We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“As relaxing as it gets”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Cedar Lodge

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A romantic night in, or you can dine al fresco on the sun deck. The hot tub, with ample seating for four, offers that something special for a great relaxing break.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
A romantic night in, or you can dine al fresco on the sun deck.
The hot tub, with ample seating for four, offers that something special for a great relaxing break.
Atmospheric lighting for those special meals in.
Stunning contemporary design with fully equipped kitchen, and adjoining dining area.
A spacious bright shower room with large shower enclosure.
Wake up in a king-size bed with French windows opening up onto the sun deck with hot tub close by.
Enjoy the private garden setting.
The high quality hot tub sits on the sun deck close to the bedroom doors.
A relaxing retreat, inside and out.
Will you be celebrating? Ask about our romantic package, for just £49 payable once here.
Upthorpe Lodges provide a private and quiet holiday retreat.
Close by is Wyken Hall, with gardens, restaurant, cafe and weekly farmers market.
A short walk away, the local wildlife reserve, Sid's Piece, has views beyond Stanton Mill.
Traditional timber-frame houses at Walsham le Willows, with two pubs and a prize-winning butchers.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rob F
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“As relaxing as it gets”
Reviewed 3 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This was our second stay at Upthorpe Lodges having stayed in Oak lodge last year. This lodge lives up to the same high standards with the advantage of a hot tub. The lodges are clean, spacious, modern and equipped with everything you will need for a home from home relaxing break. The owners Ian & Debbie are very friendly and are on hand should you need them. The welcome goodies were really appreciated. The lodge is well located for visiting many places in a relatively short drive including Bury St Edmunds, Norwich, Ipswich, Cambridge or several coastal resorts. If you need a relaxing break from the rat race then don't hesitate, get booking. Hope to be back soon to maybe test out lodge number 3 'Birch'.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace & quiet
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2016
Many thanks for taking the time and letting other tripadvisor users know about us. We're very grateful for your kind comments and hope to welcome you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
888gail
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous place for a relaxing break”
Reviewed 6 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

I booked Cedar Lodge as a surprise for my husbands birthday and wow was he surprised, we both loved this place it was everything we wanted. The accommodation was first class, everything spotless, very roomy and had the bonus of a lovely hot tub. We were very lucky to have perfect weather so we're able to make use of the lovely private garden equipped with hot tub, sun loungers and a gas barbeque. The lodge itself was very well equipped with dishwasher, washing machine and microwave. We had a very relaxing break, my husband nearly lived in the hot tub. Definately want to return here again cannot praise it enough .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about the lodge
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2016
What more can we say! Thanks so much for taking the time to share your feedback. Upthorpe Lodges.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JazJohn16
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Miss / Mr”
Reviewed 10 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We checked into cedar Lodge yesterday for a 2 night stay for my birthday... we were blown away with how beautiful the lodge was! the garden spacious and private, the hot tub - a bonus and inside very very clean and everything you need and more. Complimentary tea and coffee, smart TV with Netflix, comfy bed, underfloor heating - a perfect getaway for the weekend. Car parking great and literally two steps from the lodge.
Highly recommend to anyone thinking of staying close to the bury st Edmunds or Norwich or even just for people who want to do nothing all weekend!
I've also shared to my followers in Instagram, people are loving the photos!
Thanks for having us!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2016
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay and we really appreciate you 'spreading the word'.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
briyo
huddersfield
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Amazing!!”
Reviewed 1 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

My partner booked the Lodge as a birthday weekend treat for me.

From arriving to leaving (sadly) had the most amazing time at the Lodge!

Every detail has been thoroughly thought out, lit walkways from the parking area, the seclusion of the Lodge. The living space is contemporary in style & spacious. The kitchen area is equipped with everything you could need. The bathroom with extra large shower is also roomy, towels a plenty & very hot water! The bedroom is lovely & cosy with the added benefit of having the hot tub right outside on the decking. Then the hot tub,well..........AMAZING!!! We loved it, especially at night with the lights of the tub & the remote controlled lights in the canopy of the Lodge, It looked awesome. We were also pleasantly surprised by our welcome treats, thank you.

We cannot recommend the Lodge highly enough, we enjoyed it so much we are hoping to book again for later in the summer!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything but the tub was definitely the clincher!
Liked least: Having to leave :(
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Feb 2016
We really appreciate you having taken the time to give us such a wonderful review. We look forward to seeing you back and hope you'll enjoy it just as much again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha...
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely perfect for the break we needed!”
Reviewed 2 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Myself and my partner stayed here for a long weekend while visiting family and taking a well deserved break from Warwickshire.. Ian & Debbie provided everything we could have asked for & more.. The personal touches around the lodge made it feel like a home-from-home, as well as the hot-tub being a very appreciated extra bonus. The facilities within the lodge were amazing, especially the shower! Any queries we had were dealt with very quickly, with a friendly approach from the owners.

We decided on our first night we would 100% return for another break in the near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Liked least: We couldn't stay longer!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2015
Thanks for letting us know that you had a good time and we look forward to seeing you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chloe h
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“One word "Perfect"”
Reviewed 7 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Such a lovely get away weekend. Could not have asked for more. We were pleasantly surprised to have fresh milk, biscuits and ice cream provided when we arrived. The open plan living area was a great size.
Ian and Debbie were most accommodating and also posted me an item I left behind and for that I am very thankful.
Wish we could have stayed all year :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: hot tub
Liked least: that their was only one bed. It would be great to come with two couples even if there was a sofa bed as there is so much room
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2015
Many thanks for taking the time to send in your great review, and we're pleased your package arrived safely!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita G
1 review
“A must go and visit again”
Reviewed 23 July 2015 for a stay in March 2015

I had trolled a few various places to try to find the one that would suit. We wanted a place where we could get away from the 'rat race' a while and be just alone. A regular visitor to a campsite with a hot tub I wanted one we wouldn't have to share and I wanted somewhere that would have good local places to ear should we chose it.

I deliberated and considered various but this site ticked all boxes and more and was a must. The place was secluded enough for a sneaky midnight trip to the tub as well as a high fence allowing the sun to shine without the wind. The weather held out and I love the movable blinds in the bedroom to block out the sun either going up or coming down.

We didn't see anyone else the whole weekend, not even someone to book in or out, although a welcome pack had been left which added to the feel of welcoming without intruding. A kind email after to check all went smooth topped off an added treat of a weekend. I will be booking again for sure. Exactly what it said in the book.

Although I would recommend this place for disabled and elderly due to easy access to the building, it would be difficult for these people to use the hot tub facility.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Privacy
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2015
We're delighted your visit lived up to your expectations, and thank-you for taking the time to share your experience with other tripadvisor users. We very much hope you will 'come and visit again'!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing