We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best coffee in Bury”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Castle Torrejano

Castle Torrejano
Ranked #148 of 205 Restaurants in Bury St Edmunds
Cuisines: European, Portuguese
Restaurant details
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best coffee in Bury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

I'm glad this coffee shop is now on TA as they serve the best coffee in Bury.
The staff are very friendly and the selection of food is not bad too especially the cakes.
They have a small supermarket down stairs with a great selection of fish and shell fish and Portugese

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank frankandrosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    4
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just My Cup of Coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

I love this café. The custard tarts are all as previously described and more. They have a great selection of other exotic looking buns too, and even sell escargot in bulk. The people are very friendly and the prices exceptionally reasonable. The only thing missing is outdoor seating, but that's hardly their fault - I'm sure if it were actually in Portugal, customers would just take their seats outside anyway. In Bury, they'd probably get a parking ticket and a strongly worded letter of complaint to the Bury Free Press.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank StationeryExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St. Edmunds
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Try it and see!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

I completely agree with the gentleman above - really reasonable and the custard tarts were wobbly and sensational, especially with the sprinkling of cinnamon. Make your way past "The Bull" pub and try it out. They serve the best coffee that I've had in ages, called "Buondi Caffe" and promptly bought a 250g packet for £3.50 and I recommend it as a wee present if you need to get one. It's not trendy or sumptuous, but a traditional family cafe that also sells other Portuguese products including crisps and cakes. The service was friendly and warm and I shall be going back, but I do hope they don't have formula one on the telly - that was the only down side! Good Luck Castle Torrejano, I hope you get lots of custom :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Joanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Sometimes its the simple things....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

....that make the difference.

Csstle Torrejano is a very unassuming place serving coffee and cakes. Well, when I say 'cakes' I actually mean 'the best custard tarts in the South East'.

I had a cappuccino and a custard tart and when I went to pay and was charged less than £2.00... I kid you not!

Just because its slightly off the beaten track I hope this place doesn't suffer as a consequence.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank steveholdenmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Castle Torrejano also viewed

Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk
Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk
 
Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk
Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk
 

Been to Castle Torrejano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing