We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chic hotel, lovely location.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lavenham Great House Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lavenham Great House Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 11 Lavenham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
suffolk
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Chic hotel, lovely location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed in the Attic Room - small room but with lots of personality - stylish furnishings and well designed bathroom in the rafters! Attic room is best for one person - although fun for two - but only for one night! Helpful and friendly staff. Continental breakfast: plenty of choice although the fruit salad looked a little jaded! Fresh strawberries and French cheeses and hams made up for this!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank time2getserious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    49
    14
    7
    4
See reviews for
36
255
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed here for three nights. All of the staff were very friendly and made us feel very welcome. The room was fantastic, very clean and neat. We didn't get a chance to eat at the restaurant, but that just gives us something to look forward to the next time.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank havingfun512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesham
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

You will not find better food, wine or service anywhere in the world. The staff are all French and totally professional; they will help you with luggage, show you to your room and the same staff will wait on you at dinner and breakfast, if you're staying here. If not you can just book a meal as many do. This is a restaurant with rooms rather than a traditional hotel so don't expect a bar or lounge area. The rooms are all upstairs and access is through a small area between the two dining rooms and past the small waiter-only bar. The Great House could be described as 'bijou' but has character and charm with oak beams in all areas and traditional wood floors. We had the top floor room 4 in the attic and was very spacious for the two of us. Mini-bar, coffee-maker and kettle for tea, complementary fruit, sherry-in-decanter and the use of bath robes and slippers all made for a very comfortable welcome and stay for two nights. Plenty of wardrobe space and a large sofa and cushions with flat screen TV made the room equal to the best of good quality hotel. Oh and did I mention the food; just the best fillet steak, pork and lamb we've ever eaten. If you're looking for cheap, go elsewhere; if you're after top quality and excellent service, book now.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davowolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Just had a great stay in Lavenham. This room is small but as one of is short (me!!) the sloping ceiling over one side of the very comfortable bed posed no problem. The wonderful touches in the room were very welcome. Never before have we had complimentary sherry decanter in an hotal room. The bathroom is perfect for a long relaxing bath after having spent the day exploring the area. Make sure a table is booked in thr restaurant -lovely french cooking. Round off a good day by having a quiet and light pollution free nights sleep.

Room Tip: Do not chose room 5 if you are very big. Slopjng ceilibg an not much vlearance wround the bottom of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

What do I mean by that? For the price paid, which not cheap, but who wants cheap, I expected a superb room with full facilities, good food, good wine, good service. Did I get them, of course I did. I would recommend Lavenham and in particular the Great House to anyone.

Room Tip: Just ask for room number 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoffrey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We spent 2 nights here. having dined at The Great House quite a lot before we moved away from the area. Our room was very comfortable, the staff very friendly and the food is out of this world. A great experience.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We had a great stay for my wife's 60th birthday, but it wasn't cheap. One night with dinner and breakfast for the two of us was over £400. Ok - so that's the price you pay for a fantastic meal and a great room. Except the meal wasn't fantastic - it was good, but not great. The house champagne was very slurpable, worth the £45 it cost. The wine (Vacqueyras Domaine de Vervine) was OK but rather tannic. The waiter didn't seem to know the wines ('they are all good - you could have this one ... that one ...'). Starters were excellent. Steak was melt in your mouth tender, but the pepper sauce was far too hot and detracted from the delicacy of the steak. The cheese board was outstanding. I complained about the size of the Armagnac - the waiter assured me it was a proper measure but graciously added a bit more. The service was good - we were given the best table and the waiter even put a candle on my wife's dessert. But there were little things that irritated ... for example, when I am paying over £400 - why do you then bang on an extra charge of £3.50 for the small bowl of vegetables which I hadn't even ordered? The room was amazing, but incredibly hot and so I had a quite uncomfortable night. The continental breakfast was adequate but I opted for the full English. Good sausages, great bacon, tired eggs, weak coffee. Yes, its a great hotel - yes, we have enjoyed going there more than once .. but will we be back? Probably not, I simply left feeling that I had paid a chateau price for a hotel standard. And there are many really good hotels in this part of the world.

Room Tip: The loft room is really good - up a flight of stairs but worth it. But it does get very hot in summe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clive M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lavenham
0.1 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
16.0 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
18.0 mi away
Tuddenham Mill
Tuddenham Mill
#1 of 1 in Tuddenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
20.9 mi away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#3 of 4 in Woodbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
10.9 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lavenham Great House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavenham Great House Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Lavenham Great House Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Market Place, Lavenham, Babergh District CO10 9QZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Lavenham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Lavenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lavenham Great House Hotel & Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Great House Hotel and Restaurant in Lavenham is located in the heart of Suffolk, offering unmatched service and luxurious accommodation. The hotel has recently undergone a complete re-fit which has raised the bar to an even higher level. It is an unparalleled experience of exquisite French style and flair, perfectly matched to the heart of English village life offering the best in style and comfort with character and warmth. AA 5 Star Restaurant with Rooms - Inspector's choice. AA 3 rosette Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lavenham Great House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lavenham Great House Hotel And Restaurant
Lavenham Great House Hotel & Restaurant Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing