We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel!”
Review of The Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Abbey Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed one night at the Abbey Hotel and had a lovely experience. We were in room 7, room was large, quiet and exceptionally comfortable and very clean. The breakfast (omelette) was prepared on an individual basis - a lovely change from the basic full English breakfast. Hotel a bit outside of town, but an easy 5 minute walk. We would definitely recommend staying at the Abbey Hotel if you are in Bury St. Edmunds.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2013

Had an enjoyable 2 night stay here in August and found it to be a very good B&B base for exploring the town which is about 5-6minutes walk to the centre.Our room,No.5 was reached by a very steep,narrow stairway but you could avoid this by using the much wider fire escape that proved very useful.
The room itself was a reasonable size with a small,adequate bathroom,although you had to sit down to use the shower attachment because of the restricted headroom but no complaints from me as it's one of the results of being in a fine,old building.
Although there was no bar,there was a comfortable lounge area where you could meet up if you were staying with friends.
There was an excellent breakfast menu to choose from and I must say the full English breakfast was an absolute delight.
The wife and I have no hesitation in recommending this very pleasant hotel.

All the best in your travels,

Peter and Rosalind.

Room Tip: If you prefer a shower choose room 7 over room 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjrmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

So many things wrong with this 'hotel'. For a start..it's not a hotel, more a B&B. Nightmare car park..couldn't get out after 9pm as not enough spaces and people had to park in the middle blocking everyone elses access. The hotel itself needs a clean, lots of dust everywhere. The room wasn't great, very dusty and again, not cleaned properly. Sticky bathroom floor, the bath mat hadn't been washed since the last person left. Bathroom desperately needs replacing, the old shower only ran luke warm water and didn't drain properly. Limescale build up and hairs in there from the last person...disgusting.The bathroom tap also comes on spontaneously, that needs fixing too.

They provided a filthy old sponge in the kitchenette, no fairy liquid or anything to wash your mug up. Toiletries cost extra, despite the room cost being over £120!

This place is a rip off, and needs a lot of work. Just about ok for a one night stay, but if you're coming to Bury St Edmunds I recommend you go elsewhere! I have no idea how it has been given 4 stars.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissHolidayDays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbey H, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Just a few points
The car park is very adequate for 12 cars and plenty of turning space. On the night in question we had major road works outside the hotel (A new gas supply for the Greene King brewery) and the contractors we wonderful. There was always access to the hotel car park. However for this night I gave permission for a huge generator and Land Rover to be parked in the middle of the car park at 2100 hrs. The driver booked into the hotel with the agreement they would move it if any resident wished to leave. There were no requests. The contractors parked their machine so that at 0500 hrs next day they could leave by letting the hand brake off and allowing the vehicle to roll out of the hotel car park and down the hill causing the least disturbance.

For disabled visitors we have recently installed Mira lever taps in some rooms. Separate hot and cold taps also helps. Mira lever taps do not turn themselves on!

Must go now - Sincerely - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

Clean, spacious room & bathroom. Breakfast ok but not anything special. No bar / restaurant. Decent quality B&B rather than Hotel - with good access to central Bury St Edmunds. Reasonably priced & friendly staff

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frequenthotelstay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

The Abbey Hotel was perfect. Beautiful old buildings full of character, a very sweet and helpful staff, delicious breakfasts cooked just right, comfortable beds, and modern, well-appointed bathrooms. The location is just a little outside of the main part of town, but easy to get to and quiet. Very reasonably priced and a perfect place for a short or long stay. Quinton even went to herculean efforts to fix an honest mistake, and all turned out well. A truly lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: If you're concerned about traffic noise, ask for a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Packlighttravelright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

For £90 you expect a hotel standard, not low budget B&B. It' like paying for a new BMW and get an old Opel Astra. The lodge is just outside sleepy Bury St.Edmunds at the trafic road. To facilities, the room (and bed) is very small and not very good isolatet from noise from the neighbours or trafic. Even the breakfast is not much to write about (thin coffee is not what you need in the morning). So, to value for many you may need to travel to Norway to find something less attractive for the same prise.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank arvesan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Overall, we had a pleasant stay in this well situated, clean hotel. However, we were disappointed with some aspects, given that the hotel is rated at 4 stars and we were staying in a "de luxe" room. Our bathroom was tiny and hardly user-friendly, with inadequate provision for storage of towels and toilet bags; the toiletries provided were very basic and did not include shampoo. The towels provided were first class.

We slept well in a very comfortable king-size bed but the bedroom also suffered from lack of storage; the one wardrobe was fine for hanging things up but had only a small drawer at ankle height for other items. Most of our stuff stayed in our cases on the floor. The bedside tables were far too small to be of much use - books also went on the floor. Although we live in the mobile age, it was surprising to find no telephone in the room - what do mobile-o-phobes do?

Breakfasts were good, as was the service; there was an excellent variety of both hot and cold food offered.

The car park is fairly small and required some delicate manoeuvring to exit between other guests' cars. The exit from the car park is by a narrow gap between two houses and straight onto the road, so care needs to be taken.

Our conclusion is that the Abbey is probably a decent choice for a business person or someone on a one night stay but needs to provide rather more to attract anyone wishing to stay longer.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Panth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bury St Edmunds hotels
0.5 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
1,270 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town...
#1 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
546 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Chantry Hotel
The Chantry Hotel
#4 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
538 reviews
2.7 mi away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
325 reviews
3 mi away
The Ickworth Hotel
The Ickworth Hotel
#1 of 2 in Horringer
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey Hotel

Address: 35 Southgate Street, Bury St Edmunds IP33 2AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Bury St Edmunds
Price Range: £105 - £505 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your The Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Abbey Hotel Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing