We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Left feeling let down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lavenham Great House Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 8 Lavenham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

The menu and recommendations for this restaurant were excellent.

The quality of the food really excellent however the portion sizes were minute and a massive let down!

Just because it is a French restaurant is no excuse for miserly portions! In addition I ordered the turbot which when it arrived was clearly not turbot! I know my fish and I was not served what I ordered!

The disappointment was compounded by quite frankly offhand and poor service.

If you like superb food and extremely small portions then this is the restaurant for you.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bugsymaloneLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCrepy, Owner at Lavenham Great House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear bugsymaloneLondon,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on this forum.

It is unfortunate that you have decided to state some opinions as facts. We do not accept such groundless criticisms. When we say it is turbot - it is Turbot!

We take great pride in preparing and serving all our food in condition of the very highest standards. We believe this is one of the many reasons why we have become the pre-eminent restaurant in East Anglia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (412)
There are newer reviews for Lavenham Great House Hotel & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 412 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2014

Welcoming staff, superb food - everything was delicious - hope to go again soon (very soon!). My husband and I enjoyed every one of our three courses. Only one very minor gripe - as it is a French restaurant we missed the Chef`s surprise (amuse-bouche) at the start of the meal!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank 19Baxendale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

stayed here for a Saturday night three weeks ago fantastic rooms and the best meal I have had in England with great service from Julian who was amazing no wonder is won the awards that he has.
The village and the setting was another plus point, over looking the courtyard to the front and walking around the medieval house's its really a place you must go in England.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayD1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I took my partner to the Great House for a belated birthday meal. We eat there a few times a year usually for Saturday lunch. It is by far and away our favourite restaurant and never disappoints!
The food is always fantastically presented and at under £24 for three wonderful courses is very good value. It must be said that once wine and the exceptional cheeseboard is added the bill is considerably more but well worth it!
I have noticed a few reviews recently commenting on poor service. We have never ever witnessed this but maybe this is more of an evening thing for some reason?? All the staff are French which adds to the experience no end but maybe there may be a hint of Gallic waiter ' charm' ! We do have the perception that each time we go there are more tables and they seem to be closer together so maybe this could be an issue.
The only other minor point is that most the dishes seemed to come with a standard bowl of veggies that seemed suited to some dishes but not others.
We will definitely be back! The cheese is by far the best I have had outside France and is worth going for on its own! We are already planning an overnight stay with dinner in the near future!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Ian-Colchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Booked for 65th birthday after several recommendations. The venue, location and food are all excellent. Unfortunately, this was spoilt by bad service. Generally surley staff, had to ask 3 different people to hang coat, asked several times for a wine list before it came, very hard to get anybody's attention to ask for a port with cheese and liqueurs. We booked an 8.30pm table and it was clear we outstayed our welcome when we had to wait for our taxi to collect us. When a dinner guest (who is a little hard of hearing) didn't respond to 'sir' the waiter waved his hand in front of his face to get his attention and the amazing cheese trolley was spoiled when there were no explanations or recommendations just disdainful responses to requests. It luckily didn't spoil our evening, but it certainly didn't reflect the standard of food, or the cost of the evening.

Stayed: April 2014
3  Thank GillyGrimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed a superb meal with attentive service in a relaxed environment. Booking ahead necessary. Sublime flavours with such attention to detail. An excellent restaurant in such a pretty small town. So wished to have chosen to stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank fandraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Lovely venue great food at very reasonable prices. Try the wine from the local vine yards and check out the brandy menu. The room was clean and specious, and very quite and full of old features "beams etc." curtains a bit dated and could do with a freshen up, and the mini bar a bit pricy, but there was a complementary carafe of sherry, which was nice.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lavenham
0.1 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
16.0 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
10.0 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
1,024 reviews
18.0 mi away
Tuddenham Mill
Tuddenham Mill
#1 of 1 in Tuddenham
720 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lavenham Great House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavenham Great House Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Market Place, Babergh District CO10 9QZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Lavenham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Lavenham
Price Range: £96 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lavenham Great House Hotel & Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Great House Hotel and Restaurant in Lavenham is located in the heart of Suffolk, offering unmatched service and luxurious accommodation. The hotel has recently undergone a complete re-fit which has raised the bar to an even higher level. It is an unparalleled experience of exquisite French style and flair, perfectly matched to the heart of English village life offering the best in style and comfort with character and warmth. AA 5 Star Restaurant with Rooms - Inspector's choice. AA 3 rosette Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Lavenham Great House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lavenham Great House Hotel And Restaurant
Lavenham Great House Hotel & Restaurant Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing