We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky yet fab!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Dog & Partridge
Ranked #16 of 53 Bury St Edmunds B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I stay here when I am on business and it is a great place to stay. The staff are very friendly and the rooms are spacious and clean. The food is good and the pub is very popular with locals and tourists alike. The Green King Brewery is almost next door and its worth a visit.

Room Tip: Well worth a visit to the Abbey gardens and the Green King brewery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joulescm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2013

Very acceptable! Comfortable and spacious rooms in the old Brewmaster's House, right next to the Dog and Partridge, in the middle of Bury St Edmunds. Food was good Pub Grub as was the attention of the staff. If you like old buildings and traditional Pubs, you will like this one.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dampman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

The Dog and Partridge holds very dear memories for me as I lived in the house that is now the hotel part of the Dog and Partridge. It has been a pub for as long as I can remember and it is so central for the Theatre which is about 100yards up the road and St. Marys;Church which is very beautiful and again about 100 yards in the other direction. Greene King have owned this pub from day one and it is only across the road from Greene King Brewery itself, where you can get guided tours etc. I long to go back to the Dog and Partridge Hotel and say"please can I sleepin my old bedroom" and see their reaction. As the pub is so near to the theatre it also has the advantage of celebs.coming in for drinks etc and the chance to mingle with them. A lot of very famous people have visited there and photos etc. can be seen., How I wish I could just whisked myself off "on a magic carpet" to see it all again. wonderful memories

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank janiebHorncastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

We held our engagement part at the D&P on saturday night - we had a great time the service, food and reception from the staff was fantastic.

We had an overnight stay too in the B&B and i would defintely recommend the whole package to friends and family.

thanks to Gordon, Leanne & Lisa for a wonderful time.

Ellie & Jon

Room Tip: room 3 was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Chose here for a short break at a couple of days notice. Excellent location, within a couple of minutes walk from the Abbey ruins & the gardens - so location is perfect. There is a small car park, we were fortunate to get in it (only holds about 8 cars), which you would never know about if you don't ask at the pub. The room was very large, it is in a seperate block from the pub itself so there was no noise issues. The room was clean, complete with sofa, wardrobe, dressing table, hairdryer etc. En-suite was clean, small shower cubicle put a really powerful shower. The full english breakfast was very good, really nice ingredients.

Room Tip: Room 6 overlooked the main road (not busy), might be a good option in summer rather than a room at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linconshire couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

We didn't stay here, but just stopped in for a meal. We had been driving for ages to find a pub with warmth & serving food all day. The staff were very welcoming, the food was average. The biggest dissappointment for us was that it was the coldest day of the year so far & there were no fires lit. There wasn't many people inside, so apart from temperature, there was a very cold feel to what should have been a very welcoming pub.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Greenfingers1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Stayed for four night on business and had an excellent stay.Very clean room and a great breakfast.The staff were very good as was dinner and they have a great range of beers.they even had an Elvis tribute on in the evening which was great fun.I will certainly use them again if in BSE

Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
Thank DrWhoStockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bury St Edmunds hotels
0.3 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
1,222 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Chantry Hotel
The Chantry Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
221 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
#10 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
420 reviews
2.5 mi away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#6 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
238 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Fox Inn
The Fox Inn
#2 of 53 in Bury St Edmunds
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dog & Partridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dog & Partridge

Address: 29 Crown Street, Bury St Edmunds IP33 1QU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bury St Edmunds
Price Range: £61 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Dog & Partridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dog And Partridge
The Dog & Partridge Hotel Bury St. Edmunds
The Dog & Partridge Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing