We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check it out”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lavenham
Certificate of Excellence
Suffolk
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Check it out”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Hidden away in the depths of sleepy Suffolk, in a picture postcard village, this hotel provides a standard of accommodation, comfort and service that is, quite simply, excellent. Every member of staff member seems to be 'hardwired' to help ensure that one's stay at the hotel is a good one.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank objective-middleaged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to share them, I will pass your feedback onto the team; we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Ingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    810
    254
    82
    20
    16
See reviews for
151
766
24
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The Swan is a bit of a landmark and we'd wanted to come for ages, which might be why I was a little disappointed with some aspects of our visit (though I've gone with 4* overall).

The room was faultless: spotless, characterful, with beams and low ceilings - everything you'd hope for from such a historic location. The staff were polite and helpful, and thought ahead in various ways: for example, they blocked off some tables in the lounge for residents to sit at in the afternoon, even though they were making a killing from serving afternoon tea for visitors and could easily have given the table we found to higher-spending customers than our cups of tea offered them. We really appreciated this.

I think the real downside was the restaurant. We ate at the Brudenell Hotel in Aldeburgh the day before - the sister hotel to The Swan - and it was just so much better, and for less money. We were on the DBB deal, and our reservation still wasn't right when we arrived, in spite of my having phoned in advance twice to check on it. However, the receptionist managed to do this when we arrived with minimum fuss. I was quite restricted with what I could eat on the DBB menu and the staff were really unaccommodating in terms of what they would offer me instead. Their only suggestion was to upgrade to the a la carte menu for another £25, which on top of the cost of the room, the fact that I'd already paid for dinner, felt pretty inflexible. The food was fine, but no more than fine for the price. There could be much more creativity with attention to details here: there's a lot of effort to produce a beautiful water jug but not much attention to filling it up, for example; to give another, the bread rolls feel lumpen and defrosted when a simple slice of fresh granary bread wouldn't cost any more but would be so much nicer. It felt like a case of style over substance.

I'd come back and stay in a heatbeat, but I'd eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thechintzfiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to share you constructive feedback with us. I am pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and you appreciated the history. However I am sorry to read that your dinner did not live up to your expectation, if you would like to discuss this further with me personally please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

I look forward to hearing from you and welcoming you back in the near future where I hope we can address any issues.

Kind regards
Ingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Isn't it lovely to stay in an real Olde English Hotel where the staff cannot do enough for you.!
The rooms, service and food are beyond excellent.
We came to the Swan for our 35th Wedding Anniversary with all our close family and we could not have chosen a more suitable place.
Outstanding!

Room Tip: At the moment the Swan is undergoing building work to aquire a Spa to their already excellent hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMac1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear JMac

Thank you for your kind comments. I am ever so pleased to read we helped make your special occasion that bit more special and we look forward to welcoming you back. Congratulations.

Kind regards
Yvonne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The customer service offered by this cohesive team here is second to none. Each team member is approachable, friendly and he or she anticipates the needs of the guest in a genuine, logical and empathetic manner. They go the extra mile to get things right.
On the day I arrived at the hotel purely as a day guest, there was a power outage in the entire village due to a large storm which also meant transport links to London were cancelled. The staff were so hospitable, understanding, allowing me to seek refuge in the hotel. I was very well looked after. It was a great marketing exercise to be honest, because I will certainly go back and stay there when in the area. The great ambiance in the hotel is enhanced from celebrating the heritage of the building, so there is this great sense of history, but in a contemporary time. Extremely comfortable, clean, well run. The restaurant chefs looked very on top of their game too.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Tanya

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, I am pleased to read you were looked after so well. We look forward to welcoming you back to experience the Swan at is best.

Kind regards
Ingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

After a hard few months we booked a break at this charming Suffolk hotel. We were upgraded to a suite complete with beams and traditional architecture. It was the closest hotel we have seen in the UK to a Spanish Parador.
The hospitality was first class and we were treated like honoured guests. The menu was good and the food excellent. Certainly take the cream tea if you can.
We will return, hopefully after the spa has been finished.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Tony

Thank you for your kind comments and I am glad we helped make your break relaxing and you felt like honoured guests. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Ingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lavenham, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

For the location you'd think the hotel and bar would be rammed, but quite the opposite. I like the bar because its quiet friendly and in the evenings almost peaceful. To be fair, pick the wrong night with a wedding party and you can disregard the above. But if you want some local history, links to ww2, and a friendly environment , give the swan a go.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeBsuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Mike

Thank you for kind comments, the bar really is a unique setting and one we cherish at the hotel. I am pleased you appreciate it as a loyal visitor.

Kind regards
Ingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bletchley
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Members of my family were tired of only meeting up at funerals, so in 2004 we decided to have a family get together each year at a different location. Our choice in 2013 was The Swan Hotel, Lavenham. We booked bed, breakfast, afternoon tea and an evening meal for six double and two single rooms, and the hotel were able to offer us a private dining room, and reserved a lounge area in the hotel for us to gather in on arrival and sit in before and after our meals. Our rooms were beautiful, the private dining room, meal, and service that we received from the young lady who looked after us was impeccable, as was breakfast and lunch the following day. I cannot fault the hotel in any way, and the standard of service that we received from every member of staff was fantastic. It will be a hard act to follow for next years get together.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BletchleyGricer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear BletchleyG

Thank you for your kind comments, I will pass these onto the team. I am glad we helped make your family get together so memorable and I do hope we can welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Ingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lavenham
16.0 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
10.9 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
991 reviews
18.0 mi away
Tuddenham Mill
Tuddenham Mill
#1 of 1 in Tuddenham
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
1,161 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,103 reviews
19.0 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham

Property: Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
Address: High Street, Lavenham, Babergh District CO10 9QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Lavenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lavenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in the Suffolk countryside, between Bury St. Edmunds and Sudbury, is The Swan Hotel & Spa in Lavenham, perhaps one of England's most iconic hotels. The Swan dates back to the 15th century when it played a key role in Lavenham's wool trade. Today it is a quintessential English country hotel and restaurant, proud of its achievement of AA 4 Red star, two AA Rosettes & Visit England Large Hotel of the Year 2013. Ancient oak beams and inglenook fireplaces blend beautifully with rich furnishings and fabrics to create the perfect ambiance for rest and relaxation. The historic old bar boasts a wonderful collection of memorabilia, including a wall signed by British and American airmen stationed at Lavenham Airfield during World War II. The Swan is a wonderful place in which to celebrate a variety of special occasions, including romantic weddings, christenings and family get-togethers. It is also a unique venue for seminars, meetings and conferences, where 15th century inspiration combines with 21st century innovation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lavenham Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing