We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a day of relaxing”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bury St Edmunds
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bannatyne Spa Hotel Bury St Edmunds
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Bury St Edmunds
Lowestoft
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect for a day of relaxing”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This was my second day spa at Clarice House, Bury St Edmunds and I will definitely be returning, hopefully for a weekend stay. The staff are very proffessional and the meals they serve are delicious. Nice spa facilities, however it does get quite busy round the pool area and the loungers get hogged by people reserving them with their towels. There is a sign saying not to do this however this does not appeared to be monitored.

Other than that however I cannot fault the place. Would recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zoeclark83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    117
    90
    74
    63
See reviews for
90
173
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

After visiting clarice house yesterday we felt very let down by the customer service and facilities. On arrival we was greeted by a grumpy acting teenager who made us feel we were not supposed to be there. She then dumped a few forms for us to fill in and left without leaving us a pen!! We then asked for a tour as this was our first time there and she rolled her eyes and proceeded to show us around, we thought maybe she was having a bad day. We was disappointed there was no other facilities other than a pool, jacuzzi, and sauna, the steam room wasn't working which no one told us on arrival and also no one told the therapists as we got told to sit in the steam room after our massages and manicure!!!!The spa day did not make us feel special, relaxed, or wanted. Seems that management want lots of people for a mediocre experience instead of less people and creating a great experience so people will return.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoriamews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bury St Edmunds hotels

Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The wife and I stayed overnight and enjoyed ourselves very much. It's a lovely old building and Bury St. Edmunds is a nice place to have a bit of a wander. We initially went there for a spa day deal which they offer quite regularly and decided to make a night of it aswell. It was around christmas time and snowing so there was quite a nice romantic air about the place. The dinner we were served in the evening was very nice and we got rather drunk as we were carried away with the pleasent relaxed atmosphere. Service was good too. Before dinner, we sat in the snug under the staircase having thoroughly enjoyed our spa day shenanigans and chilled to the max in our bath robes and slippers. At these times one remembers what life was like without children! A fine breakfast awaited us the following morning, again served to us in the dining room by the polite staff. We shall return...

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ench1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Clarice house is a beautiful place for a bit of relaxation. Me and my mum arrived for our mother and daughter spa package and was warmly greeted.
We chose to pay extra for breakfast and was then shown to the changing rooms where we could leave our bags for the day.

The package we had included a manicure and a back, neck and shoulder massage. We chose to upgrade the ordinary manicure to the shellac manicure which was no problem.
The only fault with the treatments was the timing. We was not told in advance what time our treatments were therefore missed the first 5 mins of the massage due to it being at the start of the spa day. Had we of known the time of the treatment we would have allowed more time leaving home for breakfast. This took 5-10 mins off of the massage which is disappointing when you pay a lot of money for it.
Our manicure was booked for the afternoon and was on time, however not enough time was allowed for the treatment and so it over ran with other appointments.

The spa facilities are lovely and kept extremely well. The swimming pool a nice size and very clean. What would make the spa better is perhaps an additional steam/sauna room as there is only two, but for us this was plenty. We did not use the gym but this looked impressive also. The changing facilities were very clean and tidy. Plenty of lockers for all guests.

The package included lunch which was absolutely delicious. I believe you can just have a meal at clarice house and this is also something I would recommend. You could not fault the meal we had. The afternoon tea offer was great although this again cost extra.

We did not get a chance to look at the rooms in the hotel part but I am sure if they are anything like the rest of the house they are lovely.

We did end up spending quite a bit on extras so it is a good idea to take money or another form of payment as there are lots of things that do cost extra, but this depends on the package you have.

All in all it was a great day, and we was even given a £10 off voucher each to use on our next visit! We shall definitely be returning!

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aimzdawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton and Cambridge
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I visited Clarice House with my mum last week. We had a Bliss Day for Two booked, including two-course lunch and two treatments. There were some areas which looked a bit tired (in the changing rooms and shower areas), however the treatment rooms were nice and the restaurant was welcoming. The meal was brilliant and well presented. We both enjoyed our facials and manicures, with lovely, friendly therapists. I liked that we were not pressured into buying products which were used in our treatments, but we were told about them.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimbally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Just came back from Clarice House , Bury St Edmunds , what a great stay we had
Can't praise this place enough went with a friend for 1 night spa break , and we're extremely impressed. From moment we arrived we were welcomed, by lovely receptionist called Hannah , who was very pleasant , very professional , and made us feel really welcome .
Our room was lovely , very stylish and comfortable , was called Crocus .
The pool area is lovely really clean and spacious , lover steam room , sauna & jacuzzi , plenty of sun loungers , although only complaint , they could do with some cushions on the beds , but still ok
Treatment area is really nice , staff very nice , proffessional and friendly .had facials and no complaints Beautiful building , lovely grounds and surrounding areas
The food well what can , I say Best food ever had in a spa hotel , and we have been to quite a few , had lovely lunch , evening meal , and breakfast , all served and cooked to a very high standard , Clarice House you are spot on with your fantastic chefs well done ! Very good restaurant staff , from waiting staff , to restaurant manager called Will , who was extremely helpful , very pleasant , and excellent at his job !
All in all , as you read we were very happy , can't wait to come again , ( hopefully soon ) a Terrific Hotel & Spa

Room Tip: Crocus , lovely room with single beds , very spacious , but heard all rooms are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

What should have been a fantastic weekend away with friends for a hen weekend sadly was not! We had Lost treatment bookings, not enough time allocated for booked treatments, i.e an hours treatment booked but only allocated 25 minutes! Most of our treatments were booked at least two months in advance as suggested. Not enough loungers or chairs by the pool considering the ammount of people they try to squeeze in during a day. And can hardly call it a Spa with just one plain steam room, a sauna, a Jacuzzi and a pool. They attempted to charge us for treatments which couldn't be fulfilled by the beauty room, as well as ones which we had already paid for! A Very rude, abrupt treatments bookings manager who was unable to rectify their mistakes.
We had Drinks and food on wrong bills, deposit wasn't taken off our final bills, the list is endless. This hotel is obviously living on past reputation.
The only saving grace was the great food and restaurant staff. Round of applause to the catering manager!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank crusader555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bury St Edmunds
1.3 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
1,183 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
486 reviews
3.0 mi away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Ickworth Hotel
The Ickworth Hotel
#1 of 2 in Horringer
669 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
#5 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
628 reviews
11.8 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bannatyne Spa Hotel Bury St Edmunds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bannatyne Spa Hotel Bury St Edmunds

Property: Bannatyne Spa Hotel Bury St Edmunds
Address: Horringer Road | Horringer Court, Bury St Edmunds IP29 5PH, England (Formerly Clarice House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Bury St Edmunds
Hotel Class:5 star — Bannatyne Spa Hotel Bury St Edmunds 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Clarice House Hotel Bury St. Edmunds
Clarice Hotel Bury St Edmunds
Clarice Spa Bury St Edmunds
Bannatyne Spa Hotel Bury St Edmunds Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing