We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Dog & Partridge
Ranked #18 of 53 Bury St Edmunds B&B and Inns
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Friendly staff”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stayed for 2 nights nice clean rooms. Quite location but only a short walk to cathedral and town centre. Ate in both nights plain food but enjoyable. Staff very helpful and friendly. We were staying so that we could have a short distance to travel to Newmarket races would certainly visit again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    40
    16
    4
    9
See reviews for
11
58
2
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed here due to attending a wedding at Ickworth House.
On arrival we had to try and fit the car in the car park, but once in you know the car was secure as well blocked in!
Very helpful friendly staff getting us straight to our rooms that were very clean and well equipt. The Hotel is pretty central with what you need close by.
Bed was very comfy and shower excellent, certainly woke me up!
We had breakfast in the bar downstairs which again was good service and basic but fresh.
Cant fault it and done the job required but dont expect the ritz.

Room Tip: stayed in the loft which had a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1973jonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishop's Stortford, Hertfordshire
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The pub is situated a short walk from the Cathedral in the old part of the town and is worth the short walk away from the hustle and bustle of the new town and all it's shops.
The staff were extremely helpful and polite and the food excellent.
It was a hot lunch time and so my wife and i sat inside in the air conditioned pub rather then sit outside in the beautiful garden.
We had a large soft drink each and i had the soup starter and my wife the Caesar salad which was followed by sausages, mash and peas and scampi and chips. The scampi was cooked to perfection and not hard as experienced elsewhere, the chips where great and the sausage, mash and peas really hit the spot.
Both main meals were quite large and so we didn't have a desert.
All this for only £22 as they do the 2 for 1 meal offer and so was excellent value for money.
Couldn't recommend this pub any more then to say it's a shame it's not in Bishop's Stortford where we could pop in each week.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waller50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the dog and partridge for 2 nights in order to attend a friends wedding. Room was comfortable and recently redecorated. Beds were comfy and shower was nice and warm. Breakfast was a bit basic but they made a great bacon sandwich so can't complain! Staff were friendly and helpful. Parking was a bit tight when we arrived on the first night but one of the staff arranged to move her car so we could get parked. Would stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnieBegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ashen
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Warm welcome upon arrival,staff freindly.
Couple of things wrong with the room,remote control broken on the tv,and the matrresses on the double bed hadnt been attached together properly so thy divided abit overnight. Maybe im being alittle picky,but when you pay alot of money for b& b,everything should be perfect i think.
The food is good pub grub.
i,d still recommend though.

Room Tip: it is in town,so could get noisey,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelleAshen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sturminster Newton
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We were members of a visiting choir for the weekend to sing services in the Cathedral. As such a convenient central location was essential. This is a town centre pub in the old town of Bury St Edmunds, three or four minutes from the Cathedral, and within comfortable walking distance of the town's attractions. The room was large and very comfortable, evidently having been recently tastefully refurbished. The rooms facing the main road (as ours did) are a bit noisy at peak traffic times, but this did not intrude unduly. Food was generally excellent, though the Sunday lunch was not of the best, the beef being a bit tough, and the pork a bit fatty. Otherwise we enjoyed our meals very much, breakfast being a particular treat! Staff were delightful, extremely helpful, with Gordon the landlord providing very much the personal hands-on touch. The final above-and-beyond-the-call-of-duty gesture was provided by the afternoon kitchen staff, who when they discovered we had a four-hour drive home, leaving Bury at 5pm, they provided us, FREE OF CHARGE, with two rounds of wonderful sandwiches to sustain us on our way home! Remarkable...

Room Tip: Try to avoid the rooms at the front if you're sensitive to peak time traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We have just returned from an overnight stay here and have mixed feelings about it. When we arrives at almost 3.30 pm (check in is from 2.00pm ) we were a little disappointed that our room was still being "finished " tho' we able to go in and leave our bags, which was all we wanted to do fortunately.
The car park is at the rear of the pub and we had to go in and ask to find out how to get round to it as it's not immediately obvious.
The room itself (number 9 )was clean and comfortable tho one of the blinds had ? fallen down and was propped up by the window and as the curtains are quite thin we were woken by the light at 4.30am tho did manage to get back to sleep again. Also the door lock has to be turned to quarter past position to lock and get key pout, which perplexed me tho my husband soon figure it out! The landlord had told us he was full so didn't bother to ask if we could move.
Breakfast was a little disappointing, tho again the waitress was very friendly and the bacon SMELT delicious , it was several rashers of STREAKY bacon and although the "full English " was adequate for us it did look a little lost on the large plate, just a few slices of mushroom. Maybe a smaller plate would have made it look more appetising?
But despite these few quibbles, overall it was a good place and we enjoyed our much needed night away.
The location is excellent and as I have said the friendliness of the staff make up for the other minor faults...

Room Tip: Rooms 8 and 9 are on top floor, not too high up but best avoided if you have mobility problems...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muggleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bury St Edmunds hotels
0.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
1,183 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
486 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Chantry Hotel
The Chantry Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
#11 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
413 reviews
2.5 mi away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
220 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Bushel
The Bushel
#11 of 53 in Bury St Edmunds
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dog & Partridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dog & Partridge

Property: The Dog & Partridge
Address: 29 Crown Street, Bury St Edmunds IP33 1QU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bury St Edmunds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Dog & Partridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dog And Partridge
The Dog & Partridge Hotel Bury St. Edmunds
The Dog & Partridge Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing