We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not much sleep at the Swan...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lavenham
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not much sleep at the Swan...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed at the Swan Hotel in Lavenham for 3 nights in April. On making the reservation we received e-mail confirmation which had a note to say there was building work at the back of the hotel, but we wouldn't be affected, this concerned me as I hadn't seen anything about building work on the hotel website, so I contacted the hotel and we were offered a room at the front of the hotel away from the building work, which was very thoughtful. Unfortunately, this was probably a mistake as the room we stayed in was incredibly noisy from the high street traffic, even at night. On top of which on the second night there was someone wheel spinning and revving their car engine outside the hotel in the early hours of the morning, and on the third night the property opposite the hotel, which someone rents, was playing loud music until 3am!! I contacted reception to complain about the music and was told there was nothing they could do. A couple of other incidents didn't help our stay; we were checked into the wrong room and then had to pack up and move to the room next-door and also had a bathroom sink which had a leak and flooded the floor. On checking out of the hotel the Front of House Manager did come to apologise about the noise from the music, cars and leaking sink and explained they were going to talk to the local landlord about the incidents, from their reaction I'm not sure this was the first time they had had issues. Hopefully the hotel management will resolve the noise issue so that future guests don't have a similar experience, which you really don't expect in a place like Lavenham!

I can't just write a grumbling post, there were positives about our stay; the breakfasts were fantastic with a great range of original choices. We dined in the Brasserie a couple times, which also had delicious food. Through the different incidents the staff were always polite and helpful. Lavenham and the surrounding areas are lovely and there are lots of places of interest to visit. Sadly we came away unrested and looking forward to getting home for a good night's sleep!

Room Tip: Don't take a room at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NorwichTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    784
    241
    76
    19
    16
See reviews for
145
740
21
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Lovely hotel in lovely town. Room was a bit warm and luckily the town is quite quiet at night or it would have been noisy. Very nice breakfast. I would say that it is quite expensive however.
Children enjoyed the experience and we had a nice walk around Lavenham in the morning.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JW B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Jasper

Thank you for your review of the Swan at Lavenham. I am pleased you enjoyed the hotel and breakfast and found time to experience our beautiful town.

Kind regards


Ingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a long weekend stay at this hotel. Over the years we have stayed in some very special places but this truly is the best. The building itself is exquisite. The staff were faultless - you felt like they genuinely cared that you were having a great time. The food and the service were beyond expectation. I really cannot say enough good things about this place. Please, please, please experience it for yourself - you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 22 which was above the restaurant so you could hear faint chatter and on Saturday...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kim h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Hotel was beautiful what makes it special are the staff. The little things make it special calling you by your name for breakfast and not your room number and no buffet breakfast for a change hurrah ! The staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome for example Katie the lady from housekeeping left a note with extra bottles of water for my husband to take his medication. The food in the gallery restaurant was superb only sorry that we were unable to get a reservation for our second night.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 28 which was lovely and quiet which is what we asked for on the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed for one night on a Sunday and were lucky enough to be given an upgrade to a suite from a double room. The service and staff were lovely, the room and the hotel were lovely, the bar and restaurant were lovely. There was a great, cosy, wood smoke smell around the hotel.

The bed, bathroom, and dining area were all very clean and very comfortable. The food was of a very good standard. We ordered the fish and the burger from the Brasserie (children permitted). Street parking was available immediately outside the hotel, and Lavenham is nice enough for a little walk around.

My wife and I brought our baby with us on this occasion. Although catered for with cots, and chairs, we probably would not bring our child another time.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesWakeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bury st edmunds
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Had lunch with my husband to celebrate our 20th year of first meeting. On the 17 April. Had a great 3 course lunch the wine waiter was very good Food excellent looking forward in going back have been their twice before never been disappointed

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maureen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We have enjoyed Afternoon Tea and drinks in the bar before, but this was our first experience staying overnight. As it was a special anniversary, we stayed in Room 48 (hidden away behind the lounge downstairs) with a wonderful 4-poster bed and everything was just right - even down to the collection of books on the shelf and the lovely-smelling toiletries in the bathroom! Our evening meal was in the large vaulted dining room, with a pianist playing in the gallery, just another nice touch. The food was good, service excellent and breakfast the next morning was just right as well. A spa is being built at the moment, so not sure how this will impact on the hotel in general, but hopefully it will not change the relaxed atmosphere of The Swan.

Room Tip: For a special occasion, Room 48 is perfect as an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amwill57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lavenham
16.0 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
10.9 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
8.2 mi away
Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#3 of 4 in Woodbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
19.0 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel
Bedford Lodge Hotel
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
18.0 mi away
Tuddenham Mill
Tuddenham Mill
#1 of 1 in Tuddenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham

Property: Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
Address: High Street, Lavenham, Babergh District CO10 9QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Lavenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lavenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in the Suffolk countryside, between Bury St. Edmunds and Sudbury, is The Swan Hotel & Spa in Lavenham, perhaps one of England's most iconic hotels. The Swan dates back to the 15th century when it played a key role in Lavenham's wool trade. Today it is a quintessential English country hotel and restaurant, proud of its achievement of AA 4 Red star, two AA Rosettes & Visit England Large Hotel of the Year 2013. Ancient oak beams and inglenook fireplaces blend beautifully with rich furnishings and fabrics to create the perfect ambiance for rest and relaxation. The historic old bar boasts a wonderful collection of memorabilia, including a wall signed by British and American airmen stationed at Lavenham Airfield during World War II. The Swan is a wonderful place in which to celebrate a variety of special occasions, including romantic weddings, christenings and family get-togethers. It is also a unique venue for seminars, meetings and conferences, where 15th century inspiration combines with 21st century innovation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotel.de, HotelsClick, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lavenham Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing