We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (630)
Filter reviews
630 results
Traveller rating
200
206
119
70
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
200
206
119
70
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden room main building motel style superior room town centre lovely grounds good size short stay stayed here for two nights excellent breakfast biscuits enjoyable stay wedding menu annex disco taps
Filter
Updating list...
191 - 196 of 630 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2017

From the moment we were greeted by Anna & Stephan to our departure the service was incredible and food amazing. We booked a table of 11 and was offered the conservatory as our own private room over looking fabulous manicured gardens.
Arrival drinks for all, including incredible children's cocktails which went down very well.
Great food and service all evening and some pretty good rooms to boot. Spacious family rooms with all mod cons. This hotel is very child and pet friendly as our 2 young black labs were made a fuss of and were allowed free run of the hotel (apart from restaurant of course) Great value and worth the money for a large party including overnight stay.
The staff were all attentive and friendly with all of our party. Well done Priory, looking forward to visiting again. 5 stars

Room tip: All rooms are fab!
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DenhamH0rnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan_Marriott11, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Priory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Thank you for taking your time to review your family celebrations at the Priory Hotel.
We are delighted you enjoyed your visit and all our staff are thrilled with your positive feedback.
We are also pleased you enjoyed the food and found our bedrooms comfortable.
We all look forward to welcoming you back to the Priory in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017

Our room was in the garden annexe ( no. 11). It was tired & dated & lacked the 2 most important essentials for a pleasant stay i.e a refreshing shower- the water flow was so poor it was unsuitable for hair washing & barely general washing & a decent bed- this was too hard for restful sleep and the mattress itself was stained.The walls are so thin we could clearly hear the conversation etc from our neighbours. Accommodation basically needs complete refurb. Disappointing!

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan_Marriott11, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Priory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Thank you for taking your time to review your stay at the Priory Hotel.
We do appreciate your comments and are really sorry we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.
Our hotel bedrooms are going through refurbishment and we do hope you will give us another change and stay with us again.
We all look forward to welcoming you back to the Priory in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017

Had a lovely Mothers Day Lunch at the Priory today! Superb food and very personable staff made it a really pleasant occasion, thank you! Nice little touches for the Mums too! Recommended ...so do try it! :)

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan_Marriott11, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Priory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Thank you for taking your time to post a review of Mother's day Lunch at the Priory Hotel.
We are delighted you enjoyed your visit and all our staff are thrilled with your positive feedback.
It is great to hear the small special gifts for the Mums made such a great impression.
We all look forward to welcoming you back to the Priory in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

Had a pleasant stay with the lovely staff at the priory. They were all friendly, helpful and attentive.
Breakfast was good, and the staff were patient even though we arrived a little late.
Rooms were clean and comfortable.
I'd stay again. Thank you

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Toby12345678910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan_Marriott11, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Priory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Thank you for taking your time to review your stay at the Priory Hotel.
We are delighted you enjoyed your visit and all our staff are thrilled with your positive feedback.
It is great to hear you would stay with us again on your next visit to Bury St Edmunds.
We all look forward to welcoming you back to the Priory in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Situated just on the outskirts of the town The Priory is actually in quite a good position to get into Bury town centre. Very friendly staff and a reasonable restaurant, but as with most hotels, the menu looks better than the finished product on your plate.
The main problem with this hotel was the room. Basically comfortable, but when the guests in the next room arrived at 3.40am I could easily have joined in with their conversation and laughing. My call to the night porter made no difference and it was only at 5am when they had settled could I. Before leaving I realised the 'garden rooms' are not much more than 'portacabins'.
So if staying at the Best Western in Bury St Edmunds and you want an undisturbed night make sure you pack some earplugs.

Room tip: No soundproofing in garden rooms
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Claude1food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly K, Owner at Best Western Priory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Thank you for your recent review. We are sorry to hear that you did not get a good nights sleep during your stay. We do hope that you may return again one day in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews