We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Week at Wool Cottage”
Review of Blaize Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lavenham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blaize Cottages
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Lavenham is a wonderful place to spend time in Suffolk, the village itself and plenty to see around about too. Wool Cottage is beautifully presented and thoughtfully fitted out. We needed a refuge after a tour and it fitted the bill perfectly. Car parking off the road, good restaurants within walking distance, particularly The Great House and The Swan Inn as well as a kitchen complete with a dishwasher, heaven. Our only warning might be for people who do not cope with stairs well, then perhaps the Blaize barn would be best.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2012

Thank you so much to Carol and Jim for our wonderful long weekend away in Lavenham. Wool cottage is simply beautiful, it is a cosy cottage, but with plenty of room for a little one. Our 20 month old son loved running around and hiding in all the nooks and crannies of the cottage and splashing around in the beautiful free standing bath. It was great that a high chair was provided as well, to save on packing.

I would definitely recommend this cottages for couples on a romantic break and familes alike as everything is provided for you and there is so much to do in the local area.

Thanks so much, we will be back soon!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charltk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

This was an excellent accommodation. Superb facilities and layout with thoughtful and considerate welcome including bread, milk, butter, eggs, marmalade, juice, yoghurt etc. Very convenient and safe off road parking. Clean, tidy and modern facilities in a traditional and very comfortable cottage style atmosphere. Highly recommended for a really comfortable and relaxing stay. At last, a cottage that lived up to promises and expectations.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

This was our second time at Wool Cottage - as ever we found it beautifully presented and extremely comfortable. The cottage is very old and atmospheric - we particularly enjoyed reading about the gory demise of Bishop Blaize!

As well as having many beautiful and interesting buildings to admire, Lavenham is a perfect base for exploring West Suffolk and beyond by cycling - and there is room for the bike in the garden shed.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Our second stay at thes verry good cottages, this time at Blaize Cottage. The standard of the accomodation is very good, and Carol and Jim are attentive but unobtrusive, excellent hosts.
Losts to do around this area, but the cottage provides all you need for a quite relaxing break.

Highly recommended. We will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terence H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We have just returned from a very enjoyable short break in the lovely Wool Cottage which offers first rate accommodation with some great touches. Wholeheartedly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BNR1256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

This one bedroom cottage is next to Blaize and owned by the same people.
Just right for a couple, well planned with top quality fittings and nice touches.
Huge bedroom. Tiny courtyard garden but it does get some some sun around lunch and is fine for eating in.
Cottage is Very handy for the village. It is the first photo opportunity as visitors walk down from the car park and we were often on camera as we walked out the front door! This gives an idea of how spectacular the cottage looks.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Regdor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lavenham
0.1 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
0.2 mi away
Lavenham Great House Hotel & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 8 in Lavenham
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Old Rectory Country House
The Old Rectory Country House
#1 of 1 in Great Waldingfield
133 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Blaize Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blaize Cottages

Address: Church St, Babergh District CO10 9QT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Lavenham
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Lavenham
Price Range: £80 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Blaize Cottages 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 5 star self catering cottages in the heart of Lavenham and tourism award winners in every year since 2002. Log fires, Sky TV, king sized beds, double bath tubs, private gardens & parking. All 3 cottages are listed buildings with oak beams. Within 200 metres of excellent pubs, restaurants and village shops. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blaize Cottages Lavenham, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing