We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”
Review of The Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Abbey Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 December 2013

stayed with work, thought hotel was really good. service was friendly and helpful throughout stay. breakfast was v good with wide choice. would stay again and recommend to anyone staying in Bury St. Edmunds. bed very comfortable so great nights sleep. facilities good, wifi, flat-screen etc. bathroom a little dated but very clean so no complaints at all. it is the town centre so very handy.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank echeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in October 2013. Booked in room 12, it was a 2 bedroom flat away from the main building on a main road. Small kitchen and reasonable sized shower room. Traffic noise at night was a problem as the secondary glazing did not fully close but otherwise the main bedroom was very good. Bed was large and comfortable. Kitchen had everything you needed. Other than a few bits of fluff on the kitchen floor it was reasonably clean and well maintained. The heating was excellent, everywhere was warm as there was a cold snap while we were there. The Hotel only served breakfast, buffet or whatever you wanted cooked to order. Could not fault it, good food cooked perfectly and served by friendly staff. Warning, do not visit if you are dieting. The Hotel is in a good location 10 minute walk from the town centre, the Hotel car park is quite small, I had no problems but saw others who arrived late evening struggle to park. Overall I would recommend this historic Hotel.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mikeymost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We have just got back from a weekend staying here. Our room was beautiful and a bottle of champagne in the fridge, made it a lovely anniversary weekend. Thank you everyone was friendly, will definitely recommend this hotel, and if we return to bury we will stay here .

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank vagoRutland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Stayed here recently over the weekend. Great place - building had loads of character (although that makes it tricky for talk folk!) and friendly staff. Decent breakfast too. Close to the centre of town. Great stay!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I stayed for 2 nights in a deluxe room. Although comfortable I would in no way class this as deluxe. The shower was poor and there were no complementary toiletries. The hotel does not serve food apart from breakfast - I would class it as a B&B rather than an hotel. Breakfast was good as were the choices available.

Room was at front and when window open due to heat there was traffic noise which continued all night.

Staff were very helpful and I was given a map which showed establishments in town that served food. Feel that it was however overpriced for what was on offer but it may be that prices are high in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms facing road are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbey H, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Thank you for your review.
We only have one hotel in town that does evening food. Elsewhere it is mentioned as being expensive but the price reflects the cost of providing a good service surrounded by another 100 places to eat. (Can't be easy for them!)
We have some pubs with rooms that do evening food but that might not be what you are looking for. Websites would give you a better indication.
Bury St Edmunds has an amazing variety of restaurants and residents would not think themselves adventurous these days to enjoy the choice. The Abbey Hotel in Southgate Street is 5 mins walk from the excitement.
The Abbey Hotel has double glazing throughout and is very quiet. That being said we are a town centre hotel and all our central hotels experience some town noise, us less that most.
Sincerely, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Stayed in St. Botolph's cottage 22-25/9/13. Quiet, no distractions to disturb sleep. Room made up promptly each day. Excellent breakfast daily, good porridge, great black bacon. On-site parking available. Arthur and his son Quinton were very helpful. Arthur even gave me his mobile as an alarm since my electric converter had burned out and my own mobile had no power left. I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: St. Botolph's sleeps three if needed. It's by itself off the main building and is quite priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nemomike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed three nights and found the accommodation very comfortable and clean. The staff are friendly, helpful and professional. The breakfasts were very good and you could choose to mix and match if you wished. The atmosphere was relaxing. The hotel does not 'do' dinner but it is a short walk to the restaurants in the town, which is good for the constitution after eating a large dinner anyway! Bury St Edmunds is a very picturesque town and full of lovely Georgian architecture. We would certainly stay at the Abbey Hotel again and recommend that other travellers give it a go too.

Room Tip: The parking area is limited, but if guests are sensible and thoughtful towards each other, the irrit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marple5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bury St Edmunds hotels
0.5 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
1,222 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Chantry Hotel
The Chantry Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
221 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
#10 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
503 reviews
2.7 mi away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#6 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
238 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
#4 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey Hotel

Address: 35 Southgate Street, Bury St Edmunds IP33 2AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bury St Edmunds
Price Range: £111 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your The Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Abbey Hotel Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing