We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy for city centre”
Review of The Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Abbey Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Dumfries
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Handy for city centre”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I stayed for 2 nights in a deluxe room. Although comfortable I would in no way class this as deluxe. The shower was poor and there were no complementary toiletries. The hotel does not serve food apart from breakfast - I would class it as a B&B rather than an hotel. Breakfast was good as were the choices available.

Room was at front and when window open due to heat there was traffic noise which continued all night.

Staff were very helpful and I was given a map which showed establishments in town that served food. Feel that it was however overpriced for what was on offer but it may be that prices are high in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms facing road are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbey H, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you for your review.
We only have one hotel in town that does evening food. Elsewhere it is mentioned as being expensive but the price reflects the cost of providing a good service surrounded by another 100 places to eat. (Can't be easy for them!)
We have some pubs with rooms that do evening food but that might not be what you are looking for. Websites would give you a better indication.
Bury St Edmunds has an amazing variety of restaurants and residents would not think themselves adventurous these days to enjoy the choice. The Abbey Hotel in Southgate Street is 5 mins walk from the excitement.
The Abbey Hotel has double glazing throughout and is very quiet. That being said we are a town centre hotel and all our central hotels experience some town noise, us less that most.
Sincerely, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    54
    14
    7
    3
See reviews for
17
85
12
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Stayed in St. Botolph's cottage 22-25/9/13. Quiet, no distractions to disturb sleep. Room made up promptly each day. Excellent breakfast daily, good porridge, great black bacon. On-site parking available. Arthur and his son Quinton were very helpful. Arthur even gave me his mobile as an alarm since my electric converter had burned out and my own mobile had no power left. I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: St. Botolph's sleeps three if needed. It's by itself off the main building and is quite priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nemomike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed three nights and found the accommodation very comfortable and clean. The staff are friendly, helpful and professional. The breakfasts were very good and you could choose to mix and match if you wished. The atmosphere was relaxing. The hotel does not 'do' dinner but it is a short walk to the restaurants in the town, which is good for the constitution after eating a large dinner anyway! Bury St Edmunds is a very picturesque town and full of lovely Georgian architecture. We would certainly stay at the Abbey Hotel again and recommend that other travellers give it a go too.

Room Tip: The parking area is limited, but if guests are sensible and thoughtful towards each other, the irrit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marple5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night at the Abbey Hotel and had a lovely experience. We were in room 7, room was large, quiet and exceptionally comfortable and very clean. The breakfast (omelette) was prepared on an individual basis - a lovely change from the basic full English breakfast. Hotel a bit outside of town, but an easy 5 minute walk. We would definitely recommend staying at the Abbey Hotel if you are in Bury St. Edmunds.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Had an enjoyable 2 night stay here in August and found it to be a very good B&B base for exploring the town which is about 5-6minutes walk to the centre.Our room,No.5 was reached by a very steep,narrow stairway but you could avoid this by using the much wider fire escape that proved very useful.
The room itself was a reasonable size with a small,adequate bathroom,although you had to sit down to use the shower attachment because of the restricted headroom but no complaints from me as it's one of the results of being in a fine,old building.
Although there was no bar,there was a comfortable lounge area where you could meet up if you were staying with friends.
There was an excellent breakfast menu to choose from and I must say the full English breakfast was an absolute delight.
The wife and I have no hesitation in recommending this very pleasant hotel.

All the best in your travels,

Peter and Rosalind.

Room Tip: If you prefer a shower choose room 7 over room 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjrmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

So many things wrong with this 'hotel'. For a start..it's not a hotel, more a B&B. Nightmare car park..couldn't get out after 9pm as not enough spaces and people had to park in the middle blocking everyone elses access. The hotel itself needs a clean, lots of dust everywhere. The room wasn't great, very dusty and again, not cleaned properly. Sticky bathroom floor, the bath mat hadn't been washed since the last person left. Bathroom desperately needs replacing, the old shower only ran luke warm water and didn't drain properly. Limescale build up and hairs in there from the last person...disgusting.The bathroom tap also comes on spontaneously, that needs fixing too.

They provided a filthy old sponge in the kitchenette, no fairy liquid or anything to wash your mug up. Toiletries cost extra, despite the room cost being over £120!

This place is a rip off, and needs a lot of work. Just about ok for a one night stay, but if you're coming to Bury St Edmunds I recommend you go elsewhere! I have no idea how it has been given 4 stars.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissHolidayDays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbey H, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Just a few points
The car park is very adequate for 12 cars and plenty of turning space. On the night in question we had major road works outside the hotel (A new gas supply for the Greene King brewery) and the contractors we wonderful. There was always access to the hotel car park. However for this night I gave permission for a huge generator and Land Rover to be parked in the middle of the car park at 2100 hrs. The driver booked into the hotel with the agreement they would move it if any resident wished to leave. There were no requests. The contractors parked their machine so that at 0500 hrs next day they could leave by letting the hand brake off and allowing the vehicle to roll out of the hotel car park and down the hill causing the least disturbance.

For disabled visitors we have recently installed Mira lever taps in some rooms. Separate hot and cold taps also helps. Mira lever taps do not turn themselves on!

Must go now - Sincerely - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

Clean, spacious room & bathroom. Breakfast ok but not anything special. No bar / restaurant. Decent quality B&B rather than Hotel - with good access to central Bury St Edmunds. Reasonably priced & friendly staff

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frequenthotelstay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bury St Edmunds hotels
0.5 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
1,161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town...
#1 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
419 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Chantry Hotel
The Chantry Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
471 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
#11 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
405 reviews
2.7 mi away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey Hotel

Property: The Abbey Hotel
Address: 35 Southgate Street, Bury St Edmunds IP33 2AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bury St Edmunds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Abbey Hotel Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing