We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow a fantastic hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lavenham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We stayed here recently for a family wedding on in the hotel. It was really really good! The hotel and the village is beautiful, the food was excellent and the rooms were very impressive, the staff delivered on every count to a demanding crowd! I would recommend this hotel to families, couples etc without hesitation.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank triggerIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2013

Dear triggerIreland

I am pleased to read you were part of a wedding in the hotel, we do enjoy such magical moments and I am very happy that you enjoyed everything the hotel had to offer. We do hope you visit again soon.

Kind regards
Ingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,218)
There are newer reviews for Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

902 - 908 of 1,218 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2013

We stayed at the Swan in Lavenham over Christmas and were really delighted by the hotel.

Check-in was a really warm, welcoming, friendly and efficient.

Our heavy bags were taken to our room by, Oliver, delightful porter, who was just as pleasant and as welcoming as our receptionist.

Room 12 was immaculate. It's the top half of one of the gables of the old wool hall at the back of the building. It's one of the main reason that the Swan is a grade 1 listed building. It has a very comfortable half-tester bed and cosy armchairs and furniture with a suitably antique feel. The room has a real sense of history. It's open to the rafters... all of the woodwork and joints are on full display.

The windows give enchanting views across Water Street to the Grade 1 listed Lavenham Priory and across Lady Street to one of the most charming half-timbered frontages in England.

Just a few moments wander down the street... is the the setting for the village of Godrick's Hollow in the Harry Potter films.

On Christmas Eve we settled down to afternoon tea in a part of the hotel that was once a medieval hall house. After a gently stroll and a chance to change for dinner it was a delightful champagne and canopies reception while being entertained by a local choir singing Christmas carols. All followed by a beautifully presented dinner and more seasonal music. Midnight Mass for those who chose was in the local church... which has the highest tower in England.

On Christmas Day, staff at every turn, very genuinely wished guests a Merry Christmas and made sure everything ran as perfectly as possible. Lunch was a delight and accompanied again by live music. Everything was calm, controlled and unhurried. That evening the hotel laid on a delicious informal buffet to whet the appetite and a Christmas quiz for those who wanted to enjoy a light-hearted evening.

Throughout the food was tempting, delicious, and a delight to look at when it arrived at the table. The wine list was exactly what we would have hoped for at any time.

In the evenings and only a few moments walk from the Swan... we had the delights of a magical medieval square with a Christmas tree in the middle lit by a myriad of tiny white fairy lights.

We were great fans of the Swan in the halcyon days when it was owned by the Forte Group prior to a hostile takeover by Grenada in 1996. We had been back several times but it seemed that the glory days had long gone.

Now with new owners, a superb staff who take pride in providing an exceptionally high level of service and an outstanding manager, the Swan at Lavenham is back where it should be.... as one of the best hotels in the country...

We’ve already booked for next Christmas.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twotravellersLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2013

Dear twotravellers

Wow what an accolade, thank you for your kind comments and labelling us as one of ‘the best hotels in the country’, we do enjoy reading such fabulous feedback. Thank you for choosing to celebrate Christmas at The Swan. I am pleased that your time with us was delightful and will pass your kind comments on to the team. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Ingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

My husband and I spent the night at The Swan on New Year's Day and were beautifully looked after by the staff. Our room was full of character, wonky and on a slight slope but despite this it had all the mod cons you would expect. We ate in the restaurant and had a delicious meal. The only criticism would be that the pastry was very thick and really stood out as everything else had been perfect. When we pointed this out at the end of the meal, we were told that the pastry was the only thing not made at the hotel- I think they should start making their own! I thoroughly recommend the Swan and look forward to returning there in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wivenhoe40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2013

Dear Wivenhoe40

Thank you for your feedback and lovely comments about your experience at The Swan. I am pleased to read you enjoyed New Year’s Day with us and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Ingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Swan for a new year two night package, it was our first visit to the Swan hotel in Lavenham. It is a beautiful hotel and above all the service from the staff is second to none, every detail is thought out, Debbie was particularly helpful in ensuring my dietary requirements were met and the food was fabulous. We stayed on one of the suites and our room was beautiful. A fabulous experience will definately stay with you again at new year, we also met some lovely people on pour dinner table. A note to the Manager your staff are3 a credit to you. Thank you
Richard and Trisha

Room Tip: Suite are outstanding
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardN49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2013

Dear Richard & Trisha

I am so pleased to read you enjoyed celebrating New Years with everyone at The Swan, it is lovely to hear that you had such a great time. Thank you for your kind comments about the team at the Swan, they always appreciate such kind feedback. We do hope you visit again soon.

Kind regards
Ingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

The room was very pleasant, the staff friendly and the food beautiful. Breakfast was properly served, no self service here. It is a very odd building and full of character, the staff made sure we had a really good stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annesleySuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2013

Dear Annesley

Thank you for taking the time to share you experience. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the unique style to the hotel. I will pass your kind comments on to the team.

Kind regards
Ingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

This hotel is exactly as we imagined it and is just the kind of place we like to stay for a weekend.
Its an old building and we had to go up and down and around a bit to our room, dodging under low beams in the corridors - perfect!Our junior suite was beautifully furnished and spacious and the bathroom luxurious. The public rooms were well laid out and attractive, the dining room very impressive but still with a welcoming atmosphere and the bistro and bar nice and relaxed. The garden was lovely ( we went in July 2012) and it was nice to sit outside and have tea there.We ate in the dining room and bistro and enjoyed both very much.
The hotel has its own car park and an overflow car park across the road but its also easy to park on the street.
The staff are friendly,helpful and efficient and service was quick everywhere except one day in the garden when we were sort of missed for a while.

Lavenham itself is small and quiet with just a few shops , a church and a museum to see - as well as the lovely old buildings of course . There are several attractions around the area such as NT properties.We would recommend this hotel especially to anyone wanting a relaxed and civilised break.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bibstermanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2012

Dear Bibstermanu

Thank you for your kind comments, I am glad to read you really enjoy the old charm and character. We do hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Two day break for a wedding nearby. Thought we might feel out of place as we walked in with jeans and trainers after a long journey - not all stuffy a home from home. Were upgraded to a superior double, lovely room full of character. The rest of he building was so special and full of character we took ourselves on quick tour of all the corridors al up and down and mind your head.

Lovely logs fires and the dining room was a highlight. Breakfast was great lovely food and we had a meal in the Brasserie first night.

Only thing getting of the bath you had to be flexible to reach towels or you would end up in the toilet, especially with the sloping floors. A sliding shower screen would be better.

A lovely hotel with lovely relaxed, smart and attentive staff set in lovely village, wish we could have stayed a few days longer. Sort of place you would love to be stuck when snowed in.

Room Tip: We were in 57 great room but a little noisy when traffic gets going if window open.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Binnsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2012

Dear Binnsie

Thank you for the kind feedback, I will pass this on to the team. We do hope you visit again soon (maybe in the snow)

Kind regards
Ingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lavenham
16.0 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
10.9 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
1,024 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
1,208 reviews
18.0 mi away
Tuddenham Mill
Tuddenham Mill
#1 of 1 in Tuddenham
717 reviews
19.0 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham

Address: High Street, Babergh District CO10 9QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Lavenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lavenham
Price Range: £121 - £301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in the Suffolk countryside, between Bury St. Edmunds and Sudbury, is The Swan Hotel & Spa in Lavenham, perhaps one of England's most iconic hotels. The Swan dates back to the 15th century when it played a key role in Lavenham's wool trade. Today it is a quintessential English country hotel and restaurant, proud of its achievement of AA 4 Red star, two AA Rosettes & Visit England Large Hotel of the Year 2013. Ancient oak beams and inglenook fireplaces blend beautifully with rich furnishings and fabrics to create the perfect ambiance for rest and relaxation. The historic old bar boasts a wonderful collection of memorabilia, including a wall signed by British and American airmen stationed at Lavenham Airfield during World War II. The Swan is a wonderful place in which to celebrate a variety of special occasions, including romantic weddings, christenings and family get-togethers. It is also a unique venue for seminars, meetings and conferences, where 15th century inspiration combines with 21st century innovation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lavenham Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing