We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
Nearby Hotels
The Bull(Long Melford)(Great Value!)
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crown Hotel(Long Melford)
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
US$80
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa(Leavenheath)(Great Value!)
US$156
US$120
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$156
Travelocity
View Deal
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crown, Stoke By Nayland(Stoke by Nayland)
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bell(Clare)
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Black Lion Hotel(Long Melford)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,317)
Filter reviews
1,317 results
Traveller rating
902
284
93
21
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
902
284
93
21
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgallery restaurantafternoon teabeautiful hotelold buildingsuffolk breakfastmain restaurantlow beamsjunior suitelounge areavenisonsconesfirst classspecial occasionold worldthe ground floorpublic areasbirthday treat
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
846 - 851 of 1,317 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stayed at the Swan on an overnight deal with dinner and breakfast.
This is the 2nd time we have done this.
The room (No 5) we had both times, this is upstairs at the the very quite rear of the hotel.
The Airmans bar is intresting due to the "preserved" wall that has notes/memos from US Airman based in the area during the war.
Once again an excellent meal and breakfast, all of the staff are very special.

Room Tip: Room 5 is very quite.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Stephen

Thank you for visiting again and your kind comments. We are so pleased to hear from people who return to the hotel for more and I am pleased that you enjoyed your second visit with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Kind regards
Ingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Perhaps we should think of this ancient, olde worlde inn as an interesting museum, rather than as a hotel. Its undoubted charm, and stunning antiquity can certainly stir the heart of visitors from the new world.

It can even come close to making up for the postage-stamp sized rooms.

But its unrelentingly creaky floors and lack of sound insulation or adequately baffled windows to keep out the pre-dawn traffic noise, all conspire to prevent dropping off to sleep, or staying asleep for very long.

When this was mentioned to staff, it was obvious that (1) they hear it all the time, and (2) those complaining just don't get what these hotels are all about.

But to this traveler, sleep is Job 1 for any hotel, and The Swan owes me two nights sleep...

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StillTheOldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Traveller

I am sorry to read your experience did not live up to your expectations; we would never want this to be the case and will always try our best to rectify a situation. Please do contact me directly if you would like to discuss this further on 01787 247477

With regards
Ingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We spent a lovely weekend break staying at this historical hotel's feature room. The hotel is a 15th century structure beautifully restored and lovingly cared for into a charming and cozy hideaway in a Suffolk village.
Our feature room was in the ground floor a trek after exploring the creaky hallways. The room had exposed beams which had clearly seen centuries worth of stories. The rooms are low ceiling but perfectly comfortable and luxurious. Our only complaint is that it faces the main road and not exactly quiet. Although being in a village helps and the traffic died down in the night.
Dinner was a memorable experience in the handsome dining room.
We enjoyed getting lost in the corridors and felt included and genuinely felt closer to the history of the place.
A stay is an absolute must and strong recommendation if you're in this part of the country.

Room Tip: Remember to check if rooms face the main road since windows don't have double glazing. The beams do crack but it's all part of staying in a 5 century old building.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrskapoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Mrs Kapoor

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your visit and you appreciated the unique character and history of the hotel.

We hope you visit again soon

Kind regards
Ingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

Set in the medieval town of Lavenham The Swan is a delightful hotel, full of character, spotlessly clean, exquisite rooms and excellent customer service. We have just stayed 2 night on a DBB deal which was great value for money. Contrary to what another reviewer said about restrictive menu choices there was a House Menu with 4 choices of each course or the a la carte was only £11 more as that was the overall difference in price. Alternatively you could order from The Brasserie menu too so plenty of choice and lovely quality food. They are currently building a spa so I can foresee a return visit on the cards!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Lynadi

Thank you for your kind comments I will pass these onto the team. I am pleased you enjoyed your visit with us and you felt there were plenty of options on the menu. We look forward to welcoming you back with our new spa.

Kind regards
Ingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Hidden away in the depths of sleepy Suffolk, in a picture postcard village, this hotel provides a standard of accommodation, comfort and service that is, quite simply, excellent. Every member of staff member seems to be 'hardwired' to help ensure that one's stay at the hotel is a good one.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank objective-middleaged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Dear guest

Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to share them, I will pass your feedback onto the team; we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Ingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews