We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lavenham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I have stayed here many times & it really is a beautiful hotel, the staff are polite & helpful.
Lavenham is a magical place & I never tire of the hotel or surroundings. Cannot wait to return there later this year.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms can be noisy & creaky if guests are above as hotel very old!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear Karen

Thank you for your lovely feedback and for being a loyal supporter of The Swan. I am pleased to read you had another lovely experience. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Ingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

747 - 753 of 1,236 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2014

Regularly enjoy staying in hotels. Arrived without booking due to a change in plans. Room excellent value, but some rooms expensive. Food in the restaurant easily merited its rosettes. The service in all areas of the hotel was courteous and attentive, without being intrusive. Our comment on leaving was that they had really got their act together - one our best hotel stays ever.
Worth a stay just for the architecture!

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear GG

WOW, what a fantastic accolade. Thank you for your kind comments and I am pleased you enjoyed every moment of your stay. We do hope to welcome you back.

Kind regards
Ingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Our group of 4 visited the Swan Hotel's restaurant early in January 2014. We live reasonably locally and but had not dined at the hotel for some time. What a fantastic evening. Excellent service, not too overpowering, but attentive and extremely professional. The menu was a fixed price arrangement, (£35) with ample choices for all tastes. There was a delightful amuse bouche, and the food was delicious. The only negative comment was that the cheese selection, though generous and a good varied choice, was served on a tiny board - with the inevitable result that the table cloth suffered! Overall a lovely evening in historical surroundings with up to date cuisine and excellent service. We shall return very soon.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank SufolkPunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear SuffolkPunch

It was a delight hosting you and I am so pleased you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back. I was pass your constructive comments onto the team.

Kind regards
Ingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We have been here before and enjoyed the experience. This year was another winner. Food was great and the programme of events ( walks and music as well as food) really well planned. The menus for 30th and 31st December were imaginative and well cooked. Service was immaculate. Our rooms were spotlessly clean but the age of the building ( which is medieval ) means that the layout of the rooms is quirky and can feel a bit cramped. However it is such a fabulous experience that it doeas not detract.
The town is lovely too with lots of interesting buildings, a good information office and some decent tourist orientated shops. There is one decent art gallery shop too at the opposite end of the town.

Room Tip: Make sure you are not in the room near the hotel sign! It squeaks when the wind blows and can keep y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear Jackie

Thank you for celebrating New Year with the Swan and your kind comments; I will pass these onto the team. I am pleased to read you have enjoyed the Swan on many occasion and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Ingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stayed for 3 night at the beginning of the new year, looking for rest, relaxation and restoration. Everything was ok but failed to fulfil the luxurious experience it promised. Food was ok, room was ok though bed was uncomfortable and bedding was poor quality. Service was less than average - so slow it was painful, should be so much slicker.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JemimaG99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear Jemima

I am sorry to read that your visit did not live up to your expectations. If you would like to discuss this further do not hesitate to contact me.

Ingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Felt comfortable the moment we went through the door. Lovely room(s) (we were upgradred to a suite).
Friendly & efficient staff.
Comfortable bed, luxury complimentary toiletries.
Cooked to order breakfast was superb.
Ate at The Gallery for evening meal one night which was faultless.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sandrak611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear Sandra
Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to share your wonderful winter break experience. I am pleased you enjoyed every moment of your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Ingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

My husband and I stayed for a couple of nights at the beginning of December and really enjoyed our stay. The decor of the hotel and rooms are beautiful - stylish and full of character but also cosy and conducive to relaxing. The cream tea on arrival and a drink in the evening by the open fire were especially nice.

The staff throughout the hotel were without exception fantastic and we appreciated the high level of service which was professional but also genuine and relaxed.

The gallery restaurant is stunning and my evening meal was of an excellent standard as was the wine but two out of three of my husband's courses were not up to the same level unfortunately which was disappointing hence why I've marked them 4 stars. However, the waiter dealt with this faultlessly. Breakfast was very good.

I did find the hotel stay to be expensive and a little noisy due to the creakiness of it being an old building and the swing shut room doors but overall would definitely recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FionaBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Fiona
Thank you ever so much for taking the time to leave your constructive feedback. I am pleased that overall your experience was excellent and any problems were rectified quickly. Thank you for recommending The Swan and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Ingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lavenham
16.0 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
10.9 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
1,030 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
1,222 reviews
18.0 mi away
Tuddenham Mill
Tuddenham Mill
#1 of 1 in Tuddenham
730 reviews
19.0 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham

Address: High Street, Babergh District CO10 9QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Lavenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lavenham
Price Range: £120 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in the Suffolk countryside, between Bury St. Edmunds and Sudbury, is The Swan Hotel & Spa in Lavenham, perhaps one of England's most iconic hotels. The Swan dates back to the 15th century when it played a key role in Lavenham's wool trade. Today it is a quintessential English country hotel and restaurant, proud of its achievement of AA 4 Red star, two AA Rosettes & Visit England Large Hotel of the Year 2013. Ancient oak beams and inglenook fireplaces blend beautifully with rich furnishings and fabrics to create the perfect ambiance for rest and relaxation. The historic old bar boasts a wonderful collection of memorabilia, including a wall signed by British and American airmen stationed at Lavenham Airfield during World War II. The Swan is a wonderful place in which to celebrate a variety of special occasions, including romantic weddings, christenings and family get-togethers. It is also a unique venue for seminars, meetings and conferences, where 15th century inspiration combines with 21st century innovation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lavenham Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing