We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Dog & Partridge
Nearby Hotels
All Saints Hotel(Bury St Edmunds)
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Angel Hotel(Bury St Edmunds)
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
The Angel Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$67
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$429
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$363
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Priory Hotel(Bury St Edmunds)(Great Value!)
US$91
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Chantry Hotel(Bury St Edmunds)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (150)
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveller rating
62
51
20
6
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
62
51
20
6
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspartridgethe pubgreene king brewerystaff carslook forward to another visitgreat range of beerslunch breakfull englishroom was cleansmall car parkshort strollfantastic locationpowerful showerbeer gardenon arrivalgood sizea great place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
135 - 140 of 150 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Dog & Partridge. The staff went out of their way to be helpful, the room was very comfortable and the food was excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

The Dog & Partridge is more of a pub with rooms than a Hotel with a bar. The pub side is very popular and as a consequence very busy & quite noisy - which can carry on till quite late. There is very little street parking nearby & the pub car park is miniscule - if you do get a space you are likely to find yourself trapped in by other cars. Food is not at all bad & reasonably priced and the whole pub side has a very buzzy atmosphere with friendly staff - quite nice,
But the rooms are another thing altogether - or at least the one had. It was really very unpleasant, stained upholstery, nasty smell, felt very grubby. Looking at other reviews they can't all be that bad, but I can only judge by the one we had - Ugh!

Room Tip: Don't get ours - can't remember the room number, sorry!
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travellingman6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

My daughter and I stayed at the Dog and Partridge as she was attending a training course at the Greene King Brewery head office and this hotel was ideally placed (practically opposite).
The rooms are not actually in or over the pub but in the period property next door with its own entrance including a pleasant lobby area.
The room itself was a good size, bed enormous and very comfortable, nice en suite - all nice and clean.
Helpful friendly staff, very accomodating.
Entrance to the tiny car park is at the back of the pub in Bridewell Lane.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

the dog and partridge has an excellent restaurant and pub. faultless. however the attached hotel is awful. the rooms are old fashioned and smell mouldy. there bathroom was not clean. the net curtains were disgusting. our duvet cover had a tear in it.

we had booked a family room for 3. we had a double bed and some folded up duvets on the floor (as a bed for our 12 year old daughter). we complained and they halved the cost of our room.

we went to bury for the christmas market which was excellent and we would definitely go again. we would eat and drink at the dog and partridge again for sure but we would 100% choose another hotel to stay in.

Room Tip: pick another hotel
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank louisemax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

This B and B was fine. The room was huge, well equipped and clean. Parking was ok as pub staff were accomodating with shuffling cars around to fit. Breakfast was OK, but that's all. Nothing spectacular for the price of the B and B. Sky tv news was blaring out during breakfast, which I find a little annoying. I would have preferred a radio. Don't get caught out by the two meals for £9.95 all day Mon to Fri. This is off of a special menu at the bar, but this is very unclear from the blackboard outside in the garden area. Having said that, the food we had for our evening meal was very good, if a little pricy.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah2370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews