We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, lovely location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lavenham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Lovely hotel in lovely town. Room was a bit warm and luckily the town is quite quiet at night or it would have been noisy. Very nice breakfast. I would say that it is quite expensive however.
Children enjoyed the experience and we had a nice walk around Lavenham in the morning.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JW B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear Jasper

Thank you for your review of the Swan at Lavenham. I am pleased you enjoyed the hotel and breakfast and found time to experience our beautiful town.

Kind regards


Ingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

704 - 710 of 1,236 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a long weekend stay at this hotel. Over the years we have stayed in some very special places but this truly is the best. The building itself is exquisite. The staff were faultless - you felt like they genuinely cared that you were having a great time. The food and the service were beyond expectation. I really cannot say enough good things about this place. Please, please, please experience it for yourself - you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 22 which was above the restaurant so you could hear faint chatter and on Saturday...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kim h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Hotel was beautiful what makes it special are the staff. The little things make it special calling you by your name for breakfast and not your room number and no buffet breakfast for a change hurrah ! The staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome for example Katie the lady from housekeeping left a note with extra bottles of water for my husband to take his medication. The food in the gallery restaurant was superb only sorry that we were unable to get a reservation for our second night.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 28 which was lovely and quiet which is what we asked for on the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed for one night on a Sunday and were lucky enough to be given an upgrade to a suite from a double room. The service and staff were lovely, the room and the hotel were lovely, the bar and restaurant were lovely. There was a great, cosy, wood smoke smell around the hotel.

The bed, bathroom, and dining area were all very clean and very comfortable. The food was of a very good standard. We ordered the fish and the burger from the Brasserie (children permitted). Street parking was available immediately outside the hotel, and Lavenham is nice enough for a little walk around.

My wife and I brought our baby with us on this occasion. Although catered for with cots, and chairs, we probably would not bring our child another time.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesWakeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Had lunch with my husband to celebrate our 20th year of first meeting. On the 17 April. Had a great 3 course lunch the wine waiter was very good Food excellent looking forward in going back have been their twice before never been disappointed

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maureen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We have enjoyed Afternoon Tea and drinks in the bar before, but this was our first experience staying overnight. As it was a special anniversary, we stayed in Room 48 (hidden away behind the lounge downstairs) with a wonderful 4-poster bed and everything was just right - even down to the collection of books on the shelf and the lovely-smelling toiletries in the bathroom! Our evening meal was in the large vaulted dining room, with a pianist playing in the gallery, just another nice touch. The food was good, service excellent and breakfast the next morning was just right as well. A spa is being built at the moment, so not sure how this will impact on the hotel in general, but hopefully it will not change the relaxed atmosphere of The Swan.

Room Tip: For a special occasion, Room 48 is perfect as an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amwill57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We had gift voucher for afternoon tea for two at The Swan Hotel, on arrival in Lavenham we loved the exterior of the hotel, on entering we were impressed by the large wooden door & interior decor, we were met at reception & shown to our table, sadley not near the open fire in the lounge but in smaller lounge away from everyone, Afternoon tea consisted of 8 finger sandwiches filled with egg & cress, Ham & mustard, Cucumber, as we didn't like salmon available, bread a little dry to edges where crusts had been removed, we then had four scones, two fruit & two walnut & apple, which were yummy, served with butter/jam/clotted cream, then to follow two cakes, a dry piece of victoria sponge & piece of very rich chocolate torte tart, accompanied by two swan shaped cream meringues. On the whole a pleasent afternoon but if paying a little over priced for what we had.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lavenham
16.0 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
10.9 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
1,032 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
1,222 reviews
18.0 mi away
Tuddenham Mill
Tuddenham Mill
#1 of 1 in Tuddenham
730 reviews
19.0 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham

Address: High Street, Babergh District CO10 9QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Lavenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lavenham
Price Range: £121 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in the Suffolk countryside, between Bury St. Edmunds and Sudbury, is The Swan Hotel & Spa in Lavenham, perhaps one of England's most iconic hotels. The Swan dates back to the 15th century when it played a key role in Lavenham's wool trade. Today it is a quintessential English country hotel and restaurant, proud of its achievement of AA 4 Red star, two AA Rosettes & Visit England Large Hotel of the Year 2013. Ancient oak beams and inglenook fireplaces blend beautifully with rich furnishings and fabrics to create the perfect ambiance for rest and relaxation. The historic old bar boasts a wonderful collection of memorabilia, including a wall signed by British and American airmen stationed at Lavenham Airfield during World War II. The Swan is a wonderful place in which to celebrate a variety of special occasions, including romantic weddings, christenings and family get-togethers. It is also a unique venue for seminars, meetings and conferences, where 15th century inspiration combines with 21st century innovation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lavenham Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing