We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dinner with friends” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brasserie at the Swan Hotel Lavenham

Brasserie at the Swan Hotel Lavenham
Ranked #11 of 19 Restaurants in Lavenham
Price range: US$32 - US$50
Cuisines: Bar, European, British, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Transit: Nearest train station is Sudbury. Bus route between Sudbury and Bury St Edmunds stops outside the hotel.
Description: The Swan has an outstanding reputation for fine food and wine, it prides itself in serving the very best of modern British cuisine. We offer a variety of different dining options; from the informal Brasserie and historic Old Bar to al fresco dining in the garden, or fine dining in the elegant AA two Rosette Gallery Restaurant, the choice is yours. The Swan's menus are made using fresh, locally sourced seasonal ingredients and their popularity needs no further endorsement than the impeccable feedback received throughout the year.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
232 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Dinner with friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Returning hungry from The 2014 Suffolk Show with friends we spent a very agreeable evening dining here and relaxing in their lounge. The food, wine and real ales were all very good as was the atmosphere in the hotel in general.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Brasserie at the Swan Hotel Lavenham, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you very much for this kind review. I am pleased you enjoyed your food experience and found the atmosphere to be relaxing. Welcome back soon.

Kind regards



Ingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    67
    38
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge UK
Level Contributor
339 reviews
243 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Lovely ambience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

The Swan Hotel is a very attractive Olde Worlde building with a charming atmosphere. And that is largely what you are paying for. I called in for a lunch with three friends. Service very slow to begin with. It took 20 minutes to attract anyone's attention as nobody was at the bar except for brief periods when they were too busy pouring drinks and taking them on a tray to another part of the hotel. Having said that, there was a very reasonable choice on the menu, probably something for everyone. After we had managed to order drinks and main course, the service did speed up and the food was tasty and nicely presented. We also went on to have desserts which were very good. Yes I probably would call-in again when next visiting the area, but this time round it was OK but little better than "average".

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidBCambridgeUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Brasserie at the Swan Hotel Lavenham, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent dining experience at the Swan at Lavenham. I am disappointed to read that you had to wait to be served and that your food was little better than "average". Please feel free to contact me directly at manager@theswanatlavenham.co.uk to discuss your experience.
I do hope that you will allow us the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards


Ingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
72 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Magnificent historic hotel great service and great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

We visited the Swan at Lavenham looking forward to a relaxing and reviving weekend and for once we were not disappointed! The Swan. Is a great experience and exceeded our expectations.

Superb understated quality and the food in the brasserie was just superb. I will recommend it every time!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bugsymaloneLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Swan charms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Not been to the Swan for some years, but its olde worlde charm still works. Food was all excellent. Had the beer battered fish and chips, the latter comes in a pretend wire frying basket. We finished the meal with a port in the lounge.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Snoz2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Visited The Swan with relatives up from Wales.

A great restaurant in such a historic building and town.

The meal was truly fantastic - must haves include the Mussels and frites, the Scotch Egg starter and my wifes cousin said it was the best beer battered fish he had ever had

Strongly recommend

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rushyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brasserie at the Swan Hotel Lavenham also viewed

 
Lavenham, Babergh District
 

Been to Brasserie at the Swan Hotel Lavenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing