We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible excuse for a spa experience !”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bury St Edmunds
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bannatyne Spa Hotel Bury St Edmunds
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Bury St Edmunds
Bury St Edmunds
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Terrible excuse for a spa experience !”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

If you want a relaxing day where you are made to feel special with good quality treatments and beautiful surroundings then this is NOT the place for you.
The greeting is unfriendly and impersonal with a form filling session. You are then hurried to your first treatment without a tour or any information about the spa. In fact we had our first treatment with our trouser legs rolled up as we were told there was no time to change into our robes.
The treatment rooms and equipment are very dated and need a very good clean, while having a full body massage I got the pleasant view of a grubby floor and dirty pillow under the bed, towels used by the staff are a dirty grey colour.
As I was sharing my day with a friend they offered us our massage together. This would of been lovely if there was enough room for the therapists to move between the beds without knocking into us during our treatment (I must add that both myself and my friend are both size 10 so comfortably fit onto the treatment beds!!)
Pool area is crowded as they seem to pack as many bodies in one day as they can, the steam room doesn't work and if you can get a seat around the pool, you will be lucky.
The only positive about the whole day was the great food but you will need a glass of wine to cope with the rest of the experience !!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Hatsterc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    109
    82
    69
    61
See reviews for
86
155
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

The changing rooms are in poor condition and are rarely sufficiently clean. Shower fittings are broken and many of the furnishings are in need of substantial refurbishment.

A less complacent management approach is required

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bury St Edmunds hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Although the setting and food are excellent the whole place now has a sad and tired atmosphere. So many people crammed in to a limited space - clearly the emphasis here is on making money rather than encouraging repeat business. So many competitors now that they have to get a bit cleverer.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maggiefantastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

This is my second stay at Clarice House on one of their overnight spa offers. This deal is still great value for money, and is hard to beat!

Overall facilities are really good, comfortable rooms, great treatments and amazing food.

I think the management has changed since my last visit a couple of years ago & a couple of things have changed (not necessarily for the better). At breakfast you no longer have access to help yourself cereal, fruit juice etc. When we enquired, our waitress said this change had been made to give breakfast a more up-market feel, but in reality I assume it is to prevent guests consuming quite so much!! Our waitress was happy to bring a top up of fruit juice, but the glasses were small and during busy periods there is only so many times you can ask (I don't drink tea/or coffee).

Staff here are generally excellent and go out of their way to help you. We needed to leave by a certain time on our last day & although busy the restaurant staff did their best to bring our lunch booking forward so we could leave on time. Saying that there are some staff that aren't quite so accommodating & in my opinion could do with a little more customer services training. At lunch, one of the waitresses demanded we paid £2.50 for a coke we ordered before she would bring it to the table. We just found this behaviour a little strange......don't you normally pay for any meal or extras at the end.

That said, these were just a couple of small issues and didn't hugely impact our stay. Overall we had a great time and felt relaxed and refreshed at the end of our overnight stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank beckyr79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowestoft
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

This was my second day spa at Clarice House, Bury St Edmunds and I will definitely be returning, hopefully for a weekend stay. The staff are very proffessional and the meals they serve are delicious. Nice spa facilities, however it does get quite busy round the pool area and the loungers get hogged by people reserving them with their towels. There is a sign saying not to do this however this does not appeared to be monitored.

Other than that however I cannot fault the place. Would recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zoeclark83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

After visiting clarice house yesterday we felt very let down by the customer service and facilities. On arrival we was greeted by a grumpy acting teenager who made us feel we were not supposed to be there. She then dumped a few forms for us to fill in and left without leaving us a pen!! We then asked for a tour as this was our first time there and she rolled her eyes and proceeded to show us around, we thought maybe she was having a bad day. We was disappointed there was no other facilities other than a pool, jacuzzi, and sauna, the steam room wasn't working which no one told us on arrival and also no one told the therapists as we got told to sit in the steam room after our massages and manicure!!!!The spa day did not make us feel special, relaxed, or wanted. Seems that management want lots of people for a mediocre experience instead of less people and creating a great experience so people will return.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoriamews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

The wife and I stayed overnight and enjoyed ourselves very much. It's a lovely old building and Bury St. Edmunds is a nice place to have a bit of a wander. We initially went there for a spa day deal which they offer quite regularly and decided to make a night of it aswell. It was around christmas time and snowing so there was quite a nice romantic air about the place. The dinner we were served in the evening was very nice and we got rather drunk as we were carried away with the pleasent relaxed atmosphere. Service was good too. Before dinner, we sat in the snug under the staircase having thoroughly enjoyed our spa day shenanigans and chilled to the max in our bath robes and slippers. At these times one remembers what life was like without children! A fine breakfast awaited us the following morning, again served to us in the dining room by the polite staff. We shall return...

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ench1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bury St Edmunds hotels
1.3 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel
BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
3.0 mi away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Ickworth Hotel
The Ickworth Hotel
#1 of 2 in Horringer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town...
#1 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bannatyne Spa Hotel Bury St Edmunds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bannatyne Spa Hotel Bury St Edmunds

Property: Bannatyne Spa Hotel Bury St Edmunds
Address: Horringer Road | Horringer Court, Bury St Edmunds IP29 5PH, England (Formerly Clarice House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Bury St Edmunds
Hotel Class:5 star — Bannatyne Spa Hotel Bury St Edmunds 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Clarice House Hotel Bury St. Edmunds
Clarice Hotel Bury St Edmunds
Clarice Spa Bury St Edmunds
Bannatyne Spa Hotel Bury St Edmunds Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing