We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Where to eat?” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lavenham
Certificate of Excellence
Lavenham
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Where to eat?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

I must be honest; i have been going to the Swan at Lavenham since 1968. I shall pretend to you that I was a babe in arms - OK I wasn't, I was an early teenager! Under Trust House Forte is was great. later under McDonald Hotels (enough said, my early ancestry is Scots but, oh Dear!) Now it is superb. Ingo and John and their team really care and if something should be wrong do say and it will be quietly cured as after all we are all human. Anyway, I am distracted, the food; yes the food is really good . There are two restaurants, and there is something for everyone and the budget is affordable - sorry, what a silly phrase, what is a affordable to a multi billionaire and what is affordable to a person on benefits is different. What I mean is that at the Swan you are guaranteed a good welcome and it is the same if you have a Lamborghini in the car park or you came by bus. The food is great; enjoy. The welcome is special and best of all, it is sincere and you aren't bothered if you don't want to be. I love Lavenham

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the Main road and instead ask to face one of the courtyards
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HenryKLavenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this review, 19 December 2012
Dear Henry

Thank you for your very enjoyable feedback. As such a loyal guest it is always lovely to hear your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards Ingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    779
    238
    75
    19
    16
See reviews for
145
734
20
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester,England
Level Contributor
113 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2012

Spent a three day break recently at the Swan on their Autumn Saver package which includes b&b plus one evening meal in restaurant and an afternoon cream tea. Whilst it isn't cheap its worth it. Had a feature room which was simply beautiful, spacious and comfortable. The building itself is the star and has just a wonderful ambiance and stunning features. The airman's bar is nice and the central restaurant atmospheric with exceptional food. We also ate out in Michael Pierre White's Angel Hotel in the town and this was also an excellent meal of similar standard. Lavenham is a beautiful interesting small town and Suffolk has many such highlights including nearby Long Melford with a stunning church. It's perfect for a quiet break.

Room Tip: Opt for a feature room if you can afford the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scrummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this review, 19 December 2012
Dear Scrummy

Thank you for your kind comments and noting our high quality and service standards. I am very pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and exploring Lavenham and the beautiful Suffolk countryside. I will pass our kind comments on to the team.

With kind regards Ingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

omg if anyone is moaning at the prices they are nuts ! well worth the money... fair enought the wine a little pricey in the bar but you expect that in a proper hotel. our room was exceptional i didnt want to leave! it was for my other halves birthday and we were blown away with the whole stay... food ... staff... room ... with out a doubt the best place ive ever stayed makes places like the white lion in aldeburgh which we have stayed seem like a basic b&b!

Room Tip: we would highly recommend room 48 it was lovely and would definately go back
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin_wood-cossey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this review, 7 December 2012
Dear Kevin

WOW, what great compliments. Thank you for your lovely feedback, I am pleased your stay was exceptional. I do hope you visit us again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

We booked an autumn package which we felt was good value. Every member of staff we came across was extremely professional and very helpful. We arrived in the afternoon and had cream-tea in the lounge - a table had been reserved for us and we lounged on the sofa with newspapers and log fires for a couple of hours - delightful. The bedroom and bathroom were extremely small but obviously in a building of this age, to be expected. We had drinks in the bar before our evening meal and were served canapes which was a nice touch. The meal in the restaurant was of a very good standard. We certainly plan to return for another night.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rjhmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this review, 7 December 2012
Dear rjhmt

Thank you for your kind comments, I will pass these on to the team. I am pleased to read every moment of your stay was enjoyable. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

Having been bought a voucher as a present we booked for one night on their autumn hideaway deal.

Included in this is one night in a classic double room, cream-tea, 3-course evening meal, breakfast and free entry to the Gainsborough museum, for £105 per person, absolutely amazing value. With the evening meal it is possible to pay a £10.50 supplement to choose from the a la-carte menu.

The medieval building is steeped in history and has a wonderful atmosphere mixing the traditional and modern. The staff were wonderfully friendly and helpful. We had some very noisy neighbours in the room next to us and upon bringing it to the attention of the receptionist we got moved without any quibbles to a Junior Suite! Amazing customer service.

The village of Lavenham is wonderfully quaint as are the surrounding villages such as Long Melford. If you are looking for a really special treat and amazing value then book now, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brianegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
Dear Brianegan

What a lovely present, I am pleased you enjoyed your gift and to read we lived up to expectations. The team here work hard and appreciate kind feedback so thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Ingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

This hotel was recommended by family. We visited on Saturday 10/11/12 for drinks and a meal and were all impressed by the fabulous building, the ambience, the quality of service and the food and drink.
This was a busy day already with a wedding reception ongoing, however nothing was too much trouble and we enjoyed our stay albeit for a couple of hours.

Room Tip: Did not stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
Dear Ian

Thank you for your fleeting visit, I do hope you can stay for longer next time to enjoy all the luxuries of the hotel. Your kind comments will be passed onto all the staff.

Many thanks
Kind regards
Ingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

This hotel really does tick all the boxes, it's warm welcome with attentive service, very comfortable rooms and excellent food is the best place to spend a relaxing weekend.
The Hotel dates back to the 14th century and with its oak beams, log fires, friendly staff is a real treat. There are many local places of interest to visit in Suffolk or just simply stroll around Lavenham village, enjoy the small shops and local pubs. They are all well worth while.
This was a trip we are so glad to have made with friends.

Room Tip: We had no 4 at one end of hotel very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek17Golf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
Dear Derek

Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to share your experience at the hotel. I am pleased to read you found it warm and welcoming and I will pass these kind words onto the staff. I do hope you visit again soon and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Ingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lavenham
16.0 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
10.9 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
8.2 mi away
Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#3 of 4 in Woodbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
18.9 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel
Bedford Lodge Hotel
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
18.0 mi away
Tuddenham Mill
Tuddenham Mill
#1 of 1 in Tuddenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham

Property: Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
Address: High Street, Lavenham, Babergh District CO10 9QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Lavenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lavenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in the Suffolk countryside, between Bury St. Edmunds and Sudbury, is The Swan Hotel & Spa in Lavenham, perhaps one of England's most iconic hotels. The Swan dates back to the 15th century when it played a key role in Lavenham's wool trade. Today it is a quintessential English country hotel and restaurant, proud of its achievement of AA 4 Red star, two AA Rosettes & Visit England Large Hotel of the Year 2013. Ancient oak beams and inglenook fireplaces blend beautifully with rich furnishings and fabrics to create the perfect ambiance for rest and relaxation. The historic old bar boasts a wonderful collection of memorabilia, including a wall signed by British and American airmen stationed at Lavenham Airfield during World War II. The Swan is a wonderful place in which to celebrate a variety of special occasions, including romantic weddings, christenings and family get-togethers. It is also a unique venue for seminars, meetings and conferences, where 15th century inspiration combines with 21st century innovation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lavenham Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing