We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Mary Poppins of Places to Stay - Practically Perfect in Every Way”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lavenham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stone Farm Lavenham
Ranked #5 of 11 Lavenham B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Mary Poppins of Places to Stay - Practically Perfect in Every Way”
Reviewed 24 November 2012

I almost didn't leave a review because I didn't want to share the best kept secret in Suffolk.

The place is amazing. It was a perfect bolt hole to escape from life's interruptions.

I don't want to spoilt it by giving away all the delightful extras about the stay, but suffice to say it was the most relaxed and refreshed I had felt in a long time.

The rooms are spotless, glamourous and gorgeous. A kithen, bathroom and a bedroom with a view money cant buy! A 10 minute walk will take you to Lavenham where you can window shop (or actually shop!) all the trinkets you could ever want. You can eat in, or eat out. The breakfasts are out of this world!

I could have stayed forever.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NattyBizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JANEY A, Owner at Stone Farm Lavenham, responded to this review, 30 November 2012
What a supercalifragilistic review !!

Really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Stone Farm, and we hope we sent you both home refreshed and revitalised.

Keep up to date with whats going on at Stone Farm on our Facebook page, we hope to welcome you back soon .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
26
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We only stayed at Stone Farm for one evening but it was so tranquil and peaceful we felt as though we'd been there so much longer! Everything was lovely- most comfortable bed, stunning views, incredibly soft rug, delicious home baking, tasty local apple juice/beer + so much more. Thank you Janey and John for such a warm welcome- hope to stay again in the future!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lmdp08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JANEY A, Owner at Stone Farm Lavenham, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Thank you for your lovely review.

We are so pleased that Stone Farm met with your expectations. We try hard to ensure that our guests have an enjoyable and relaxing break even if it is only for one night.

We look forward to seeing at some time in the future. In the mean time you can keep up to date with Stone Farm by checking out its Facebook page.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2012

We have just returned from Stone Farm and what a shame it was to leave. Janey and John are wonderful hosts and we felt more like treasured and spoilt guests than B&B residents. The house itself is beautiful and the views to die for, but it is the little touches and the effort made by the hosts that make this such a special place to stay. It would be hard to chose between the home made sloe gin, banana bread or oaty biscuits as favourite treats - we could barely demolish them as quickly as they were topped up. What a truly special place to stay - it comes very highly recommended. We just hope to be able to return and stay for longer next time! I have to say I found the 'sleep quality' very good! ;-)

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JANEY A, Owner at Stone Farm Lavenham, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
So glad that you enjoyed your three day break with us and we trust that you returned home refreshed and recharged.

Thank you for the fantastic review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

This is the best of the best! Wonderful bedroom, fab bathroom and spacious kitchen. Own terrace and outside tables/chairs set amongst woodland with a distant view of Lavenham Church. More then this are the very friendly Jane & John for whom nothing is too much trouble, right down to the homemade sloe gin. Stay here if you what peace and perfection.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BJDLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JANEY A, Owner at Stone Farm Lavenham, responded to this review, 1 November 2012
Thankyou so much for taking the time to post such a wonderful review of Stone Farm. So glad you enjoyed your short if unexpected stay with us.
It was also nice to see that you positively reviewed other locations in the village. This is really important to us and the wider community of Lavenham. Thankyou.
I
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Suggested to some friends they stay here and they were bowled over by everything from the welcome to the bedding! The term B&B means something very different to South Africans who associate with small boutique hotels. Which is very much what this is. Our friends had stayed in the Priory in Lavenham which they loved, but wanted to stay somewhere outside the village, and we thought Stone Farm might fit the bill. They loved the simple and elegant decor, and raved about the breakfast! Can heartily recommend!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsSumaridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JANEY A, Owner at Stone Farm Lavenham, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Thank you - always great to get a review from people who are widely travelled. We are trying to offer an alternative to more traditional B and B's , and from the feedback we are getting, our guests love the contemporary,boutique image we have created.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

This was a last minute break and what a great find. Stone Farm is one of the best places we have stayed in and to be honest I'd rather keep it a secret!
You will not be disappointed if you choose to stay with John and Janey, they are the perfect hosts and have thought of all the little things that make a visit here very special indeed.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sgm393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JANEY A, Owner at Stone Farm Lavenham, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Thanks for the review - amazing how good just a 24 hour break can make you feel ! Look forward to seeing you again for a longer stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hemel hempstead
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We are delighted to have discovered Stone Farm. The location is perfect. Janey and John are fabulous hosts. The breakfast was delicious-----especially the scrambled eggs. Oh and you must try Janey's flapjack. We are looking forward to a return trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irene b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JANEY A, Owner at Stone Farm Lavenham, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. These are so helpful in our early days as B & B hosts. Glad you enjoyed the baking - we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lavenham
0.7 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
0.7 mi away
Lavenham Great House Hotel & Restaurant
0.8 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Lavenham
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Newmans Hall Bed & Breakfast
3.0 mi away
The Old Rectory Country House
The Old Rectory Country House
#1 of 1 in Great Waldingfield
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Farm Lavenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Farm Lavenham

Property: Stone Farm Lavenham
Address: Stone Farm Brent Eleigh Road, Lavenham, Babergh District, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Lavenham
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Lavenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary boutique bed and breakfast accommodation on the outskirts of Britain’s finest medieval village set in the heart of the Suffolk countryside. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stone Farm Lavenham Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing