We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More Than Average”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Memsaab

Memsaab
Ranked #10 of 19 Restaurants in Lavenham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“More Than Average”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We ate here twice whilst staying in Lavenham. We were initially a bit dubious due to some of the reviews but this is a very good Indian restaurant hence eating here twice.

We had attentive service both nights and found the waiters smart and friendly.

We asked for the staff recommendations and they were spot on... Bagari Gosth & Xacuti Lamb. The portion size was generous.

The restaurant itself has a nice atmosphere and I crowded feel.

One if the best Indian meals we've eaten...

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank The_Busters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    70
    27
    16
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
chester
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Enjoyable Curry, portions quite large first time I had whole chicken breast in a curry! Staff friendly and courteous.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank PeartreeChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good Indian Food in a Pleasant Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We went in on the off chance. The staff were very attentive and helpful. We each ordered a starter, main course, a vegetable dish and shared the rice. It was very good but we just couldn't finish it all. Next time we will miss lunch before we go again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jenroswiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“great selection of regional variations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We were staying locally and booked a table early evening for later. Staff were helpful and attentive and having visited many Indian restaurants around the UK I am always amazed by the regional variations that individual chefs can offer. Memsaab did not disappoint in this respect and the quality of ingredients was very good. There was the usual selection of "Indian" beers and this was supplimented by a short but good selection of wines.

Entertainment was provided by the couple at the next table complaining about the cost of a bottle of water, A situation the staff dealt with quickly and appropriately.

If in the area again we shall certainly return to try some of the other dishes that were on the menu.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank W-Sussex_Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food ok - Staff very rude”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

I had high hopes for this place. Sadly, the staff let it down.

Food was pretty good, but not amazing. We had to ask for water with our meal, and found out we were charge £3.50 for it at the end. The waiter was literally grabbing the menu off me as i gave him our order, he looked pretty miserable - just weird and rude really..

Go to Navaa in Sudbury or Cafe Masala in Melford for a MUCH better meal.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jamesbond72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Memsaab also viewed

Lavenham, Babergh District
 
Lavenham, Babergh District
Lavenham, Babergh District
 

Been to Memsaab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing