We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unrushed bar”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lavenham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

For the location you'd think the hotel and bar would be rammed, but quite the opposite. I like the bar because its quiet friendly and in the evenings almost peaceful. To be fair, pick the wrong night with a wedding party and you can disregard the above. But if you want some local history, links to ww2, and a friendly environment , give the swan a go.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeBsuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear Mike

Thank you for kind comments, the bar really is a unique setting and one we cherish at the hotel. I am pleased you appreciate it as a loyal visitor.

Kind regards
Ingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

776 - 782 of 1,236 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2013

Members of my family were tired of only meeting up at funerals, so in 2004 we decided to have a family get together each year at a different location. Our choice in 2013 was The Swan Hotel, Lavenham. We booked bed, breakfast, afternoon tea and an evening meal for six double and two single rooms, and the hotel were able to offer us a private dining room, and reserved a lounge area in the hotel for us to gather in on arrival and sit in before and after our meals. Our rooms were beautiful, the private dining room, meal, and service that we received from the young lady who looked after us was impeccable, as was breakfast and lunch the following day. I cannot fault the hotel in any way, and the standard of service that we received from every member of staff was fantastic. It will be a hard act to follow for next years get together.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BletchleyGricer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear BletchleyG

Thank you for your kind comments, I will pass these onto the team. I am glad we helped make your family get together so memorable and I do hope we can welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Ingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

we stayed for our anniversary and upon arrival received a card from the hotel, staff were attentive and very helpful and friendly. We stayed in one of the junior suites and while a bit small the room was discounted to a rate that reflected the value that we thought was acceptable. As it is a medieval building you can't have perfect rooms. Food was fantastic and overall we would visit again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidhislop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear David

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, I am pleased to read you enjoyed your anniversary celebration with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Ingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

My husband and I booked the swan for a midweek break, the hotel itself is lovely and staff are very friendly and provide a very good service. I booked the day before we left and managed to get a small discount of £10 for the superior room but even with that we paid £165 a night which we felt was very over priced for the room. The room on first look was lovely bed was very comfortable but on the second day looking around the room it was very tired and clearly in need of some updating. The bath room was the same very basic and run down and for the price we paid we were left a little bit disappointed with the quality of the room we received. Overall a lovely hotel but only go if you get a great deal, in hind sight there are plenty of hotels out there that do great midweek deals for half the price we paid, and I would recommend looking at these first. R

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ethbells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear Ethbells

Thank you for taking your time to share your experience at The Swan. We endeavour to offer all our guests a high-end, quality service and all the team work very hard to achieve this. I am sorry that on this occasion you felt we did not offer value for money. If you would like to discuss this further please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards
Ingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Made a late booking for a superior double room and on arrival discovered we had been upgraded to a junior suite. Great mix of modern and medieval. Staff very well trained,polite, friendly, and clearly enjoyed their work. Bedrooms spotlessly clean and well furnished - we had 2 flat screen tv's in our room. The Gallery restaurant is superb and the food excellent. The breakfast was very good and was served at table not the usual help yourself buffet. Expensive but worth the money and certainly warranted the AA four stars.

Room Tip: The Classic double rooms have standard size double beds so go for a superior double if you prefer a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grunc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear Grunc

I am pleased you enjoyed your visit to the hotel and that every moment of your experience was to a four star standard. I will pass our kind comments onto the team.

Kind regards
Ingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

A quintessential English country hotel. The staff were helpful, warm and friendly. The food and service were excellent. The rooms were lovely - well appointed and clean. A wonderful place for special celebrations. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff to arrange! Highly recommended

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear Laurel

Thank you for your lovely feedback. I am pleased you enjoyed you stay with us we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Ingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

My wife & I stayed overnight in a four-post bed room and enjoyed it from start to finish.

We enjoyed a perfect afternoon tea in sumptuous armchairs and the room itself was spacious and very comfortable.

The full Suffolk breakfast in the Gallery Restaurant was exactly what you would expect and the staff were friendly and unpretentious throughout our stay.

I would definitely recommend staying at this hotel which will bee even better once the spa opens!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveDudley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear Steve

Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to share them. I am pleased you and your wife enjoyed every moment of your stay and we do look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Ingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lavenham
16.0 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
10.9 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
1,031 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
1,222 reviews
18.0 mi away
Tuddenham Mill
Tuddenham Mill
#1 of 1 in Tuddenham
730 reviews
19.0 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham

Address: High Street, Babergh District CO10 9QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Lavenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lavenham
Price Range: £121 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in the Suffolk countryside, between Bury St. Edmunds and Sudbury, is The Swan Hotel & Spa in Lavenham, perhaps one of England's most iconic hotels. The Swan dates back to the 15th century when it played a key role in Lavenham's wool trade. Today it is a quintessential English country hotel and restaurant, proud of its achievement of AA 4 Red star, two AA Rosettes & Visit England Large Hotel of the Year 2013. Ancient oak beams and inglenook fireplaces blend beautifully with rich furnishings and fabrics to create the perfect ambiance for rest and relaxation. The historic old bar boasts a wonderful collection of memorabilia, including a wall signed by British and American airmen stationed at Lavenham Airfield during World War II. The Swan is a wonderful place in which to celebrate a variety of special occasions, including romantic weddings, christenings and family get-togethers. It is also a unique venue for seminars, meetings and conferences, where 15th century inspiration combines with 21st century innovation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lavenham Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing