We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Rural tranquillity and comfort”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Brian I
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Rural tranquillity and comfort”
Reviewed 3 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

A wonderful location in the centre of East Anglia, peaceful, rural yet close enough to Bury St Edmund's and Sudbury to allow urban shopping. The facilities provide by the gracious hosts made our 6 day stay comfortable and provided adequate support for self-catering. The small village of Shimpling, like many others nearby, has a lovely and historic church, and is only a few miles from the tourist attraction of Lavenham.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2017
So pleased you enjoyed your visit - as you say this is a lovely part of the world!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANNR451
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely loved it!”
Reviewed 22 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Only stayed at The Hamptons for a few days,but really enjoyed it.
The annex is spacious and had everything we needed and a beautiful private garden.
The bed is very large and very comfortable,so slept really well.
Peter and Julie are lovely hosts. Suffolk has some lovely villages and great places to eat.All very relaxing.
Hopefully we will return again next year.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2017
So pleased you enjoyed and look forward to maybe seeing you both again in the future - best Peter and julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan H
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed 6 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

A lovely welcome from Peter and Julie and first rate accommodation.Lovely and quiet and well located to see the sights in Suffolk.There is a microwave and hot plate plus a fridge which was more than adequate.
Excellent large bed which is a must for us these days and towels and sheets changed mid week if you wish.Also Peter provided fresh lettuce from his garden .
All in all a great stay and hope to return to a part of England we haven't visited very often.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2017
So pleased you enjoyed hope to see you again best Peter and Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hazel p
Great Bircham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful !”
Reviewed 10 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Lovely accommodation. Welcome basket a lovely touch too !
Enjoyed our breakfast in the conservatory....pity about the weather.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 May 2017
Hopefully the sun will shine if you come back hazel - we usually have a decent amount of sun here in suffolk!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie P
1 review
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 13 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Took my partner away for a night, we both loved the place,had everything you needed, can't think of anything negative to say about the place. Would visit again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Apr 2017
Pleased you enjoyed - hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
1 Apr 2017
Delighted you enjoyed your stay - we hope to welcome you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RCG244
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Shimpling”
Reviewed 27 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Had a lovely stay. The accommodation was wonderful and the small extras such as the breakfast were greatly appreciated. As it was an anniversary stay I made a cheeky request that some flowers were purchased for me (which I later paid for!) and this was happily done- and they threw in a bottle of bubbly too!

I would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking to stay in the area.

Thanks again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Apr 2017
Pleasure - very pleased you enjoyed!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing