We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oh dear!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Abbey Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Oh dear!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

So many things wrong with this 'hotel'. For a start..it's not a hotel, more a B&B. Nightmare car park..couldn't get out after 9pm as not enough spaces and people had to park in the middle blocking everyone elses access. The hotel itself needs a clean, lots of dust everywhere. The room wasn't great, very dusty and again, not cleaned properly. Sticky bathroom floor, the bath mat hadn't been washed since the last person left. Bathroom desperately needs replacing, the old shower only ran luke warm water and didn't drain properly. Limescale build up and hairs in there from the last person...disgusting.The bathroom tap also comes on spontaneously, that needs fixing too.

They provided a filthy old sponge in the kitchenette, no fairy liquid or anything to wash your mug up. Toiletries cost extra, despite the room cost being over £120!

This place is a rip off, and needs a lot of work. Just about ok for a one night stay, but if you're coming to Bury St Edmunds I recommend you go elsewhere! I have no idea how it has been given 4 stars.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissHolidayDays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbey H, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Just a few points
The car park is very adequate for 12 cars and plenty of turning space. On the night in question we had major road works outside the hotel (A new gas supply for the Greene King brewery) and the contractors we wonderful. There was always access to the hotel car park. However for this night I gave permission for a huge generator and Land Rover to be parked in the middle of the car park at 2100 hrs. The driver booked into the hotel with the agreement they would move it if any resident wished to leave. There were no requests. The contractors parked their machine so that at 0500 hrs next day they could leave by letting the hand brake off and allowing the vehicle to roll out of the hotel car park and down the hill causing the least disturbance.

For disabled visitors we have recently installed Mira lever taps in some rooms. Separate hot and cold taps also helps. Mira lever taps do not turn themselves on!

Must go now - Sincerely - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    52
    14
    7
    3
See reviews for
16
83
11
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

Clean, spacious room & bathroom. Breakfast ok but not anything special. No bar / restaurant. Decent quality B&B rather than Hotel - with good access to central Bury St Edmunds. Reasonably priced & friendly staff

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frequenthotelstay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
56 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

The Abbey Hotel was perfect. Beautiful old buildings full of character, a very sweet and helpful staff, delicious breakfasts cooked just right, comfortable beds, and modern, well-appointed bathrooms. The location is just a little outside of the main part of town, but easy to get to and quiet. Very reasonably priced and a perfect place for a short or long stay. Quinton even went to herculean efforts to fix an honest mistake, and all turned out well. A truly lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: If you're concerned about traffic noise, ask for a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Packlighttravelright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

For £90 you expect a hotel standard, not low budget B&B. It' like paying for a new BMW and get an old Opel Astra. The lodge is just outside sleepy Bury St.Edmunds at the trafic road. To facilities, the room (and bed) is very small and not very good isolatet from noise from the neighbours or trafic. Even the breakfast is not much to write about (thin coffee is not what you need in the morning). So, to value for many you may need to travel to Norway to find something less attractive for the same prise.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank arvesan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

Overall, we had a pleasant stay in this well situated, clean hotel. However, we were disappointed with some aspects, given that the hotel is rated at 4 stars and we were staying in a "de luxe" room. Our bathroom was tiny and hardly user-friendly, with inadequate provision for storage of towels and toilet bags; the toiletries provided were very basic and did not include shampoo. The towels provided were first class.

We slept well in a very comfortable king-size bed but the bedroom also suffered from lack of storage; the one wardrobe was fine for hanging things up but had only a small drawer at ankle height for other items. Most of our stuff stayed in our cases on the floor. The bedside tables were far too small to be of much use - books also went on the floor. Although we live in the mobile age, it was surprising to find no telephone in the room - what do mobile-o-phobes do?

Breakfasts were good, as was the service; there was an excellent variety of both hot and cold food offered.

The car park is fairly small and required some delicate manoeuvring to exit between other guests' cars. The exit from the car park is by a narrow gap between two houses and straight onto the road, so care needs to be taken.

Our conclusion is that the Abbey is probably a decent choice for a business person or someone on a one night stay but needs to provide rather more to attract anyone wishing to stay longer.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Panth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed overnight whilst in the area for a sports competition. We arrived after eight at nights and nothing was too much trouble for the gentleman who met us. Out room was number 2 and inside was very well decorated and held so much character to the building. One small point though the bathroom was extremely small and only useful for a bath(mind your head if tall) not a shower. That didn't matter to us to much as only stating one night.
The fabric if the room good quality and nice crisp clean white sheets of Egyptian cotton.
The breakfast was homemade quality products.
Nothing cheap about the quality of service received would recommend this hotel definitely

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrtNottinghamshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fakenham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

We arrived late on Saturday, having booked through Latebooking.com the previous night, only to find that our booking hadn't been received by the Hotel and they were not expecting us. Oh horror!

Thankfully the situation was not a problem to them, they took us at our word, accepted us and two Standard Poodles (dogs by arrangement - we thought that we had arranged it!) without any protest. We were shown to a lovely room with brilliant access for two dogs. The management could not have been more helpful. Apparently the online booking booking appeared out of the ether on Sunday in the Spam Box. We have learned that a confirmation phone call is a necessity when booking on line! What would we have done with ourselves at 10.00pm on a Saturday night with two dogs, if the Hotel had been difficult about our booking?

Wonderfully comfortable bed with crisp white sheets, sympathtically decorated for a property of the period, plenty of hot water and a delightful breakfast. The staff are very friendly. An ideal setting for us, with our canine friends as there is plenty of suitable walking very near by. There is free Wifi in all rooms, which is important to us.

We go to Bury St Edmunds quite often and will definately stay at the Abbey Hotel, having checked that they will have all four of us back again! Next time we will phone........!

Thanks for having us.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bury St Edmunds hotels
0.5 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town...
#1 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel
BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Chantry Hotel
The Chantry Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
2.7 mi away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Bushel
The Bushel
#11 of 56 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey Hotel

Property: The Abbey Hotel
Address: 35 Southgate Street, Bury St Edmunds IP33 2AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Bury St Edmunds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Abbey Hotel Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing