We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tuesday night surprise”

Maison Bleue Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$33 - US$57
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: ‘There will come a day when our championing of this brilliant French restaurant means we will not be able to book a seat there due to it being so busy! Until that time we will simply state our great admiration for the cuisine, wine and new décor.’ East Anglia Daily Times
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tuesday night surprise”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Visited this restaurant to say good bye to a colleague who is leaving to work in India. What a nice surprise, the food was excellent , service good and attentive.
If your a cheese fan you will love the French
selection never seen so many different cheeses!
Fully recommended even in midweek.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Winteroots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    995
    106
    33
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The very best restaurant in Bury St Edmunds bar none”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

we went for a birthday treat on a Saturday lunchtime which was delightful as always. Lunch at this restaurant is always a pleasant experience but you should book to ensure a table. A professional and experienced staff served us well and the cheeseboard is a must do! Always a pleasure and they always deliver food that you cannot produce at home.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonathanc322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blessington, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great food and wine list”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We were lucky to get a cancellation to this very pleasant restaurant which offers style, quality food and wine list with very pleasant staff. Yes some people have said in their reviews its expensive but you leave having felt you got value, we certainly did.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank siobhan_peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bundanoon, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Rudest proprietors we have ever come across”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Can't say much about the food because we never got to eat any. After having booked, we called back to ask what they would be able to do for the vegetarian in our party. The not very satisfactory response was 'we might be able to do something'. We called close to the time of our booking to say that our hire car was giving us trouble and we would be late. A little later we called back to say we had broken down and wouldn't be able to make it. They yelled at us and said 'Can I tell you something? Never come to Maison Bleue again!! Now we appreciate that cancelled bookings late in the day are annoying and expensive, but there was no excuse for this rudeness and we certainly won't be going there.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
24 Thank Annie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This is the perfect restaurant for a celebration meal. In our case a birthday! The food was amazing and the service excellent. The staff were very knowledgeable about the menu. Did the prawns come in the shell I asked, no they were ready to eat I was told. Order placed and the waiter came back to say the Chef puts the heads back on for decoration was that okay?. Yes it certainly was!. My Partner ordered sea bream and again the waiter came back to say there was an extra ingredient that was not on the menu, truffle oil. Was this okay, again it certainly was!. We have eaten at their Sister Restaurant The Great House in Lavenham, which is also excellent. However we felt that the staff at Maison Bleu were a little more engaging with customers than they are at The Great House. We would happily eat in both restaurants again and highly recommend them for special occasions. Now all we need to do is have a meal at their other restaurant Mariners in Ipswich and we will have completed a hat trick!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank essexmember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maison Bleue Restaurant also viewed

Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk
Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk
 
Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk
Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk
 

Been to Maison Bleue Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing