (the hot tap had some kind of scald avoiding temperature-cap device fitted, I would have preferred to take my chances).
I was amazed the next morning when I emerged (after a VERY comprehensive breakfast) from a side entrance with my bike into the rush hour surrounding the hotel - the pace and peace within the grounds gave no clue. Not fashionable, but friendly and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthieFrosterella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bury St Edmunds
1.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
1,161 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town...
#1 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
419 reviews
1.1 mi away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
#11 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
405 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Chantry Hotel
The Chantry Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
203 reviews
18.7 mi away
Best Western Brome Grange Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Priory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Priory Hotel

Property: Best Western Priory Hotel
Address: Mildenhall Rd, Bury St Edmunds IP32 6EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Bury St Edmunds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Priory Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the main route into Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, this 36 room hotel is hidden behind its Grade 2 listed walls, a stones throw from the city centre. We have a good reputation as a quality venue within East Anglia and our location makes us the ideal base for weekend breaks in the area. We are well served by the A14, two junctions (42 and 43) are just five minutes drive away, and together with our free parking for over 50 cars, we welcome both residential and non-residential guests for midweek stopovers, conferences and meetings. We pride ourselves in our customer service and staff endeavour to look after your every need. Our commitment to a high attention to detail is key to your comfort and well being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Priory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bury St Edmunds
Best Western Priory Hotel Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing