We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Relaxing day out with the girls”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bury St Edmunds
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bannatyne Spa Hotel Bury St Edmunds
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Bury St Edmunds
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A Relaxing day out with the girls”
Reviewed 8 May 2013

A lovely spa day out with the girls with lunch and treatments. We went on a Sunday so it was fairly quiet. As we were in a group some us had treatments in a double room which was fine and made for a better group experience. The lunch was gorgeous and certainly I would say the Bury St Edmunds Clarice House provides the best food of the three local spas. A very relaxing day.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Georgy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    114
    82
    73
    62
See reviews for
88
160
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dunmow
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Set your expectations low and you won't be disappointed! This "Spa" is badly in need of care and attention. The focus is on customer volume and certainly not providing a pleasurable experience for the client. Treatment rooms, changing rooms, showers all need a refurb. Robes are not provided, dispensers are empty, there are no cushions on the wooden poolside loungers. If you like to have pedicures in a room with 10 other people - then this is the place for you!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bury St Edmunds hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

I have stayed here 3 times now and have always had a wonderful, relaxing weekend. The rooms have all been re-decorated and now have a modern feel. Yes the swimming pool area does get busy but if you are patient loungers become available as guests leave to go for treatments. The food is excellent and there is always plenty of choice especially when it comes to desserts (don't expect to lose weight here!!) I would not pay full price for a break but when using a buy one get one offer it is very good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 23sunseeker2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

Overnight stay in the Lugano room - gorgeous and I do like a room u can land a plane in. Lovely massage spoilt a bit by people talking and laughing outside for a while. Fab food and polite, attentive staff. Biggest criticism is that the beds by the pool SERIOUSLY need plastic covers as they are SO uncomfortable. Overall though, a lovely stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sian6484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
120 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I have been going to Clarice House for some years now, as has my mum, sister, husband, daughter (+ boyfriend), friends, niece etc............ we all really enjoy our stays there, usually having a 2 night/3 day break.
This includes breakfast, lunch, dinner and a beauty treatment each day.

The house itself is a large country house hotel, set in extensive grounds which you can walk in. Attached to the main house is a modern spa area, pool and gym.
Each of the 13 bedrooms are decorated in a different design. I would recommend 'Honolulu' and 'Fantasque'. All are beautifully presented and well house-kept.
The hotel staff are friendly and helpful.

The beauty of Clarice House is that one can do as much or as little as one likes.
There are numerous gym classes (free for residents) if you feel like some exercise. The beauty treatment 'menu' is extensive but the quailty is not consistent and depends on the level of experience of the therapists.
Be it chilling out in front of the log fire with a hot chocolate or cream tea in the winter, or enjoying a Pimms and lemonade on the terrace in the summer, you will enjoy your stay.

Lastly - but certainly not leastly, the food. It is absolutely delicious. A good variety of choice, freshly cooked to order and beautifully presented.
I was last there in February and have just booked for August - can't wait :-)

Room Tip: Go for Honolulu or Fantasque
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happygirl043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We went for a Day Spa and Lunch so that we could feel completely relaxed and pampered.
We did !
The staff made us feel most welcome and helped to ensure we enjoyed our stay.
Clarice House is well appointed and the facilities are maintained to a high standard.
We enjoyed a Swim, Spa, Sauna, then Lunch. This was followed by some lounging and a relaxing massage.
A most enjoyable day.

Room Tip: Look out for Spa day offers on the website. Arrive early as it's busy and you can then lunch ear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

With time on my side over the Easter weekend, I was looking for the best way to spend my Bank Holiday with little more on my agenda than to relax. On arrival the Clarice House reception area was very impressive reflecting the well maintained features of what must have originated as a very stately home indeed. The atmosphere was busy but under control, the hotel guests all having chosen this venue for one celebration or another. Most appreared to be relaxing and enjoying champagne on the many sofas that welcomed you, it seemed an opportunity that I didn't want to miss and clearly this was a mini break not just a Spa day. A half an hour later I chose to check in to my single room and was very pleased to have been offered a room upgrade as another booking had been postponed at short notice. The room was immaculate, quiet and the bath room suite felt brand new and very clean.

I enjoyed the continued atmosphere that had extended to the dining room in the evening. Food was of good quality and everyone seemed to be looking at the next dish to come out of the kitchen so they didn't feel they were missing out.

I had nine hours uninterupted sleep (including the British Summer Time change) the hotel has a limited number of rooms and so appeared to quieten down very quickly.

Amusingly breakfast, normally between 07.00 -09.00, had its first guest arrive at 08.35 followed by the entire hotel residency within the remaining 5 minutes. The staff were busy but in control and everyone seemed to understand the untimley co-incidence that was responsible for the unavoidable delays. When my breakfast arrived the waitress was quick to offer me more toast as she was concerned that what was left on my table would be cold by now.

I spent the remainder of the day having 3 hours of treatments including a full body massage immediately followed by a one hour facial. I used the Spa facilities for approx. two hours before my last treatment and then departed at 4pm.

The entire experience was relaxing, indulgent and more than justified the asking price paid. I will definately return.

Room Tip: Most rooms face the car park but this is of no concern as after 9pm there was only my car and a few...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SPL66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bury St Edmunds hotels
1.3 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
3.0 mi away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Ickworth Hotel
The Ickworth Hotel
#1 of 2 in Horringer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town...
#1 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bannatyne Spa Hotel Bury St Edmunds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bannatyne Spa Hotel Bury St Edmunds

Property: Bannatyne Spa Hotel Bury St Edmunds
Address: Horringer Road | Horringer Court, Bury St Edmunds IP29 5PH, England (Formerly Clarice House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Bury St Edmunds
Hotel Class:5 star — Bannatyne Spa Hotel Bury St Edmunds 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Clarice House Hotel Bury St. Edmunds
Clarice Hotel Bury St Edmunds
Clarice Spa Bury St Edmunds
Bannatyne Spa Hotel Bury St Edmunds Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing