We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bury st Edmunds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Bury St Edmunds
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Bury st Edmunds”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

The stay was welcoming and the service was good with fast reception area operation. There seems to be a little disorganisation when the fire alarm falsely went off, a little worrying - no sign of a visible fire warden - hopefully the hotel will sort this out after a survey report. No hot water in the morning - strange !!.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    151
    88
    52
    14
See reviews for
90
163
28
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night for business and was pleasantly surprised upon arrival. The gardens are beautiful, especially in the sunshine and the whole setting gives off a quite serene atmosphere in comparison to the network outside the hotel.

The rooms are like terraced chalets all in a little horseshoe which is very odd but quite nice. The rooms are spacious and clean but in some need of updating and more secure locks... Call me modern but a chain lock and no double bolting locks don't give me much hope.

I ordered room service, and the food was very nice, albeit hotel prices! £11 for scampi and chips and an extra £5 for it to be delivered 10 yards from kitchen to room. No sauces offered and a salt pot that was empty!!! No biggy but it's the little things you miss when you're away. Beds were comfy and warm. Shower could do with modernising or at least descaling.

Breakfast is an informal and small affair but as I was rushing off in the morning, I didn't taste their hot food. The ladies were very attentive however and made us all feel welcome.

Needless to say, if I'm ever passing through Bury again, I would come to this hotel again for business. For personal use... I'm not sure I would come here immediately.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonButtons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

My husband and I stayed overnight Saturday 3rd May-Sunday 4th May 2014 as we were competing in an archery competition in Elvedon Forest nearby. The hotel is of the traditional type but set in its own very pleasant grounds behind high walls. The room was very clean comfortable and well furnished but a little tired looking,and the en suite bathroom could really do with a refurb.However the position of the room was really beautiful looking out onto the garden.So it was quite acceptable for one night. The staff were efficient and pleasant especially at reception and we were made to feel welcome. The only down side to the stay was the restaurant.We expected far better food at dinner than was served. A massive disappointment !There appeared to be no in house chef as the food we ordered was no better than reheated or frozen dishes .Even Kentucky Fried Chicken could have done better and it was expensive and there was not enough of it..The waiting staff were slow and whole experience was poor. We would stay there again but dine out !

Room Tip: Ask for a garden room in the annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyjane_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

This is the second time at this hotel, this time for work.

Its perfect location, clean rooms and nice staff make this a lovely place. Stayed in the courtyard rooms this time, nice and quiet, clean and modern.

Room service food was nice, just ashamed they can't vary from the menu wham all you want is a chicken salad.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Recent 2 night stay whilst away on business.
Staff very friendly and attentive.
Restaurant food and bar food both very good
I stayed in the hotel, room 5. Have to admit this room suffers from hotel noise due to its position over the restaurant. Shower pressure was also very poor, which was reported but no feedback given from the hotel. The shower is fed from the taps so never going to be great I guess.
Well located with parking.
Free wifi which did the job.
I'd recommend and return myself .

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Alistair S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bury St Edmunds
1.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town...
#1 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
18.7 mi away
Best Western Brome Grange Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
#11 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
3.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel
Address: Mildenhall Rd, Bury St Edmunds IP32 6EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Bury St Edmunds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the main route into Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, this 36 room hotel is hidden behind its Grade 2 listed walls, a stones throw from the city centre. We have a good reputation as a quality venue within East Anglia and our location makes us the ideal base for weekend breaks in the area. We are well served by the A14, two junctions (42 and 43) are just five minutes drive away, and together with our free parking for over 50 cars, we welcome both residential and non-residential guests for midweek stopovers, conferences and meetings. We pride ourselves in our customer service and staff endeavour to look after your every need. Our commitment to a high attention to detail is key to your comfort and well being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bury St Edmunds
BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing