We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday afternoon cream tea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lavenham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2010

We did stay at this Hotel a few years ago and then it was far and above our expectations. Although expensive, it was worth every penny but not on this visit for cream tea. Had to ask for extra tea bags to colour the water. Scones were dry and tasteless and obviously bought in. Jam the same. It was not worth the money and lunch time was no diffrent, I could have been at any average tea shoppe and not the Hotel of accolades bestowed on it. They obviously need some stiff competition in order to bring their game up and get it to the standards it was once well known for and in which people travelled miles to experience. I fear that they are now sitting on their laurels for the reputation that had been built in the past. Maybe an evening meal is better but they cannot exist on surroundings and ambience alone...word and mouth is a powerful tool

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lay9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,156 - 1,162 of 1,236 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2010

Charming hotel of great character in a beautiful setting. Room small but well equipped and very comfortable. Public areas clean and attractive. Above everything else, service was outstanding. From the manager down, staff were friendly, helpful and efficient - an example for any hotel. Only downside was the food. Lunch was very pleasant, but breakfast pretty awful: fruit salad uninspiring with under-ripe melon and pinapple; sausage swimming in some sort of yellow grease; bacon like rubber.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLynch53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2010

If you're looking for a hotel that looks like it came out of the pages of an Agatha Christie novel, this is it. Half timbered, soaked in English history, set in a village that's pretty as a the picture on the front of an old fashioned chocolate box. You feel you ought to be parking your vintage Bentley outside and calling for cucumber sandwiches on the lawn. We did have afternoon tea on the lawn actually. And very nice it was. I bet they have open fires crackling in the grate in winter too. There are of course a couple of drawbacks to a 16th century building. It was hot when we stayed (yes, I know - unusual for England!) and the tiny leaded windows aren't great for ventilation. But the ambiance of the building was great. The problem is that the restaurant does not match the quality of the hotel. It's a beautiful dining room and the waiting staff and well trained and attentive. But the cooked breakfasts have some odd quirks (Fried egg served with artichoke and sweet potato???) and food arrived at the table cold. Dinner menu had only one vegetarian starter (goat's cheese) and one vegetarian main (goats cheese again!). That's poor planning. Most other diners around us seemed very happy with what they ate, but portions were small for the price (a surcharge of £3 for three scallops sounded steep to me), and there was poor balance to the menu. It is good to have some 'luxury' dishes for foodies, but a couple of plain, traditional favourites would give less adventurous diners a better choice. There are not many places to eat in Lavenham, so I am sure that if a little more thought was applied to the menu the restaurant would be busier. Otherwise, a charming and atmospheric hotel in a tranquil and picturesque part of England.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MehmetsMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

We stayed at the Swan for two nights in June. The ambience was just as expected, a beautiful old world hotel. Our feature room had all the necessary requirements. The restaurant however was a disappointment! Small dinner menu unchanging, so don't expect to dine for more than two nights. The breakfast was a great disappointment on both mornings. Cold eggs, cold sausage, cold mushrooms etc etc. The kitchen definitely needs looking into by the management.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teddymWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2010

I had visited this hotel for afternoon tea before and liked it, but I was still surprised at what a wonderful stay we had. This hotel is beautiful, individual and comfortable. The breakfasts were outstanding, the staff were always very helpful and friendly and the location in the beautiful Lavenham is perfect. The guest lounges are wonderful with many different sofas and areas where you can read or have a drink. The room we had was not particularly large but was very comfortable and a lovely room to come back to. I would recommend this hotel for a visit any time of the year.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2010

This was a really lovely elegant hotel. We were upgraded to a junior suite and were very impressed. The room was spotless and a good size. The building is very old and quaint, low beams and crooked corridors all added to the charm. Food in the restaurant was served by willing members of staff, only downside was the supplements on the food. It is annoying to have a deal with dinner, bed and breakfast then find supplements!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatariLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2010

We were married at The Swan so were a little nervous about going back, would it be as wonderful as we remembered? If possible it was better, the staff are fantastic, warm and helpful without being obvious or intrusive. The hotel itself is so beautiful and the rooms are gorgeous, beautifully decorated with modern facilities and full of character. Dinner and breakfast were exceptional - we met the egg supplier at the local farmer's market where other locals spoke about the hotel with huge affection. So if you're looking for a weekend retreat in a truly lovely area, I can't imagine that you would beat The Swan.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ginggingsma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lavenham
16.0 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
10.9 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
1,030 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
1,222 reviews
18.0 mi away
Tuddenham Mill
Tuddenham Mill
#1 of 1 in Tuddenham
730 reviews
19.0 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham

Address: High Street, Babergh District CO10 9QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Lavenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lavenham
Price Range: £121 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in the Suffolk countryside, between Bury St. Edmunds and Sudbury, is The Swan Hotel & Spa in Lavenham, perhaps one of England's most iconic hotels. The Swan dates back to the 15th century when it played a key role in Lavenham's wool trade. Today it is a quintessential English country hotel and restaurant, proud of its achievement of AA 4 Red star, two AA Rosettes & Visit England Large Hotel of the Year 2013. Ancient oak beams and inglenook fireplaces blend beautifully with rich furnishings and fabrics to create the perfect ambiance for rest and relaxation. The historic old bar boasts a wonderful collection of memorabilia, including a wall signed by British and American airmen stationed at Lavenham Airfield during World War II. The Swan is a wonderful place in which to celebrate a variety of special occasions, including romantic weddings, christenings and family get-togethers. It is also a unique venue for seminars, meetings and conferences, where 15th century inspiration combines with 21st century innovation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lavenham Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing