We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lavenham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 February 2014

A beautiful setting, superb service and good food with good company...what more can you ask for?
The bar prices may have been expensive, I was treated to an after dinner cognac, but as a treat it was wonderful. We will be back.
Looking forward to the spa opening later this year, and even the replacement car park was easy to find !

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear Fiona

Thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Ingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

767 - 773 of 1,262 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2014

We had a 2 day stay & were greeted warmly as always. The receptionist helped us with our luggage & showed us to our room. We were upgraded to a Junior suite which was lovely but a long way from the main areas. However we were shown a quick way back to the main building via a fire exit the staff used. (Very grateful for that!) the room was perfect with separate lounge area large bed & 2 Tv's. The bathroom was very very compact! The toilet was behind the door! But it was very clean & all the extra touches were there as expected. The meals have become a little to gourmet for us but after finding something I could eat with the help of extremely efficient & attentive staff (I have Crohn's disease & they cater for me extremely well) the meal was lovely. Breakfast on both mornings was excellent. The 2nd nights dinner was a special champagne evening & I could not fault anything the waiting staff were very attentive with the champagnes all during the meal & the food was fabulous. Do try the parsley & spinach pannacotta if you get the chance, a gorgeous vegetable accompaniment. As always very little fault could be found, the size of bathroom being our only problem.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear Ann

Thank you for your lovely feedback, I am pleased the team looked after you so well and we do hope you visit us again soon.

Kind regards
Ingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

My husband booked a night here recently for my birthday. Lavenham itself is a lovely little town full of character and the same can be said for the Swan. Our room was beautiful with a four poster bed and champagne chilling on the table awaiting our arrival. We had afternoon tea with yummy scones and a lovely dinner. Breakfast was also very nice with a good choice and very attentive service. All the staff we encountered at the Swan very extremely polite and efficient. It was an expensive treat but you get what you pay for and is well worth it for a special occasion and we would love to return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thefelixstowetwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Dear guest

Thank you for taking the times to share your experience, what a lovely treat and I am pleased you enjoyed your visit. We hope to see you again soon

Kind regards
Ingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Staff brilliant but not in your face, breakfast and dinner lovely, room great. Cannot fault it at all and will be going back. At the end of the day you pay for what you get. I cannot think of anything negative to say about it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NEB1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Dear NEB

Thank you for your glowing review, I am pleased you enjoyed every moment of your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back

Kind regards
Ingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We dined in the brasserie to celebrate a birthday meal. The food was fantastic and service faultless. The hotel building itself is very impressive and a cosy, special place to sit and enjoy a drink before and after the meal. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YsanneBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear YsanneBean

Thank you for taking the time to share the experience of your birthday meal. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Ingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I have stayed here many times & it really is a beautiful hotel, the staff are polite & helpful.
Lavenham is a magical place & I never tire of the hotel or surroundings. Cannot wait to return there later this year.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms can be noisy & creaky if guests are above as hotel very old!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear Karen

Thank you for your lovely feedback and for being a loyal supporter of The Swan. I am pleased to read you had another lovely experience. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Ingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Regularly enjoy staying in hotels. Arrived without booking due to a change in plans. Room excellent value, but some rooms expensive. Food in the restaurant easily merited its rosettes. The service in all areas of the hotel was courteous and attentive, without being intrusive. Our comment on leaving was that they had really got their act together - one our best hotel stays ever.
Worth a stay just for the architecture!

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear GG

WOW, what a fantastic accolade. Thank you for your kind comments and I am pleased you enjoyed every moment of your stay. We do hope to welcome you back.

Kind regards
Ingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lavenham
16 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
10.9 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
1,051 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
1,245 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Bull
The Bull
#1 of 3 in Long Melford
544 reviews
18 mi away
Tuddenham Mill
Tuddenham Mill
#1 of 1 in Tuddenham
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham

Address: High Street, Babergh District CO10 9QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Lavenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lavenham
Price Range: £102 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in the Suffolk countryside, between Bury St. Edmunds and Sudbury, is The Swan Hotel & Spa in Lavenham, perhaps one of England's most iconic hotels. The Swan dates back to the 15th century when it played a key role in Lavenham's wool trade. Today it is a quintessential English country hotel and restaurant, proud of its achievement of AA 4 Red star, two AA Rosettes & Visit England Large Hotel of the Year 2013. Ancient oak beams and inglenook fireplaces blend beautifully with rich furnishings and fabrics to create the perfect ambiance for rest and relaxation. The historic old bar boasts a wonderful collection of memorabilia, including a wall signed by British and American airmen stationed at Lavenham Airfield during World War II. The Swan is a wonderful place in which to celebrate a variety of special occasions, including romantic weddings, christenings and family get-togethers. It is also a unique venue for seminars, meetings and conferences, where 15th century inspiration combines with 21st century innovation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lavenham Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing