We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay at Lavenham Old Rectory”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lavenham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lavenham Old Rectory
Ranked #6 of 8 Lavenham B&B and Inns
Rutim
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Lovely stay at Lavenham Old Rectory”
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We stayed two nights in the Gainsborough Room. It's a beautiful suite fitted to the highest standards and extremely spacious and comfortable. It made a lovely bolt hole from the cold, damp weather. Triple aspect windows gave the room an airy, open feel. The guest lounge where breakfast was also served was warm and comfortable and we were made to feel most welcome to use it. Nice to come back to of an evening after supper in Lavenham.

The hosts were charming, friendly, knowledgeable and attentive throughout. Breakfast was extensive and everything was fresh and delicious.

Can't recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rutim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
68
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

My family and I checked into the Lavenham Old Rectory on the eve of my wedding and were warmly welcomed by the owner Susie despite being quite a bit later than anticipated! Susie took superb care of us, showing us to our rooms (Gainsborough and De Vere rooms) and ensuring we always had everything we needed.
The Saturday morning Susie had organised for her chef to come in and prepare us an early breakfast to allow us to begin our preparations for the wedding promptly. The different services who arrived for us (hair, make up, photographer, cars, etc) were all welcomed warmly and shown to my room upstairs promptly and efficiently. The morning ran extremely smoothly and Susie did her best to ensure we were all OK.
After the evening, my new husband and I were due to return to the Lavenham Old Rectory to stay in one of the new coach house suites. On our arrival our room had been beautifully and tastefully decorated and arranged. It was well stocked with complementary water, robes and slippers and the honesty mini bar was well stocked at very reasonable prices. Housekeeping had collected my belongings from my room that morning and delivered them to our new suite.
On leaving the Old Rectory for some lunch the following day, we returned to find our wedding balloons and ribbons that we had brought with us had been affectionately adorned across our bed by housekeeping! The chef had also arranged an afternoon tea to be left in our room for us to enjoy at leisure!
Breakfast at the Lavenham Old Rectory is wonderful, my husband says it is the best breakfast he has ever had! A huge range of cold buffet items, freshly cooked food, coffees, teas and juices are available.
Overall we had a truly wonderful stay and the service we received at the Lavenham Old Rectory added to the experience. We are very grateful for everything Susie did for us and would definitely return to the Old Rectory.

Room Tip: The Gainsborough Room is the largest in the house. Both suites are impeccable, the stable suite has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lukin128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peak District National Park, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We stayed 2 nights in the Constable Room. It has a 4 poster bed, is very comfortable and extremely quiet. The Gardens are wonderful and the views of the church are amazing. The breakfast was fantastic and the staff were very attentive. If we ever go back to Lavenham I would choose to stay here rather than anywhere else. Susie is a wonderful host and even arranged for me to have my breakfast early as my daughter was getting married and so I needed an early start to the day.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paddywack-8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suffolk
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We stayed for two nights in the the coach house suite for our wedding. Fantastic suite, very romantic.
Breakfast was wonderful, attention to detail fantastic. The young waitress was very attentive, polite and helpful, wish every hotel had staff like this, A*
We felt like old friends and would recommend this hotel to anyone.
The suite was luxurious, spacious and the garden beautiful.
Can't wait to see my wedding photos, we really had a wonderful stay.
Thank you .

Room Tip: Suites were amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ottey_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blakeney, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We enjoyed a two day break here and had a marvellous time. Bed was super comfy (stayed in Thomas Gainsborough) elegant decor, fabulous breakfast including hot blueberry muffins fresh from the oven! Stunning garden, excellent hosts. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank princesslexi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We have spent a week at the Old Rectory following our first visit last year. It is even better now, and we staying in one of the superb suites in the stable block. It is very spacious and luxuriously appointed, easily matching the best five star hotels. We don't often stay at B&Bs but this is exceptional and we would specially recommend to anyone who would normally stay at a hotel. Try one of the suites for lots of space and privacy. Susie and Jonathan are the perfect hosts and will ensure you are completely happy.

Room Tip: Spoil yourself and stay in one of the suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirstyj4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

My partner and I have just spent a luxurious night at The Old Rectory in Lavenham. We visited with friends (their third visit) and stayed in the Coach House Suite. Beautiful original building which has been renovated and improved sympathetically but with great imagination and style. Who would think of putting a double sized hip bath in your bedroom! Trust us - it works! Cannot compliment the owners and staff enough. Nothing is too much trouble, no fuss, no false niceties, just genuine concern for your enjoyment. Beautiful gardens and a private walled garden to the suites! We will be returning without ANY doubt and recommend it wholeheartedly to those travellers who appreciate kindness, elegance, style and panache. The Old Rectory is a 'must do.' By the way, we are NOT employed by or are friends of the owners. We are genuine guests who believe in saying it how it is. AA 5 Star, Certificates of excellence? Absolutely not surprised and well deserved.

Room Tip: If you can afford the extra cost The Coach House Suite is to die for! Seriously! But there is no s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malc-1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lavenham
0.2 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
5.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,108 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#2 of 3 in Long Melford
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Black Lion Hotel
Black Lion Hotel
#1 of 3 in Long Melford
438 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Bull
The Bull
#3 of 3 in Long Melford
508 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Old Rectory Country House
The Old Rectory Country House
#1 of 1 in Great Waldingfield
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lavenham Old Rectory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavenham Old Rectory

Property: Lavenham Old Rectory
Address: Church Street, Lavenham, Babergh District CO10 9SA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Lavenham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Lavenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Lavenham Old Rectory Hotel Lavenham
Lavenham Old Rectory Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing