We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding service and fabulous dining.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lavenham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2013

we stayed for our anniversary and upon arrival received a card from the hotel, staff were attentive and very helpful and friendly. We stayed in one of the junior suites and while a bit small the room was discounted to a rate that reflected the value that we thought was acceptable. As it is a medieval building you can't have perfect rooms. Food was fantastic and overall we would visit again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidhislop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear David

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, I am pleased to read you enjoyed your anniversary celebration with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Ingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

792 - 798 of 1,251 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2013

My husband and I booked the swan for a midweek break, the hotel itself is lovely and staff are very friendly and provide a very good service. I booked the day before we left and managed to get a small discount of £10 for the superior room but even with that we paid £165 a night which we felt was very over priced for the room. The room on first look was lovely bed was very comfortable but on the second day looking around the room it was very tired and clearly in need of some updating. The bath room was the same very basic and run down and for the price we paid we were left a little bit disappointed with the quality of the room we received. Overall a lovely hotel but only go if you get a great deal, in hind sight there are plenty of hotels out there that do great midweek deals for half the price we paid, and I would recommend looking at these first. R

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ethbells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear Ethbells

Thank you for taking your time to share your experience at The Swan. We endeavour to offer all our guests a high-end, quality service and all the team work very hard to achieve this. I am sorry that on this occasion you felt we did not offer value for money. If you would like to discuss this further please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards
Ingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Made a late booking for a superior double room and on arrival discovered we had been upgraded to a junior suite. Great mix of modern and medieval. Staff very well trained,polite, friendly, and clearly enjoyed their work. Bedrooms spotlessly clean and well furnished - we had 2 flat screen tv's in our room. The Gallery restaurant is superb and the food excellent. The breakfast was very good and was served at table not the usual help yourself buffet. Expensive but worth the money and certainly warranted the AA four stars.

Room Tip: The Classic double rooms have standard size double beds so go for a superior double if you prefer a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grunc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear Grunc

I am pleased you enjoyed your visit to the hotel and that every moment of your experience was to a four star standard. I will pass our kind comments onto the team.

Kind regards
Ingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

A quintessential English country hotel. The staff were helpful, warm and friendly. The food and service were excellent. The rooms were lovely - well appointed and clean. A wonderful place for special celebrations. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff to arrange! Highly recommended

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear Laurel

Thank you for your lovely feedback. I am pleased you enjoyed you stay with us we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Ingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

My wife & I stayed overnight in a four-post bed room and enjoyed it from start to finish.

We enjoyed a perfect afternoon tea in sumptuous armchairs and the room itself was spacious and very comfortable.

The full Suffolk breakfast in the Gallery Restaurant was exactly what you would expect and the staff were friendly and unpretentious throughout our stay.

I would definitely recommend staying at this hotel which will bee even better once the spa opens!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveDudley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear Steve

Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to share them. I am pleased you and your wife enjoyed every moment of your stay and we do look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Ingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

From the moment we arrived everything was fantastic! The outside appearance was absolutely stunning- olde worlde, and very pretty! And is got better and better, if that was possible - beautiful public areas, wonderful food, excellent service, nothing was too much trouble. We were on a coach trip and all agreed that the hotel should have been a 5* and not a 4*!!! I would recommend a visit to this hotel, and a good look around Lavenham itself - both out of this world!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear Jane

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and your kind comments; I will pass these onto the team. It is so lovely to read that you thought we were 5*, that is ever so kind of you. I am pleased you and your friends enjoyed every moment of our visit and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Ingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I booked a weekend away as a surprise for my partners birthday. From the helpful and friendly service from booking right through to checkout, the service offered at the Swan is exemplary. The hotel itself is charming and the staff are so helpful and really give the impression that they want you to have a really enjoyable and memorable stay. We certainly did - we were surprised and delighted to be upgraded to a lovely room with a four poster bed and we very much enjoyed the food and the service provided in the restaurant and bar. Having stayed at many hotels both here and abroad, the Swan really is a cut above many others. We will certainly be recommending to family and friends and very much hope to visit again.

Jo - Essex

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 46JoA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear JoA

What a nice surprise for your partner and I am pleased to read we helped make your celebration that extra bit special. Thank you for your kind comments, I will pass these onto the team and we look forward to welcoming you and your family and friends.

Kind regards
Ingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lavenham
16.0 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
10.9 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
1,046 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
1,233 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Bull
The Bull
#1 of 3 in Long Melford
542 reviews
19.0 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham

Address: High Street, Babergh District CO10 9QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Lavenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lavenham
Price Range: £115 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in the Suffolk countryside, between Bury St. Edmunds and Sudbury, is The Swan Hotel & Spa in Lavenham, perhaps one of England's most iconic hotels. The Swan dates back to the 15th century when it played a key role in Lavenham's wool trade. Today it is a quintessential English country hotel and restaurant, proud of its achievement of AA 4 Red star, two AA Rosettes & Visit England Large Hotel of the Year 2013. Ancient oak beams and inglenook fireplaces blend beautifully with rich furnishings and fabrics to create the perfect ambiance for rest and relaxation. The historic old bar boasts a wonderful collection of memorabilia, including a wall signed by British and American airmen stationed at Lavenham Airfield during World War II. The Swan is a wonderful place in which to celebrate a variety of special occasions, including romantic weddings, christenings and family get-togethers. It is also a unique venue for seminars, meetings and conferences, where 15th century inspiration combines with 21st century innovation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lavenham Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing