We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Priory Hotel
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Bury St Edmunds
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We needed to book a room at very short notice, due to a cockup at the hotel where we were attending a wedding, and we managed to get a room at the Priory, and we were very glad we did. We had read some bad reviews on this hotel previously and were therefore a bit dubious about booking but we needn't have worried. Although we didn't check in until 23:00 the staff were friendly and effecient. The room itself was very clean, well maintained and the bed comfortable. Our only complaint was the room was very warm, and due to the chalet style layout of the hotel, the room being on the ground floor we were reluctant to leave a window open. The breafast next morning was freshly cooked (although the bacon was a bit dry) but with a good choice of cerials, fruit and juice.
Overall I would have no hesitation in booking this hotel again if I was visiting Bury st Edumuds.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (504)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

338 - 344 of 504 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

We booked for 2 nights as we were taking our elderly relatives to a family wedding nearby. My mother in law has dementia and the staff were very kind to her. The food was excellent and there was no problem in ordering something that wasn't on the menu to tempt her appetite. Unfortunately we had to leave on the second morning as she was taken ill - the hotel refunded the room price without any hesitation. We have stayed in lots of very nice hotels, including the 6 star grange near Watford, but this was the best customer service experience we have ever had. Highly recommended

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank pricebordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed for 2 nights over the weekend. We had one of the 'cottage style' rooms, right at the end of the block so very quiet. Had 2 excellent nights sleep, although the room was a little hot and could do with air conditioning but it didn't make any difference to the quality of the sleep we had. We didn't pay for breakfast and didn't use the restaurant for dinner so cant comment on that. We did however use the bar and found the drinks to be a little pricey but have come to expect this with hotels these days! The bathroom was also a little tired looking and in need of refurbishment.
Is a little way of town about a 25 minute walk so we did get a taxi back on one occasion when we were laden down with purchases from the Greene King shop!!!
Would definitely recommend for a short break if visiting Bury St Edmunds.

Room Tip: ask for a cottage style room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank holidayfan55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Faulty fire alarm - sounded off five or six times between 00;15 and 03;00 - the first time caused me to suffer injury, bleeding and considerable pain as I tried to get dressed and out of the room. Hotel was pleasant as were the staff - but the fire alarm a nightmare that shall never forget.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

we went to a wedding near and stayed at the hotel for the night. The staff were unbelievably helpful and accommodating. Hotel was clean, rooms clean and well equipped. Breakfast was served very quickly and the staff were obliging. Although it was great tasting it was very frugal on the plate.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzanne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Located about a mile+, from the city centre. Great service. Restaurant exceptionally good. Free parking on site.
The rooms are scattered on the site. Some in the main block, others in small separate blocks. We'll maintained, through the fabric is aging.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank senior_traveller60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The stay was welcoming and the service was good with fast reception area operation. There seems to be a little disorganisation when the fire alarm falsely went off, a little worrying - no sign of a visible fire warden - hopefully the hotel will sort this out after a survey report. No hot water in the morning - strange !!.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bury St Edmunds
1.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
1,222 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
#10 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
420 reviews
1.1 mi away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#6 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
#4 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
635 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Chantry Hotel
The Chantry Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
222 reviews
18.7 mi away
Best Western Brome Grange Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Priory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Priory Hotel

Address: Mildenhall Rd, Bury St Edmunds IP32 6EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Bury St Edmunds
Price Range: £57 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Priory Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the main route into Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, this 36 room hotel is hidden behind its Grade 2 listed walls, a stones throw from the city centre. We have a good reputation as a quality venue within East Anglia and our location makes us the ideal base for weekend breaks in the area. We are well served by the A14, two junctions (42 and 43) are just five minutes drive away, and together with our free parking for over 50 cars, we welcome both residential and non-residential guests for midweek stopovers, conferences and meetings. We pride ourselves in our customer service and staff endeavour to look after your every need. Our commitment to a high attention to detail is key to your comfort and well being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Priory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bury St Edmunds
Best Western Priory Hotel Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing