We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lavenham
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

My husband and I stayed for a couple of nights at the beginning of December and really enjoyed our stay. The decor of the hotel and rooms are beautiful - stylish and full of character but also cosy and conducive to relaxing. The cream tea on arrival and a drink in the evening by the open fire were especially nice.

The staff throughout the hotel were without exception fantastic and we appreciated the high level of service which was professional but also genuine and relaxed.

The gallery restaurant is stunning and my evening meal was of an excellent standard as was the wine but two out of three of my husband's courses were not up to the same level unfortunately which was disappointing hence why I've marked them 4 stars. However, the waiter dealt with this faultlessly. Breakfast was very good.

I did find the hotel stay to be expensive and a little noisy due to the creakiness of it being an old building and the swing shut room doors but overall would definitely recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FionaBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Fiona
Thank you ever so much for taking the time to leave your constructive feedback. I am pleased that overall your experience was excellent and any problems were rectified quickly. Thank you for recommending The Swan and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Ingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    822
    258
    85
    20
    18
See reviews for
156
775
24
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

This is a lovely hotel for couples to spend a restful weekend away. It is located in the heart of the beautiful Suffolk village of Lavenham.

We stayed for two nights and found our room, the staff and the restaurant to be tip-top! We would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikey077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Mikey
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Swan, I am pleased to read you enjoyed every moment of your stay. We do hope you visit again.
Kind regards
Ingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Again my wife enjoyed a superb festive lunch in the fabulous gallery dining room. The Hotel was tastefully decorated , the Staff attentive and the Service first rate . The quality of food , the care taken in its presentation could not be faulted. All at an extremely sensible cost. A visit to the delightful Suffolk Town of Lavenham , the medieval timbered Swan Hotel, and a delicious meal
should not be missed.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Anthony
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Swan and I am pleased to read that every moment of the experience was first rate.

We look forward to welcoming you and your wife back.

Kind regards
Ingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

If your after a stay in one of the best preserved medieval towns in England then I would thoroughly recommend a stay at the Swan hotel in Lavenham.

By the end of this year we will have stayed here five times. We love the atmosphere and charm of the place and the attentive staff that are always on hand. Each room has its own unique appeal and puts you into a perfect frame of mind during your stay.

This may not be the cheapest of hotels in the area but as they say- you get what you pay for, and it is definitely worth paying to stay here. The hotel often has offers on for cheap stays so it is always worth checking their website for these.

There is ongoing work there at the moment to install a spa but the only inconvenience this has caused is not being able to use the onsite car park. Normally you can park outside on the high street anyway.

Cannot recommend this place highly enough. Well worth five stars!

Julian & Tina

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jplas69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Julian & Tina

Thank you for you glowing review, it is always lovely to host you and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind regards
Ingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

On arrival, we were warmly greeted, and to our great surprise and delight, were told that our room was upgraded to a suite, as the hotel was quiet, before the busy Christmas period. As well as the very comfortable bedroom, we had a spacious and well appointed living room, and modern bathroom, although , surprisingly lacking a shaving mirror.

We ate in both the formal hotel restaurant, and their more informal brasserie, and our meals in both were exceptionally delicious and enjoyable. Every member of staff we encountered, were friendly and helpful. However, we did have one or two minor niggles:

On arrival, we were asked if we wanted a newspaper, which would be left outside our bedroom door each morning. The first day it had been forgotten,and the second day the wrong paper was delivered! On another occasion, we had to ask for a bath mat, as there wasn't one in the bathroom. These are very minor points, and certainly didn't mar our stay at this lovely hotel, and we look forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Dear Jackie

Thank you for your glowing review on your delightful experience. I have made a note of your constructive comments and will ensure we tighten up on these small but important details.
We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Ingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
395 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I am reviewing the afternoon tea only. We were not lucky enough to be staying at the hotel but hopefully will do so in the future.

A very generous afternoon tea and most enjoyable but the plus points to our experience were the surroundings and the staff. The building itself is gorgeous, quaint on the outside and extremely comfortable on the inside. We took our tea in a quiet corner of the lounge with very comfortable seating and on looking at the rest of the ground floor, found it very pleasing to the eye as the decor and design suited the historic building and the historic town of Lavenham. Most impressive were the staff. They were aware that we were waiting for friends and although our friends bypassed the desk, one of the staff noticed and informed the kitchen without us having to say anything. Very attentive and pleasant and we felt that a stay at this hotel would be a very good experience.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TishLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Dear Tish

How lovely to read that you enjoyed the afternoon tea so much that you would like to return. I will pass your kind comments onto the team and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Ingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunstanton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

My second stay at The Swan this year was as enjoyable as my first. This hotel simply does not disappoint. From the highly skilled and friendly staff (something I find quite rare these days) to the fine dining The Swan just gets it right all the time. The building itself exudes character and charm, wood burning stoves not only give off a warm glow as well as heat but add to the whole feel of the cosy lounges and sitting areas. The bedrooms are beautifully furnished, the level of maintenance is high. It would be easy for The Swan to fit in the "pretentious" bracket like so many hotels, but it does not, everything about it is just perfect. So if you are in Suffolk visit The Swan, even if you just sample the afternoon tea, you will be tempted to return and no doubt stay longer. Perfect!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geoffrey h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Dear Geoffrey

Again wow, thank you for leaving another glowing review. It is so enjoyable to have dear guests visiting again and again and always leaving happy. We do hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards
Ingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lavenham
16.0 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
10.9 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
1,008 reviews
18.0 mi away
Tuddenham Mill
Tuddenham Mill
#1 of 1 in Tuddenham
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,128 reviews
10.1 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
1,183 reviews
23.3 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham

Property: Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
Address: High Street, Lavenham, Babergh District CO10 9QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Lavenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lavenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in the Suffolk countryside, between Bury St. Edmunds and Sudbury, is The Swan Hotel & Spa in Lavenham, perhaps one of England's most iconic hotels. The Swan dates back to the 15th century when it played a key role in Lavenham's wool trade. Today it is a quintessential English country hotel and restaurant, proud of its achievement of AA 4 Red star, two AA Rosettes & Visit England Large Hotel of the Year 2013. Ancient oak beams and inglenook fireplaces blend beautifully with rich furnishings and fabrics to create the perfect ambiance for rest and relaxation. The historic old bar boasts a wonderful collection of memorabilia, including a wall signed by British and American airmen stationed at Lavenham Airfield during World War II. The Swan is a wonderful place in which to celebrate a variety of special occasions, including romantic weddings, christenings and family get-togethers. It is also a unique venue for seminars, meetings and conferences, where 15th century inspiration combines with 21st century innovation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lavenham Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing