We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel OK but dreadful showers” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Bury St Edmunds
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Hotel OK but dreadful showers”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

You know what it's like when you are away in a hotel for work, the one thing you really need is a good, strong, hot shower in a morning. If that is really essential for you then, don't choose this hotel.As a few colleagues were also staying I know it wasn't just my room, but the trickle from the shower was unacceptable.
Other than that the rooms were OK, pillows not great, but I got a couple of good nights sleep. the rooms are arranged in courtyards which is quite nice, but in bad weather must be a bit grim. Breakfast was OK, service depended on who was working and ranged from the grumpy to efficient.
The hotel is a bit of a trek from the town centre

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne10max
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    151
    88
    51
    14
See reviews for
86
162
28
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rugby
Level Contributor
139 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

Having started with low expectations (office staff described it as "Fawlty Towers", I was pleasantly surprised: Very friendly and attentive staff, VERY clean, well equipped and comfortable rooms, good choice of drinks at the well-stocked bar, MUCH better than expected restaurant, and a good breakfast menu. Plus, it's set in attractiv grounds and very convenient for my regional office. I'll be back!

Room Tip: have a garden room..... very nice and quiet.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hucknall, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

After afer short spell in hospital and a two week forced rest we booked a 2 night weekend break at the Priory.

The warmth of welcome was outstanding and the staff were superb. Our room was good as my wife needs an accesible shower so the walk in was great.

All our rmeals, breakfast and dinner, were excellent and served by pleasant and efficient staff
.
All in all, despite the wretched weather an excellent break which we shall do again soon (when the sun shines ! )

Room Tip: Be aware most rooms are in courtyard only 4 in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, Ireland
Level Contributor
130 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013

Receievd a really warm and pleasant welcome which set the tone for my stay,and was given a room in the Courtyard (36) which was absolutely superb.Room was generous and well decorated with a beautifully finished bathroom.Looked as if it had been recently re-furbished;one of the best-value rooms I have stayed in.Extremely comfortable.Wifi reception was perfect and a good size flat screen TV.
It was a good walk into town and called for dinner at the Tollhouse across the road which i would highly recommend;smart,well laid out and good menu.
Had a tremendous night's sleep and best recommendation i can give is that i could have stayed on....
Every staff member i encountered was cheery and chatty and just generally conveyed a feeling that they cared.Great stay and most certainly will return.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms were superb and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morchwestport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodbridge uk
Level Contributor
304 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

Excellent main course of roast beef traditional Sunday lunch. Excellently cooked vegetables - good variety too. Lovely gravy.
Not so sure about the prawn and crayfish cocktail starter. Insipid prawns, small dollop of insipid sauce and no detectable crayfish. When quizzed waitress said the chef said there were small pieces of crayfish - must have been very small. None of the desserts looked interesting enough to sample.
Warm, comfortable, good service, friendly staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

Checked in this evening, courteous staff, room clean, tidy and warm. Had dinner in the restaurant, service was good as was the food and the price. Only downside so far is poor signal for mobile phone, not attributable to the hotel. Would book here again, anyone who complains about the standard has expectations higher than the price that they pay. From experience Best Westerns maintain a "standard" standard regardless of location, so generally you know what you're getting when you book. People need to keep it real before writing negative reviews based on unrealistic expectations.

Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank kpe554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

Old everything, stained upholstery and carpets, over priced should be £35 a night. Warm water not hot water.
Could do with being re decorated or maybe just ripped down and started again.
The food was absolutely appalling and cost far to much. Why didn't I just stay in a travel lodge on the a14 somewhere :(.
Oh and woke up with a bad back as the beds must be 10 years old :(

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DrBori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bury St Edmunds
1.1 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
18.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Brome Grange Hotel
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town...
#1 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
#11 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
3.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel
Address: Mildenhall Rd, Bury St Edmunds IP32 6EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Bury St Edmunds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the main route into Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, this 36 room hotel is hidden behind its Grade 2 listed walls, a stones throw from the city centre. We have a good reputation as a quality venue within East Anglia and our location makes us the ideal base for weekend breaks in the area. We are well served by the A14, two junctions (42 and 43) are just five minutes drive away, and together with our free parking for over 50 cars, we welcome both residential and non-residential guests for midweek stopovers, conferences and meetings. We pride ourselves in our customer service and staff endeavour to look after your every need. Our commitment to a high attention to detail is key to your comfort and well being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Superbreak UK so you can book your BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bury St Edmunds
BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing