We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What A Treat!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lavenham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Thanks to all the staff at the Swan for a truly memorable stay. We stayed for one night – a Ruby Wedding Anniversary Gift. What a lovely hotel. We found the staff friendly and helpful with nothing too much trouble. Our room, a junior suit, was beautifully decorated, furnished to a high standard and spotlessly clean, making for a relaxing stay. The separate bedroom with soft, super king bed ensured a good nights sleep.

We enjoyed pre-dinner drinks in the fascinating Airmen’s Bar and were served the most delicious canapés whilst our orders were taken. Our three course dinner - from the house menu - was well presented and tasty, complemented by a first rate wine at a very reasonable price. Leaving the restaurant feeling more than satisfied, we enjoyed a twilight walk around the peaceful medieval streets of Lavenham, what a remarkable place.

We only just had room for the “Swan Breakfast”, served in the Gallery Restaurant by attentive staff, our hot strong coffee; juice served in dainty carafes, homemade bread and flavoursome bacon eggs set us up for the day. We didn’t have time to relax in the welcoming public areas of the hotel but imagined ourselves reading the papers and enjoying morning coffee in one of the cosy lounges, or (weather permitting) the sheltered garden.

We would very much like to return to the Swan in the near future and would recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing break in an historic place. In an increasingly busy world if you are seeking truly good old fashioned, professional service and an unhurried atmosphere, this is the place to be.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,008 - 1,014 of 1,251 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2012

First wedding anniversary - dinner, bed and breakfast. Outstanding service, delicious food, beautiful room. What more could you ask for? We stayed in the Clopton Green room which was light, airy and stunningly decorated. The added personal touch was an anniversary card on our bed. The waiting staff at dinner were professional, attentive but not overbearing - a difficult mix to get right.

We want to thank all the staff at The Swan for their efforts.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foodfan74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Lavenham really is a lovely village - the crooked timber framed buildings look like something from a film set - and The Swan is a really good example of this architecture. We easily found the hotel and managed find a space in the small car park. The restaurants and various lounges and the bar were all busy (Bank Holiday Sunday). Reception was helpful and let us book in early. A porter helped us with our luggage to our room. With long corridors and lots of beams to duck under, it was an experience even getting to our room. The hotel dates from the 15th century, and we could certainly see this in our "feature" room. Normally I am a bit of a minimalist, modern hotel type of person, but this was so authentic with wobbly beams, four tiny windows, and a high pitched roof lit with spot lights. Some of the furnishings looked just slightly tired, but the room was a generous size with good lighting, two comfy chairs and a large bed which more than made up for this. Revived by a hot drink in our room we went for a walk around Lavenham. On the way, passing back through the hotel, many customers were enjoying cream teas which looked amazing, with merignues in the shape of a swan! Sensibly, we decided to save our appetite for dinner.

Before dining in the galleried restaurant we made our menu choices in the lounge. Drinks and tasty canapes were brought to us while we read the menu. I had difficulty choosing as most dishes had something in them I didnt like - smoked tuna, squid, pidgeon - or accompaniments that I wouldn't choose. This is just personal though, and in the end I decided on mushroom soup, which was lovely, and duck which was very tender and tasty, a touch more sauce would have been nice. My husband enjoyed his dishes too, although he didn't like the gnocchi that was served with his fish, but again I think that was a personal thing and nothing wrong with the gnocchi itself. My dessert was light and refreshing (lemon posset with orange sorbet). Service was polite and attentive, but slightly sterile with no frendly chat or unnecessary interaction (some would prefer this). As the dishes we chose were all from the house menu, the meal was certainly very good value.

It was a cold and dismal Bank Holiday weekend, and it would have been nice if one of the several fires had been lit, just to add a cosy ambience. Even so, our own room was plenty warm enough and after all that food we slept like logs, I think the bed was two singles joined together, so it was large and comfy. I needed ear plugs as there was some occasional noise from outside, and a quiet hum, from the heating I think, but then, I am sensitive to noise. Our room had three outside walls and we didn't hear a sound from other guests. I thought the room might seem spooky, with all the shadows and old beams, but actually it had a nice atmosphere.

I had about 10 hours sleep!!! And nearly missed breakfast, which would have been a shame as it was pretty faultless. All served at our table, from juice to cereals and a perfectly cooked full Suffolk breakfast. One tiny complaint; I asked for toast with my cooked food, but we had finished eating it before the toast arrived.
Check out was straightforward and all in all we had a lovely relaxing stay which we would not hesitate in repeating.

Room Tip: If you like beams choose a feature room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank herewardtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Went for afternoon tea, a present from a friend. It was such a nice hotel, the staff are great, friendly and professional. The food was so tasteful, you can tell the chef takes the time and care to produce the cakes and scones. If you are passing by Lavenham, a visit to The Swan is a must!!! We had The Swan traditional afternoon tea, there was too much for two people!!! So great value as well. Will be back and hopefully will stay next time. Special thanks to Kylie (sorry if I got it wrong!) She was excellent! !

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ipswich21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We loved our stay here for our first anniversary. Staff were welcoming and they thought of everything. We will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwi099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

This was our first visit to the Swan in Lavenham, though second visit to the village itself. As a competition win, which coincided with my husband's 40th birthday, we had a realy fabulous time. We were given a junior suite, which was so comfortable and immaculately clean. The evening meal and full English breakfast was to a high standard and absolutely delicious, and I was pleased to see that they stock an excellent local wine. Staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble, they even left a card for my husband. I would definately recommend staying here.

Room Tip: All rooms here are different, so you might want to check which room you're given.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SassieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed at The Swan from 4-6 April to celebrate my husband's 'big' birthday. A friend had already sent a birthday card to the hotel to be opened on the day, so they knew it was his birthday, and they later put a card on the bed when we returned after dinner. Because there was an 'offer' at the hotel the week before, there were hardly any guests when we were there, so there was not much of an atmosphere generally with no one else in the bar on the first night. The food was good, although you had to pay an supplement if you wanted the a La Carte menu, which I thought was a bit much, considering the room was already £250 a night. The staff were generally friendly, and the waitress who took our order for breakfast was very helpful, and printed local maps for us after asking what we had planned for the day.
While we were at dinner the first evening, the 'turn down service' came into play where the beds were turned down, the towels folded again and the waste bin emptied. We thought this was unneccessary.The following evening at 6.45 someone knocked at our door asking if they could turn down the bed again, so we said we didn't. We couldn't answer the door to them as we were getting dressed and thought dressing gowns would be provided(as they are in most hotels nowadays) but at The Swan, you only get them if you book one of the superior rooms, otherwise you pay an extra £5 each. I thought this was very bad as even B & B's provide them.
Overall we had a good time, although we thought it was overpriced. Maybe I was being a little optimistic, but when a hotel is almost empty, guests could be upgraded to a better room or even a bottle of wine wouldn't go amiss for someone's birthday.
The village was very nice, although smaller that we expected, and some of the shops were closed as they only open for part of the day. We visited Bury St Edmunds which was interesting and the surrounding villages were very picturesque, but we are not sure if we would return.

Room Tip: We asked for a room at the back of the hotel overlooking the gardens as we had been warned that it c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sally_mayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lavenham
16.0 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
10.9 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
1,046 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
1,233 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Bull
The Bull
#1 of 3 in Long Melford
542 reviews
19.0 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham

Address: High Street, Babergh District CO10 9QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Lavenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lavenham
Price Range: £115 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in the Suffolk countryside, between Bury St. Edmunds and Sudbury, is The Swan Hotel & Spa in Lavenham, perhaps one of England's most iconic hotels. The Swan dates back to the 15th century when it played a key role in Lavenham's wool trade. Today it is a quintessential English country hotel and restaurant, proud of its achievement of AA 4 Red star, two AA Rosettes & Visit England Large Hotel of the Year 2013. Ancient oak beams and inglenook fireplaces blend beautifully with rich furnishings and fabrics to create the perfect ambiance for rest and relaxation. The historic old bar boasts a wonderful collection of memorabilia, including a wall signed by British and American airmen stationed at Lavenham Airfield during World War II. The Swan is a wonderful place in which to celebrate a variety of special occasions, including romantic weddings, christenings and family get-togethers. It is also a unique venue for seminars, meetings and conferences, where 15th century inspiration combines with 21st century innovation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lavenham Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing