We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great night out at Cafe Del Mar”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa del Mar - MOVED

Casa del Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: A passion for food & exceptional service are paramount at this small but perfectly formed restaurant. Using only the highest quality fresh ingredients prepared to order, the menu consists of Tapas and Meze dishes alongside main courses packed full of flavour. For pudding choose from simply the tastiest-ever locally-produced ice cream or homemade desserts. Fully licensed bar open throughout the day with a relevant range of drinks to compliment the food. All this served to you in the fabulous dining area beneath starlit, ivy-entwined gazebos at pretty candlelit tables. Whether you are looking for a romantic dinner for two, or a fun filled meal with friends this is a haven for anyone seeking to recreate those relaxed Mediterranean culinary experiences. Reservations essential: Kitchen open Tues - Thurs 11.30am - 3pm/5.30 - 8.30pm /Fri 11.30am-3pm/5.30-10pm & Sat 11.30am - 10pm
Bury St Edmunds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A great night out at Cafe Del Mar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

I had a lovely evening with a group of friends on Friday evening, the ambience was fabulous, great service, friendly staff, super menu. Thank you for a really sociable evening.
Elle Z.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elle Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    55
    28
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

I do not review every establishment I visit but I feel compelled to write this review to give you my take on this excellent restaurant given a previous poor review.

My husband and I were on holiday and chanced upon Café del Mar. Upon looking at the menu it appeared enticing and we decided to have lunch. My husband is gluten and wheat free which makes eating out occasionally a problem but not with this restaurant. Both waitresses were friendly and knowledgeable on the contents of the dishes and also checked one of the ingredients to ensure it was gluten and wheat free. When the dishes were served we both agreed the portions were not only large but we both felt the best mix of salads we had ever had. The ingredients were really fresh and tasty and different. This restaurant is definitely value for money.

We would have no hesitation in recommending this restaurant.

There was also a young guy in the restaurant quietly playing the classical guitar which really made for an enjoyable ambiance.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 512Minerva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CafeDelMarBuryStEds, Owner at Casa del Mar, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Thank you so much - it really helps when customers take the time to leave a review. Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

What a great little place to eat! Absolutely amazing food, service, atmosphere and staff. I would highly recommend this little restaurant to anyone visiting bury at edmunds. The service was amazing. The staff were so friendly and could not fault anything. They helped us choose from the menu and explained everything. The food came out and I was in food heaven! The garlic king prawns were amazing! This place did not disappoint and everything was perfect. I will certainly be going back and recommending this to anyone. Brilliant brilliant brilliant :-)

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CafeDelMarBuryStEds, Owner at Casa del Mar, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Thank you, Thank you, Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely Independent Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I visited this restaurant last night, delicious food and excellent service. We'd definitely recommend for anyone looking for a lovely restaurant in beautiful Bury

Helpful?
Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CafeDelMarBuryStEds, Owner at Casa del Mar, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Thank you - it is really appreciated when a customer takes the time to write a review! Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A nice change”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Nice setting, good food, slightly overpriced. The waitress was very attentive, the food all came out at the same time, overall a good experience however our party thought it was quite expensive for what we received portion size. Would return.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa del Mar also viewed

Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk
 
 
Woolpit, Bury St Edmunds
Woolpit, Bury St Edmunds
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing