We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant with rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Great House Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 8 Lavenham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2014

There's much to like about the Great House. For a start, it only has five rooms, so it has the feel of a boutique hotel rather than some corporate establishment. However, it's a moot point whether it's really a hotel, as there's no lounge or bar for the guests and reception is actually in the middle of the dining room. The AA sign to the left of the main door indicated 'Restaurant with rooms' and that's a more accurate description. The Tudor Room we stayed in is charming and quirky as befits the age of the building. A downside is that the bedroom and sitting room overlook the open air part of the dining room and the smoking area used by kitchen staff, so there were times when it got a bit noisy. The dinner we had one night was excellent, although portion sizes were on the small size. The food is classically French but without the heavy touch one often finds in France itself. The continental breakfast was included in the room rate and it was perfectly adequate, although i have an aversion to one-portion boxes of cereal and Alpen in particular.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DELondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 434 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014

Whenever I visit Suffolk for a few days, I am bitterly disappointed if we do not eat at The Great House. I just love this restaurant! the food is always a delight, the staff are charming and everything is done with great style and charm. It is one of those 'feel good places' and I have always left feeling life is worth living! I have yet to stay but would very much like to, one day. A delightful place to visit again and again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Now Lavenham is a great weekend escape for the busy professional - the stress slides away and a stay at the great house provides a perfect hub for that weekend - elegantly understated scrupulously clean -efficient discrete service and great rooms with quirky decor- and then there is the food we suggest you go explore the area car - foot - whatever is your thing then return have drinks shower change and then go to dinner -dreamy food - well priced wine- excellent service - what more could you want - other than staying sunday night and not working monday!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Will E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Our third visit. Stayed in the Tudor Room this time, wonderful comfortable room oozing with charm. Food was excellent again, service friendly, informative and unobtrusive. It's simply a great place to stay, unwind and relax. Will be back.

Room Tip: They are all excellent !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Sunday lunch yesterday. The quality of food and service is as high as ever. Not hurried but never neglected, it is difficult to speak highly enough about this place. Thank you to everyone concerned for a delightful occasion.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrazzaSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Whenever we are in the area, we make a point of going to the Great House for dinner. From the courteous welcome you receive at the door, to the stylish dining room, the knowledgeable waiting staff and their obvious passion for food and wine, it is, without a doubt, one of Suffolk's best dining establishments. Its a delight to spend a few hours perusing the fabulous menu, eating the delicious meal you have chosen and enjoying the genteel ambience. We would move in if we could ! I cannot say a single negative thing about The Great House because its a very positive dining experience. We have only recently discovered there are two more restaurants locally, owned by the same people. Very much looking forward to discovering these delights too. Well done, can't wait until our next time.

Room Tip: We did not stay overnight so the room rating, for us, is not applicable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

The menu and recommendations for this restaurant were excellent.

The quality of the food really excellent however the portion sizes were minute and a massive let down!

Just because it is a French restaurant is no excuse for miserly portions! In addition I ordered the turbot which when it arrived was clearly not turbot! I know my fish and I was not served what I ordered!

The disappointment was compounded by quite frankly offhand and poor service.

If you like superb food and extremely small portions then this is the restaurant for you.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bugsymaloneLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCrepy, Owner at The Great House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear bugsymaloneLondon,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on this forum.

It is unfortunate that you have decided to state some opinions as facts. We do not accept such groundless criticisms. When we say it is turbot - it is Turbot!

We take great pride in preparing and serving all our food in condition of the very highest standards. We believe this is one of the many reasons why we have become the pre-eminent restaurant in East Anglia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lavenham
0.1 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
3.9 mi away
The Bull
The Bull
#1 of 3 in Long Melford
549 reviews
10 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town...
#1 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
529 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,203 reviews
3.6 mi away
Black Lion Hotel
Black Lion Hotel
#2 of 3 in Long Melford
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Great House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great House Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Market Place, Babergh District CO10 9QZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Lavenham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Lavenham
Price Range: £95 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Great House Hotel & Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Great House Hotel and Restaurant in Lavenham is located in the heart of Suffolk, offering unmatched service and luxurious accommodation. The hotel has recently undergone a complete re-fit which has raised the bar to an even higher level. It is an unparalleled experience of exquisite French style and flair, perfectly matched to the heart of English village life offering the best in style and comfort with character and warmth. AA 5 Star Restaurant with Rooms - Inspector's choice. AA 3 rosette Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Great House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lavenham Great House Hotel And Restaurant
The Great House Hotel & Restaurant Lavenham, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing