We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A night at the Rectory” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lavenham Old Rectory

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lavenham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lavenham Old Rectory
Ranked #8 of 11 Lavenham B&B and Inns
Harwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A night at the Rectory”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

My partner and I have just spent a luxurious night at The Old Rectory in Lavenham. We visited with friends (their third visit) and stayed in the Coach House Suite. Beautiful original building which has been renovated and improved sympathetically but with great imagination and style. Who would think of putting a double sized hip bath in your bedroom! Trust us - it works! Cannot compliment the owners and staff enough. Nothing is too much trouble, no fuss, no false niceties, just genuine concern for your enjoyment. Beautiful gardens and a private walled garden to the suites! We will be returning without ANY doubt and recommend it wholeheartedly to those travellers who appreciate kindness, elegance, style and panache. The Old Rectory is a 'must do.' By the way, we are NOT employed by or are friends of the owners. We are genuine guests who believe in saying it how it is. AA 5 Star, Certificates of excellence? Absolutely not surprised and well deserved.

Room Tip: If you can afford the extra cost The Coach House Suite is to die for! Seriously! But there is no s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malc-1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
68
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

First words WOW,
What can I say, This place is the best place i've ever stayed at and the attenation to detail that Jonathan and Susie have gone to will blow your mind, If it's a Fantastic Mini break Your looking for then this is your place, Need not look no more.
My wife and I stayed in the de vere suite and it was everything we wanted and more, But i reconmended you check out all the suites as this place is the best place you will ever see and the village is Perfect in every way and all on foot, No Car needed, The breakfast are too out of this world, Credit to the chef, I reconmend you view this place asap as my wife and i can not wait to rebook for our second stay 300%, This is the 8th wonder of the world and heaven on earth :-)

Room Tip: De vere is top notch but i reconmend you view them all if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank J0hn9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

Oh my word, we loved it here. The beautiful room & the 1920's ensuite were excellent. The home made short bread in a tin by the kettle was devoured! The bed was huge & comfortable & the food was out of this world. We woke on our first morning to the smell of fresh baking & the taste was even better than the smell. Home made scone, muffins, toast, fruit followed by a full English. I needed the walks to try & get rid of the colories I had eaten. The grounds are also very special although being October, we never actually got to walk in them.
I could not rate this place higher. truly special.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pearcey67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

My husband and I took his parents for a night at the wonderful Old Rectory. Susie is a welcoming host and we later learned was also the inspired designer behind this lovely hotel. Everything was perfect - absolutely squeaky clean, beautifully decorated, excellent food, relaxing atmosphere. It really is one of the best places we've stayed and we will be back! Many thanks to Susie, Jonathan and the team.

Room Tip: Susie has also decorated the rooms in the coach house which are completely different and contemporar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kirstyj4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ickleford, Hitchin
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

Not having had the opportunity to indulge in a true honeymoon experience since our wedding some months ago, a relaxing and blissful weekend at Lavenham Old Rectory with Susie and Jonathan was exactly what the doctor ordered. Despite arriving late in the evening under the cover of darkness, we were immediately exposed to the warmth and luxury of both the accomodation and hospitality. It wasn't until the following morning that we were truely awestruck at the view from our logdings in the Stables suite when the remote controlled blinds revealed the view across the naturally sculptured grounds.
Breakfast was both beautiful and sumptuous, and set against a slow crackling fire - anything we desired from freshly cooked croissants and scones to a traditional English breakfast with fresh farm laid eggs from the chicken coop on the grounds. Keep an eye out for the hidden lounge room entrance!
The view of the church from the Rectory is stunning and Lavenham itself provided hours of exploring and boutique shopping with an outstanding array of restaurants and cafes.
In all, this was a truely exquisite and relaxing weekend, and we couldn't recommend a stay here enough.
Our immense thanks must go to our hosts for the experience amidst such superb hospitality.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

From the moment we drove into the drive of this magnificent Georgian house we were entranced. Set in three acres of garden the house conjures up feelings of grandeur but the hostess, Susie is very welcoming and you are set at ease immediately. She is obviously a people person and she makes sure everything is perfect for her guests. We stayed three nights and climbing into the huge four poster each evening made us feel like royalty. We booked for the "High Tea"and we were the only ones having it so we had full attention and the experience was wonderful. We have had high tea in a number of top hotels, including London's Ritz, but this was second to none at The Old Rectory. We were able to use the garden while we were there and we enjoyed taking photos of the happy hens who supply the breakfast eggs. On our final day Susie gave us directions to our next destination and they were spot on ansd we arrived in Rochester, Kent in good time and without making a wrong turn (unusual for us in the UK). Keep up the great work Susie and we wish you well at The Old Rectory.
Patricia and Peter Draper

Room Tip: This is not the cheapest B@B but it is definitely one of the best we have ever stayed in and it woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Church Crookham, Hampshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

This is the best B&B i have ever stayed in! Its in a stunning location and the rooms and service are outstanding. Its the perfect getaway!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Poppyclarke26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lavenham
0.1 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
3.4 mi away
Black Lion Hotel
Black Lion Hotel
#1 of 3 in Long Melford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Old Rectory Country House
The Old Rectory Country House
#1 of 1 in Great Waldingfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lavenham Great House Hotel & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Lavenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
3.7 mi away
Melford House at The Long Melford Swan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lavenham Old Rectory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavenham Old Rectory

Property: Lavenham Old Rectory
Address: Church Street, Lavenham, Babergh District CO10 9SA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Lavenham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Lavenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Lavenham Old Rectory Hotel Lavenham
Lavenham Old Rectory Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing