We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hamilton House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bury St Edmunds
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hamilton House
Ranked #22 of 56 Bury St Edmunds B&B and Inns
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

Wonderful welcome with a pot of tea and home-made walnut cake when we were feeling so tired. Room was comfortable and warm. Breakfast fantastic, especially the delicious strawberries and blueberries. The owner Terry is a lovely person.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elga K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
8
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Flagstaff
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

We have stayed here on several occasions.The location is excellent - close to the center of town and the bus station, and only about a mile from the railway station. Rooms are decently equipped and very clean, breakfasts are very good, prices are reasonable and the overall value is excellent. The owner Terry is very welcoming, friendly and helpful. There is a real 'family' atmosphere that includes a very friendly dog called Phoebe. We always enjoy our stays at Hamilton House.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flagman966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

From the initial phone call to leaving Hamilton House the hostess went out of her way to help on what was supposed to be her day off! Very friendly welcome without being overbearing - I agree with the other reviews below. If you want a cheap and stress-free place to stay within short walking distance from Bury St Edmunds train station and town centre then this is recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

I've been there twice already and will go again. Would recommend it to everyone who doesn't require fancy hotels. The hostess is great and very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Risto H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2010

Terry is the friendliest hostess you could want. The rooms are clean and welcoming, the breakfast (especially the fruit salad) excellent, and the location of this B&B is minutes from the centre of Bury St Edmunds. Why bother with anywhere else?

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DizDiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2008

Thank you so much, Terry, for making my long stay with you at the Hamilton House such a pleasant experience!

I was working in Bury St Edmunds for several months and booked into the Hamilton House after having spent my first week in another hotel that wasn't as nice. Hamilton House is a really friendly place, extremely clean, and very comfortable. The breakfast is always delicious and set me up well for the day. Plus it was great to be made to feel so welcome when working away from home in a city where at first I didn't know anyone.

I would never stay anywhere else in BSE except for Hamilton House - it really is that good there.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crazycaterpillar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2008

From the moment the door opened we were put at our ease thanks to the warm welcome, the family just couldn't be nicer or easier going. The rooms were impecably clean and extremely comfortable and the breakfast was of the finest quality.

We wish the family all the best and hope I have occasion to visit Bury again whereupon I shall undoubtedly return to Hamilton House

Bravo

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raal57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bury St Edmunds hotels
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town...
#1 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel
BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
83 Whiting Street Bed & Breakfas...
#28 of 56 in Bury St Edmunds
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Black Boy, Bury St Edmunds
The Black Boy, Bury St Edmunds
#44 of 56 in Bury St Edmunds
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Fox Inn
The Fox Inn
#2 of 56 in Bury St Edmunds
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Cannon Brewery
Old Cannon Brewery
#11 of 56 in Bury St Edmunds
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamilton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton House

Property: Hamilton House
Address: 4 Nelson Road, Bury St Edmunds IP33 3AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Bury St Edmunds
Hotel Class:3 star — Hamilton House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Hamilton House Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing