We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Timer” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Beerhouse

The Beerhouse
Ranked #47 of 203 Restaurants in Bury St Edmunds
Cuisines: British, Brew Pub, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: Our main focus is on traditional cask ales. We have 8 hand pumps dedicated to cask ale with an ever changing range of beers from interesting local and national brewers. Our beer count shows everything we've stocked so far and we added our very own Brewshed beers to the range in 2011.Although ale is our main focus, we do offer a small range of quality draft lagers and a draft stout. We also have 3 hand pumps exclusively for cask ciders. Our cider count shows what we've stocked so far. You'll also find a handful of good wines by the glass and over 20 whiskies.If you're looking for something to eat, we offer a selection of simple but tasty bar snacks such as deep fried whitebait and crispy fried brawn with piccalilli.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“First Timer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

I arranged to meet a friend who was travelling down for Norwich for a social drink and I chose this as it ticked the boxes of being close to the train station and keeping real ale
We were not disappointed. It was a joy to behold. Good selection of ales and friendly staff. I noticed a previous comment about being looked up and down but I can say that this never happened on my visit
I will gladly recommend to anyone visiting BSE anytime to visit this great establishmnet

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ipd1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    15
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very lucky in bury st edmunds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

A lovely place to enjoy some superb beers in a real friendly pub. Always a great choice of beers exceptionally kept by staff who know their business. Always very clean and welcoming.

Helpful?
Thank Laurence M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Pole, Alaska
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Many beers and the best chips in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

The beer house is not for meals. They have only bar snacks (and the best chips in town!). As the name suggests, the Beer House is most popular for the wide selection of beers available. The outdoor seating is also very nice. Often there are mini-festivals, etc as well.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lloyd W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Feeling put of it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

This is very obviously a place where locals meet
When walking in you are looked up and down and watched
Regulars sit at the bar and its not easy to get served..
I went in alone to meet a friend and felt so uncomfortable. I shall not go there again, or recommend it to friends unless they are going in a group

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jacquimass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The finest in the Galaxy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

By Grabthar's hammer, by the sons of Worvan, this is perhaps the finest beer and light food provider in the Galaxy. A superb selection of ales, friendly and knowledgeable staff, and excellent chips. A large outdoor area, dog friendly, a warm fire in the winter, I can find no fault.

Helpful?
1 Thank Alanrickman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Beerhouse also viewed

 
Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk
 
Hartest, Suffolk
Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk
 

Been to The Beerhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing