We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful experience”
Review of Lavenham Priory

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lavenham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lavenham Priory
Ranked #2 of 8 Lavenham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This was one of the best experiences I have had with a bed and breakfast establishment!
The house is charming warm and the grounds with their huge walnut trees, pond and small meadow were a delight. The painted room where we stayed was spacious comfortable and had all the comfort of 5 star hotel.
If you want a weekend out of a fairy tale book go to Lavenham and spend it in the Priory

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shahirah2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
There are newer reviews for Lavenham Priory
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Priory at the end of an 11-day trip through East Anglia in late August, staying in the Painted Chamber. As you enter the house, the air is full of the scent of lavendar and rosemary.

The room was lovely -- canopied bed with firm mattress, commodious bath, ample supplies for tea, and windows overlooking the garden. There's an honor bar in the living room and (free) fresh milk for tea.

Breakfasts were fine -- the usual eggs/bacon/ham choices, cold cereal & fruit. The other guests were interesting to talk to.

Tim made us reservations at two very good local restaurants (the Great House and the Angel).

We did a walking tour of Lavenham, guided by a free booklet from the tourist info office (a block from the Priory)--it's a lovely old town, full of 1/2 timbered houses, and the church is beautiful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fran S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We came again to Suffolk, our 13th visit in as many years, the Priory was as wonderful and enjoyable as ever, the staff friendly and welcoming, owners Tim and Gilli very hospitable and remembered us from previous years.
I cannot recommend it as a place to stay high enough.
Atmospheric, I am a bit of a history enthusiast, and so comfortable.

Room Tip: They are all wonderful
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

The Priory lived up to its expectations . The building and grounds are amazing. However this place is run purely as a business and the luxuries one expects from 5 star accommodation were lacking. We were unable to book in till 4 which was fine but there was no tea and cakes or scones or biscuits as is fairly normal in 5 star B and Bs. The lady was totally unwelcoming so unwelcoming that I don't know her name because she did not tell us. In fact she just said " who are you?" Also we were offered no help with our cases she just said " There is no man here" perhaps Tim should have been there for helping with cases as he knows people arrive at 4. Or she should have done it. The stairs are difficult and one of our party was disabled so help would have been good. There was coffee and tea in the room but no biscuits and no fruit or nibbles again as one would expect. It seemed to me they just wanted to save money at every point. These extras however would show care about their guests which I did not feel. They were not around in the morning to chat to their guests nor did they pop into the lounge to check all was well with their guests. They supplied one bathrobe in the bedroom for 2 people! She needs to improve her people skills and remember the old adage people buy people first, especially if she wants her guests to return. The cooked breakfast was very good but the breakfast starters were limited. One would expect fresh berries at this time of year not frozen - again another way to cut costs. My friend left her phone charger behind and they would only return it if she paid e postage! The rooms were huge and old and beautiful but the bathroom lacked luxury end toiletries and the shower cubicle was very basic and a bit soiled. We would definitely return to Lavenham as it is a fantastic base for exploring Suffolk but we will not return toThe Priory.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Booked the Priory for 2 nights as we decided to visit Suffolk for the first time and we were also belatedly celebrate our Silver Wedding!
The Priory more than lived up to our expectations. A warm welcome from Gilli and we were shown to our room. It was quite spectacular with a lovely 4 poster bed which proved to be one of the most comfortable we have slept on. A tray with a good selection of teas and coffee was also in the room.
The bathroom was well equipped with nice fittings and beautiful soft towels.
The breakfast was delicious and provided a good selection of food.
The gardens were extensive and beautifully looked after by Tim and Gilli. We were able to wander round the 3 acres which was lovely.
It was great to stay in a house with such a varied history so beautifully restored by Tim and Gilli to such a high standard and providing us with a fabulous weekend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maroto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

I stayed here for two nights and was blown away by what a wonderful place this was. The website- as well as the photos on here- do not do it justice. This is a beautiful, romantic and historic B&B with delicious food, warm hosts and a really charming garden. Our room was just perfect, as is the village. I'm almost tempted to leave a bad review and keep this secret for myself!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mlsjb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We visited Lavenham over the long weekend and stayed at the Priory Suite at the Lavenham Priory. Despite the age of the building, the comfort of the room and the quality to the fixtures and fittings was excellent. Nice towels. The bed was extremely comfortable ensuring a good nights sleep and the room wasn't haunted!! Tim, the host, was very friendly but did not get in the way and left us alone to enjoy our time together. The breakfast was lovely but I would have preferred a real kipper rather than the filleted version, but that is my personal taste and not everybody elses necessarily. Overall it was one of our better stays at a home away from home.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sullyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lavenham
0.1 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
3.8 mi away
The Bull
The Bull
#1 of 3 in Long Melford
529 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Tuddenham Mill
Tuddenham Mill
#1 of 1 in Tuddenham
717 reviews
10.1 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
1,208 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lavenham Great House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lavenham Priory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavenham Priory

Address: Lavenham Priory Water Street, Babergh District CO10 9RW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Lavenham
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Lavenham
Price Range: £39 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury self catering accommodation at an affordable price. Graded 5 Stars with Gold Award. Winner of the AA's guest accommodation of the year award and twice winner of The Which Hotel's Beautiful B&B. Lavenham Priory a "Grade 1 listed" medieval house offers unique and unforgettable experience. The Priory Suite (sleeps 2) - an intimate small self catering cottage ideal for couples, comprising on the ground floor a spacious sitting room with small dining area. A magnificent hand carved oak spiral staircase leads up to the bed chamber and an opulent en-suite bathroom. The bed chamber features a beautiful 4 poster bed, antique furniture, subtle lighting, TV and free Wifi. (Please note - the Priory Suite has basic catering facilities including kitchen sink and microwave, but no cooker) The Dairy Wing - (sleeps up to 6) - ideal for families or large groups, this property is perfect for weekend or longer stays. First floor accommodation comprises: 3 double bedrooms (one with en suite bathroom) and a separate family bathroom - all offering maximum flexibility for up to 2 families or large groups. Downstairs the real feature of the house is a beautiful beamed sitting / dining room with wood burning stove and patio doors leading out to an enclosed private patio garden. The house has a brand new fully equipped kitchen and includes a spacious entrance hall and bathroom. An abundance of space and high quality fittings and furnishings throughout the property create a special experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lavenham Priory Hotel Lavenham
Lavenham Priory Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing