We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice independent restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa del Mar - MOVED

Casa del Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: A passion for food & exceptional service are paramount at this small but perfectly formed restaurant. Using only the highest quality fresh ingredients prepared to order, the menu consists of Tapas and Meze dishes alongside main courses packed full of flavour. For pudding choose from simply the tastiest-ever locally-produced ice cream or homemade desserts. Fully licensed bar open throughout the day with a relevant range of drinks to compliment the food. All this served to you in the fabulous dining area beneath starlit, ivy-entwined gazebos at pretty candlelit tables. Whether you are looking for a romantic dinner for two, or a fun filled meal with friends this is a haven for anyone seeking to recreate those relaxed Mediterranean culinary experiences. Reservations essential: Kitchen open Tues - Thurs 11.30am - 3pm/5.30 - 8.30pm /Fri 11.30am-3pm/5.30-10pm & Sat 11.30am - 10pm
Suffolk
Level Contributor
111 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Nice independent restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

In a town of so many eating places relative to local population, Cafe del Mar is a welcome independent restaurant offering a menu that is unique to them. A wide variety of tapas, sharing platters and Mediterranean dishes. Many locals will remember Nico's Greek restaurant which sadly closed a few years ago. C del M fulfills the gap left - and more as they also open for breakfast and lunch.
The venue is light and airy. You are welcomed even if you just have coffee or a light snack. Breakfast pancakes with lemon and sugar are yummy! Last night I met a friend there for a quick drink and fish sharing platter which was tasty. We have also been in the evenings and enjoyed tapas. Don't expect huge portions as that is not what tapas is about. If you are really hungry, either order more plates or go for a main dish. Leave a gap for dessert!
Food is well presented and tasty. Nice to have somewhere that is not yet another chain!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MazSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    55
    28
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

What can I say this is a real gem. As there were 7 of us we decided to go for the Tapas and we ordered a selection of 20 dishes. All of them were delicious. The service was brilliant and the owner kept our 8 year grandson amused allowing him to take our orders, clear plates etc, he loved it.
Would recommend Cafe Del Mar without hesitation.


  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ojl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CafeDelMarBuryStEds, Owner at Casa del Mar, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Thanks for the review - I look forward to receiving your Grandson's CV in about 8 years time!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

A wonderful experience from start to finish! Staff were friendly and polite which created a lovely relaxed atmosphere we all felt very welcome! Nothing was to much trouble! My son gained some valuable waiting experience as the owner was fabulous and allowed him to help with serving are table. The tapas menu was full of wonderful choices and each one was delicious! My favourites being the Lamb stew and the Chicken Tagine. Each dish came to the table in perfect timing. The deserts were also fabulous from the Ice Cream and sorbets to the cakes. I would recommend Cafe Del Mar to everyone as the food is great the setting is divine and staff are welcoming!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank minimanoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CafeDelMarBuryStEds, Owner at Casa del Mar, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
It is always a pleasure to serve such lovely customers - thanks for the review. Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A great night out at Cafe Del Mar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

I had a lovely evening with a group of friends on Friday evening, the ambience was fabulous, great service, friendly staff, super menu. Thank you for a really sociable evening.
Elle Z.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elle Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

I do not review every establishment I visit but I feel compelled to write this review to give you my take on this excellent restaurant given a previous poor review.

My husband and I were on holiday and chanced upon Café del Mar. Upon looking at the menu it appeared enticing and we decided to have lunch. My husband is gluten and wheat free which makes eating out occasionally a problem but not with this restaurant. Both waitresses were friendly and knowledgeable on the contents of the dishes and also checked one of the ingredients to ensure it was gluten and wheat free. When the dishes were served we both agreed the portions were not only large but we both felt the best mix of salads we had ever had. The ingredients were really fresh and tasty and different. This restaurant is definitely value for money.

We would have no hesitation in recommending this restaurant.

There was also a young guy in the restaurant quietly playing the classical guitar which really made for an enjoyable ambiance.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 512Minerva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CafeDelMarBuryStEds, Owner at Casa del Mar, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Thank you so much - it really helps when customers take the time to leave a review. Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa del Mar also viewed

Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk
 
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing